We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not That Nice!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bosham Inn

Bosham Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Bosham
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bosham Inn in Chichester is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not That Nice!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I visited for lunch. The 'Tear and Share' Garlic Bread was a disappointment. Too much bread and the cheese in the middle could have been spread a bit better to cover the dough. Really too much garlic and had to eat a load of Tic Tacs after the meal as we had shopping to do afterwards. I had the Southern Spicy Chicken. The only spice I could taste was pepper. The waitress asked if we had finished with the tray of accompaniments (ketchup, bbq sauce, mustard etc), we said we hadn't and were made to feel we were putting her out by not having finished with them! My husband had the Chicken/Bacon/Cheese Burger which was, again, in a big bread (cob) roll. He left half of the cob. Oh and yes, chips with both dishes and no salad garnish except for a cos lettuce leaf with my dish. The choice was either side salad or chips. Our waiter was a nice, attentive young man who came over several times to ask if everything was ok. Very disappointing experience, but ok if you are expecting typical pub grub!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    107
    52
    44
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I was embarrased”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I took my family of 7 people including 2 grand-children for a lunch that was supposed to be a lifting of spirits before my daughter had to go into hospital for cancer treatment. The meals took an hour and twenty minutes to arrive and some were cold.
A dreadful experience and dreadful food not to be repeated.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank goddo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“One of the best...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Bosham Inn is not only in a beautiful location but the food is amazing.
Its currently undergoing a mini makeover so I`m sure its going to look fabulous.
I`ve eaten there on/off for years but having recently moved just down the road I`ve already been 3 times in a week.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A* Good food good staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The staff where very nice and help full. Good size menu. Reasonable prices. We had 3 causes soup of the day served with fresh bread, roast plater (3 meats) and the lovely waitress helped recommend my desert which was beautiful. After a long day at work was so nice to have a great meal cooked for us and a glass of wine. highly recommend. Will be going back very soon. Thank you :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carli jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
373 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Enjoyable late lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Four of us were passing Saturday afternoon and we decided to stop for a late lunch around 1.30pm. We had not booked, but the staff were very helpful and allocated us a table.

Getting the initial drinks was a little slow considering the restaurant was not completely full. Other than that the service was friendly and food was delivered in a reasonable timeframe.

With a driver to hand, two of us enjoyed a few draft Peroni's with our meal. The tear and share garlic and cheese bread was good, filled deep with cheese and quite strong garlic, lovely.

All starters were very tasty, Stilton & Pear salad, creamy vegetable soup, battered mushrooms.

The main course were equally good, scampi medley, fillet garnet, roast beef sandwich and gammon, egg and chips. All of us thought the gammon and egg was actually best value for the money.

The Bosham Inn is now part of the Vintage Inns group and I think they offer good value for money food and service.

Worth stopping at for lunch/dinner, but probably best to book ahead of time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bosham Inn also viewed

 
Bosham, Chichester
Climping, Arun District
 

Been to Bosham Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing