We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence
Stewkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not good value for money”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Overpriced, tired decor, looks and feels like a home for OAPs. The air-con unit was noisy and not very effective.Food was OK but the tables in the restaurant were too close together and very formally laid out. I would recommend dining in Marwick's, the bistro next to the dining room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodchopperSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    162
    37
    5
    11
See reviews for
99
307
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

While the location cannot be faulted and the gardens are lovely this is a rather dated hotel catering for a rather aged clientele. While we are not in the full flush of youth were certainly the youngest guests by a few decades! The decor in both the rooms and the public spaces had the feel of a hotel circa1970, all a bit beige. The restaurant was OK but spoiled by a rather loud maitre d' and the regimented seating table arrangements. A bit more informality would have been welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodloverSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We chose the Millstream as we wanted comfort, good food and, above all, quietness to relax - booked for 3 nights, giving two clear days for total rest. The hotel is well situated, very comfortable, food and service excellent. Our visit was totally ruined, as we had not been advised of a wedding on the Saturday and Wedding Lunch reception on the Sunday. Had we known, we would have booked alternative dates. There was no room for residents in the only lounge and the noise was extreme - penetrating our bedroom. it is vital when booking your dates to check that there are no other outside activities taking place to avoid disappointment. We have since heard other couples have suffered the same problem . A box of chocolates and £25 deducted from the bill was a totally inadequate apology.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We returned to the Millstream after 9 years for a 3 day break on our anniversary. A late booking initially meant that we would have to change rooms on our 3rd day, but Emily on reception worked a little juggling miracle. On arrival we were warmly greeted and offered a complimentary drink while our case was taken to our room. The room itself was clean comfortable and nicely furnished. Fresh fruit and proper milk was provided for tea and coffee. Unlike so many hotels there were ample power points in the places they were needed. We had prebooked dinner for each evening, and were delighted with the menu choices and the style and quality of the food. I would have to pick the sea bream course as one of the best I have ever eaten. Breakfasts were excellent also. The standards of service in the restaurant and bar were first class, with a young, well trained and quietly attentive team. Millstream remains a little gem, and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It was a lovely location and the ambience was very nice, but it was quite pricey. We have stayed at places with more facilities, larger rooms and with dinner included, for less. The adjoining restaurant, the Marwick, which is part of the hotel is better value for money than the main restaurant. But having booked up two evenings we were told it was full when we turned up. The hotel would prefer you eat in the main restaurant although the cost is not included in the price for the room etc. The restaurant manager seemed to give preferetial treatment to his regular customers for the Marwick. We were surprised he did not think it neccessary to apologise for the mistake, over the booking. We came across another couple who had the same experience, so if you want to book it I suggest you make sure you have a witness to confirm your booking !
We also had to change rooms as the one on the first floor suffered from the kitchen noise below, and noisy air conditioning in the room.

Room Tip: Beware of the rooms situated above the kitchen. The rooms on the ground floor might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have walked past this hotel many times,and thought how delightful it looked, but until this weekend, had never been inside. We were booked in for two nights, and can honestly say it would be difficult to find fault with this lovely hotel.
We were warmly welcomed, and offered a complementary glass of wine before being taken to our room. Although the hotel was very busy, we never felt we were being rushed, and every member of staff we met during our stay, was pleasant and helpful. Our room ( number 1) wasn't large, but perfectly comfortable, with thoughtful touches, like fresh fruit, chilled mineral water, and a newspaper of our choice, all without extra charge.
The hotel maintains a traditional ambiance, combined with contemporary charm. The breakfasts were particularly good, with plenty of choice, and all well prepared. We hope to return before too long, to Millstream Hotel, and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who values good, old-fashioned hospitality in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We booked this as a present for my parents as they wanted to spend some time in Chichester after a trip to the races. They had a fabulous time & loved everything about the hotel. When I rang to pay for the booking, the lady was so helpful & ensured that the receipt was sent to me so that my parents didn't know the costs.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sanfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosham
2.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
867 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chichester
587 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
524 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
198 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Bosham Lane, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millstream Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstream nestles in the heart of Old Bosham, an historic village on the shores of Chichester Harbour, combining the elegance of a small English country house with the character and charm of an eighteenth century malthouse cottage.The Bar offers a cosy fireside setting in which to relax. On warm days a door opens onto the lawns where you can sit beneath a sunshade and listen to the chatter of the ducks. The charming sitting room, with its deep cushioned armchairs, grand piano, bowls of freshly cut flowers and tranquil atmosphere, is the ideal place to meet up with friends over a afternoon tea or an aperitif, to play a quiet game of cards or just settle down and while away the hours with a good novel. The 2 AA Rosette Restaurant, overlooking the pretty gardens, offers a varied selection of modern British dishes, prepared with the best available fresh, seasonal, local produce, which are complemented by a list of fine wines from an established cellar. Each enchanting bedroom has been attractively styled to enhance its individual character and outlook. All have en-suite facilities, flat screen television, wi-fi internet access, radio/CD alarm clock, tea & coffee making facilities, mini-fridge with complimentary mineral water & fresh milk, direct dial telephone, wall safe, trouser press and hairdryer. The Gardens that surround the hotel are carefully tended and provide a wonderful place to relax in the warmer weather. Overlooking the stream in the side garden is an oak Gazebo which was built for a Wild family wedding and which now provides shelter from the rain or sun. In the summer months there are tables and chairs at which you can enjoy morning coffee, a light lunch, afternoon tea, a cocktail before dinner or an al fresco meal as the sun comes down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millstream Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstream Hotel And Restaurant
Millstream Hotel Chichester
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant Bosham, Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing