We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something for everyone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millstream Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Travelling as I was with an older friend, the hotel and its location had a lot to offer us both. Yes, it does feel as if it caters for older people, but the level of service, the rooms and the breakfasts were excellent. I could have a light breakfast in my room, and then go for a long walk around the harbour, gloriously beautiful at low tide, and still get back in time for second helpings downstairs. The local bus service worked a treat, taking us from outside the hotel right into the heart of Chichester and back, making it easy to visit the Cathedral and art gallery without having to deal with car parks and too much walking. An evening stroll took us down to the pub in the old village, also famous for its medieval church. The garden and stream outside the hotel were a perfect setting for a quiet drink or snack. Friendly and helpful staff helped make our stay really pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden rather than the car park. Some rooms have dual aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelhopefulSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    145
    36
    4
    11
See reviews for
89
270
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived around 8pm after driving straight from work. When we had checked in we were offered a much needed free glass of wine. Help was offered to take our luggage to our room. The room it self was bright with 5 full length windows. There was fresh fruit on the dresser and fresh milk in the fridge along with water. Makes a change to the usual mini pots of UHT milk you get. The bed was super comfy which is good for me as I have just had a back operation. The bathroom was clean with fluffy towels and robes. Nice toiletries too. Had a lovely soak in the big bath tub. So nice was it I fell asleep.
We ate here on the 2nd night in the main restaurant. Service was good and the food was tasty and nicely presented. Staff were kind and attentive. Breakfast on both mornings was fantastic. Again nicely presented and very well cooked. Nice attention to detail with warm full fat milk for the coffee.
We did notice that we were the youngest people here ( I am 38) but this did not bother us in the slightest.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kengis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Overpriced, tired decor, looks and feels like a home for OAPs. The air-con unit was noisy and not very effective.Food was OK but the tables in the restaurant were too close together and very formally laid out. I would recommend dining in Marwick's, the bistro next to the dining room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodchopperSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

While the location cannot be faulted and the gardens are lovely this is a rather dated hotel catering for a rather aged clientele. While we are not in the full flush of youth were certainly the youngest guests by a few decades! The decor in both the rooms and the public spaces had the feel of a hotel circa1970, all a bit beige. The restaurant was OK but spoiled by a rather loud maitre d' and the regimented seating table arrangements. A bit more informality would have been welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodloverSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We chose the Millstream as we wanted comfort, good food and, above all, quietness to relax - booked for 3 nights, giving two clear days for total rest. The hotel is well situated, very comfortable, food and service excellent. Our visit was totally ruined, as we had not been advised of a wedding on the Saturday and Wedding Lunch reception on the Sunday. Had we known, we would have booked alternative dates. There was no room for residents in the only lounge and the noise was extreme - penetrating our bedroom. it is vital when booking your dates to check that there are no other outside activities taking place to avoid disappointment. We have since heard other couples have suffered the same problem . A box of chocolates and £25 deducted from the bill was a totally inadequate apology.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We returned to the Millstream after 9 years for a 3 day break on our anniversary. A late booking initially meant that we would have to change rooms on our 3rd day, but Emily on reception worked a little juggling miracle. On arrival we were warmly greeted and offered a complimentary drink while our case was taken to our room. The room itself was clean comfortable and nicely furnished. Fresh fruit and proper milk was provided for tea and coffee. Unlike so many hotels there were ample power points in the places they were needed. We had prebooked dinner for each evening, and were delighted with the menu choices and the style and quality of the food. I would have to pick the sea bream course as one of the best I have ever eaten. Breakfasts were excellent also. The standards of service in the restaurant and bar were first class, with a young, well trained and quietly attentive team. Millstream remains a little gem, and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

It was a lovely location and the ambience was very nice, but it was quite pricey. We have stayed at places with more facilities, larger rooms and with dinner included, for less. The adjoining restaurant, the Marwick, which is part of the hotel is better value for money than the main restaurant. But having booked up two evenings we were told it was full when we turned up. The hotel would prefer you eat in the main restaurant although the cost is not included in the price for the room etc. The restaurant manager seemed to give preferetial treatment to his regular customers for the Marwick. We were surprised he did not think it neccessary to apologise for the mistake, over the booking. We came across another couple who had the same experience, so if you want to book it I suggest you make sure you have a witness to confirm your booking !
We also had to change rooms as the one on the first floor suffered from the kitchen noise below, and noisy air conditioning in the room.

Room Tip: Beware of the rooms situated above the kitchen. The rooms on the ground floor might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosham
2.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
9.6 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Bosham Lane, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millstream Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstream nestles in the heart of Old Bosham, an historic village on the shores of Chichester Harbour, combining the elegance of a small English country house with the character and charm of an eighteenth century malthouse cottage.The Bar offers a cosy fireside setting in which to relax. On warm days a door opens onto the lawns where you can sit beneath a sunshade and listen to the chatter of the ducks. The charming sitting room, with its deep cushioned armchairs, grand piano, bowls of freshly cut flowers and tranquil atmosphere, is the ideal place to meet up with friends over a afternoon tea or an aperitif, to play a quiet game of cards or just settle down and while away the hours with a good novel. The 2 AA Rosette Restaurant, overlooking the pretty gardens, offers a varied selection of modern British dishes, prepared with the best available fresh, seasonal, local produce, which are complemented by a list of fine wines from an established cellar. Each enchanting bedroom has been attractively styled to enhance its individual character and outlook. All have en-suite facilities, flat screen television, wi-fi internet access, radio/CD alarm clock, tea & coffee making facilities, mini-fridge with complimentary mineral water & fresh milk, direct dial telephone, wall safe, trouser press and hairdryer. The Gardens that surround the hotel are carefully tended and provide a wonderful place to relax in the warmer weather. Overlooking the stream in the side garden is an oak Gazebo which was built for a Wild family wedding and which now provides shelter from the rain or sun. In the summer months there are tables and chairs at which you can enjoy morning coffee, a light lunch, afternoon tea, a cocktail before dinner or an al fresco meal as the sun comes down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Millstream Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstream Hotel And Restaurant
Millstream Hotel Chichester
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant Bosham, Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing