We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence
Dereham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have been coming here for years & try to stay at least once a year, it helps if you are of the older generation because most of the people we have seen there seem to be which is not a proplem as it makes us feel a little younger. The staff have always been friendly & helpfull but the best thing is the food, very high standard. The hotel is like going back to the 1950's which as soon as you get to Bosham you feel like being in a different world, I grew up there at that time & time has stood still there, it,s wonderfull for me with all the sights being the same but might not be for others. Only down side is it's abit expensive.

Room Tip: We always ask for room 9 as it has lots of windows to make it light but any room at the front is bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millstreamDereham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear millstreamDereham,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you love coming to the Millstream and are some of our very regular guests who love the food and the friendly team. Bosham truly is a beautiful village and many people love coming back as it does not seem to change much at all! Please visit our website or contact us directly for information about any special offers. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    149
    37
    4
    11
See reviews for
90
280
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a lot of potential. However it is dated in need of renovation and its sitting room is a bit like a rest home for those that would like to pay alot of money. The restaurant manager who someone said runs/owns the hotel is friendly enough. I wonder if the hotel would benefit from listening to feed back in that they should not be charging large amounts for a basic service.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gc01072014f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear gc01072014f,
Thank you for your review. You will be very pleased to know that we are nearing the end of our major refurbishment of the lounge and bar, which has been taking place since the new year. We have fully redecorated these areas, in keeping with the restaurants and we are all looking forward to unveiling the finished article. We hope you will visit us again soon to see it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mersea Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights early December . What a fabulous place. The staff were so polite and helpful . The restaurant food was the best I've had in any hotel ! Simply wonderful stay . We will be returning.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Marion K,
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and found the team to be polite and helpful throughout and the food the best you’ve had in any hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstream again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Having been visiting The Millstream for 15 years, we decided to spend Christmas there and we weren't disappointed. We were greeted with a glass of mulled wine on arrival, very welcome after a tricky drive down. As ever the staff were attentive, nothing too much trouble. All our meals were superb. The whole break was perfect and real value for money. We have already booked for New Year 2014! Would like to take this opportunity to wish Clare Sherlock the new Deputy Manager every success.

Room Tip: Book early! This is a very popular hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiggiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear BarbB85,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas Break with us. The team all work very hard over this period to create a “country house party” atmosphere and I am so pleased that you found the break to be perfect and real value for money. If we do not see you before, we look forward to welcoming you back for the party at New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Just perfect. Our second anniversary visit (we got married at the hotel). We chose the romantic package. 4 poster champers chocs etc. We love the hotel, the fabulous staff who can not be beaten for their attentiveness as well as their sense of humour.
Food top quality and sat evening having a cocktail after dinner listening to the pianist was again just perfect.
As my wife said on the sat evening its like a home from home. Yes most guests r older but did not make a difference to our perfect experience.
We had friends for dinner on friday who were just as complinentary.
Thank you to all the staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirtlington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Two nights, mid-week, mid-December - welcoming, obliging well-trained staff, beautifully maintained and run hotel, a cosy room with enough space to move around, comfortable bed and good bathroom. Even at this time of year, there must have been more than 50% occupation. All staff seemed to have the right touch of friendliness without familiarity, and all were efficient and pleasant.
Minor gripes: - Two nights in succession, the only vegetarian option on the dinner menu was based on wild mushrooms (a tart and pasta); both delicious, but a repetition for any non-carnivore staying more than a night. Secondly, and it applies to other hotels too, whatever the brand name on the teabags, they make a very inferior brew compared to the same brand on sale to the public. What goes into them? They taste 'off'. Otherwise, it's all been said by other reviewers.

Room Tip: It all seems very peaceful. Our room was just above reception and undisturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We got a very friendly welcome in this lovely medium sized hotel which is in a nice residential area, a short walk from the water. There is a lot of attention paid to detail here, from the complimentary glass of wine at check-in to apples, real milk and a Radio Times in our room. We stayed three nights with dinner, bed and breakfast and the dinner menu changed everyday, so there was always something new to try. The food was absolutely excellent, as was the table service. All the staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. We'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosham
2.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
9.6 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Bosham Lane, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millstream Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstream nestles in the heart of Old Bosham, an historic village on the shores of Chichester Harbour, combining the elegance of a small English country house with the character and charm of an eighteenth century malthouse cottage.The Bar offers a cosy fireside setting in which to relax. On warm days a door opens onto the lawns where you can sit beneath a sunshade and listen to the chatter of the ducks. The charming sitting room, with its deep cushioned armchairs, grand piano, bowls of freshly cut flowers and tranquil atmosphere, is the ideal place to meet up with friends over a afternoon tea or an aperitif, to play a quiet game of cards or just settle down and while away the hours with a good novel. The 2 AA Rosette Restaurant, overlooking the pretty gardens, offers a varied selection of modern British dishes, prepared with the best available fresh, seasonal, local produce, which are complemented by a list of fine wines from an established cellar. Each enchanting bedroom has been attractively styled to enhance its individual character and outlook. All have en-suite facilities, flat screen television, wi-fi internet access, radio/CD alarm clock, tea & coffee making facilities, mini-fridge with complimentary mineral water & fresh milk, direct dial telephone, wall safe, trouser press and hairdryer. The Gardens that surround the hotel are carefully tended and provide a wonderful place to relax in the warmer weather. Overlooking the stream in the side garden is an oak Gazebo which was built for a Wild family wedding and which now provides shelter from the rain or sun. In the summer months there are tables and chairs at which you can enjoy morning coffee, a light lunch, afternoon tea, a cocktail before dinner or an al fresco meal as the sun comes down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millstream Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstream Hotel And Restaurant
Millstream Hotel Chichester
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant Bosham, Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing