We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Helpful”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Charming hotel in a charming part of England. I am gluten intolerant and the staff were amazing in coming up with Gluten free bread so I could have their excellent crab sandwich for lunch. Again they were prepared to try and find gluten free flour for fish and chips if I wished it in the evening. In the end we went for fine dinning and I was given a quick list of what I could have. Their was smoked curd cheese with salt baked beetroot on the menu as a starter and that was outstanding. The staff were so kind to ensure I had gluten free bread as a side dish and the kitchen were happy to tell me which wood they used to smoke the cheese, even giving me a tip as to how long to smoke the cheese for. Our room was lovely with a four poster bed and breakfast just as pleasant. I would certainly recommend this place. The staff were a gem. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Istanbulkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Istanbulkay
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and enjoyed the food. The team do their best to cater for our guests’ individual requirements and I am pleased that you found them all so helpful, as they work very hard to ensure all guests enjoy their stay with us. Thank you for recommending us to others, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstream very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    151
    37
    5
    11
See reviews for
93
291
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was the fourth time we've been to the Millstream, though it's some years since we were last there: this time we had other family with us and had a standard room and also the Garden Suite (the suite on the ground floor of the main building) for two nights. We really enjoyed our stay: the rooms are excellent, with comfortable beds, and intelligently laid out (so often, hotel rooms haven't been thought out, with a lack of storage, chairs or lighting). Service was excellent, subject to one minor glitch: i'd asked for a room for ourselves near the Garden Suite, and it wasn't, but a room swap was quickly arranged. We ate both nights in Marwick's, the brasserie, which has been formed since we were last there, and really liked both the men and the food. The breakfasts were also good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Verulam
Thank you for your lovely review, we are thrilled that we are one of your favourite hotels. I apologise about the mix up in the room allocation before your arrival, but pleased that we were able to quickly rectify the situation for you. We are delighted that you liked the new addition of Marwick’s Brasserie, and chose to dine in there on both evenings and enjoyed the breakfasts too. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstream again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
139 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a charming hotel, very well run by excellent, friendly and professional staff. The welcome drink on arrival set the tone for a very pleasant two day stay.Although I believe my room (15) was probably not the best in the hotel it was more than adequate with some nice touches and spotlessly clean. A drink in the bar/lounge pre-dinner was a delight and so was the look of the main restaurant. There was an interesting and varied menu and the food was very nice and beautifully presented. A further bonus was that most of the guests had made an effort in dressing for dinner. One gets used to people appearing in jeans and scruffy trainers nowadays but thankfully not at the Millstream hotel. There is ample parking and the hotel is surrounded by a pretty garden in which one relax. The hotel is very near Bosham harbour and is to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Aart8
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you found the hotel to be charming and well run and so pleased that you liked your room. Each bedroom is individually decorated, and a selection can be seen on the website, or our team on reception are always happy to discuss the different rooms with you on booking your break. I am also pleased that you liked the refurbished bar, lounge and restaurant. We are really happy with the final result and delighted that so many of our guests like it so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We joined friends who were staying at the Millstream and had a delicious meal freshly cooked at the Brasserie. The menu was interesting and offered a good selection. Service was efficient and the surroundings very pleasant. The food was really tasty.
As a coeliac, I was relieved to learn that gluten free food could be provided. However, I do have one suggestion that would have really improved my evening - please could the menu be clearly marked with items that are gluten free - rather than having to draw attention to oneself by asking and eventually being shown a separate gf menu. Most coeliacs want to stay in the background, not draw attention to themselves and be able to order without a fuss, as 'normal' individuals can! Also there is nothing on the website to indicate ability to cater for special diets. I like to look before I eat out so I know beforehand what I can eat and again can order without fuss. Perhaps the menu on the website could be similarly marked with gf items.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ragtag1633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Ragtag1633
Thank you for your recent review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal in the Brasserie and found the menu to be interesting and the food tasty. I appreciate your comment concerning labelling the menu with dietary requirements, however, as the food is all cooked to order, nearly all of the dishes can be tailored to suit different dietary requirements. Next time you book a table, please do not hesitate to contact us, as we can send you the current menu and highlight the different items we can make suitable for your diet in advance of your meal. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Millstream is beautiful from the front with a pretty garden. I didn't appreciate that it would have very close housing around it -obviously not shown in the photographs! Our room was decidedly tired looking with mismatched wallpaper and curtains and rather on the small side. The paintwork was very scuffed as it was in the corridors. There was rubbish under the bed some of which had a date 2 months earlier than our visit -not really acceptable.
The good points were the comfortable bed, pleasant staff and excellent food in both restaurants.
I would return if the negative points could be rectified.

Room Tip: Ask if it has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoJums2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear JoJums2014,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found the staff to be pleasant and the food to be excellent. The team work very hard to ensure that all of our guests have a pleasant stay. I am sorry that you found your room to be small and tired looking. We have recently been refurbishing the downstairs area, with the addition of Marwick’s Brasserie in May 2012, and then a full refurbishment of the bar and lounge area which was completed just before you stayed with us. We are also in the process of continuing the refurbishment along the corridors near reception, which we are pleased did not affect your stay. All of our rooms are individually decorated and so some have been refurbished more recently than others, however now the public areas have been completed, we are keen to continue with the rooms. I am very sorry that you found some rubbish under the bed. The housekeeping team are very upset about this oversight, as they are usually commended very highly on their standards. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstream again very soon, and if you call to make a booking, our receptionists will be delighted to help you in your room choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We've been visiting the Millstream for over ten years, and have a wonderful break each time we come. The staff and service are excellent and friendly, the rooms are comfortable, and the food very tasty. As ever we received a warm welcome upon arrival. Our room was clean and looked like it had been redecorated recently, with smart upholstery. In-room coffee machines have been added since our last visit, and the capsules for this were replenished daily - the drinks it made were good. Even though the lounge was out of use for refurbishment, the special rate made up for this. Breakfast was as good as usual, with a nice range of options (and a great Full English!). Dinner in the refurbished restaurant was delicious on both nights. Indicating on the menu which dishes will not be available the next day is a good idea, so I wasn't worried about missing out on something I liked! The Bosham area is so beautiful, and the receptionist recommended a fantastic circular walk at Kingley Nature Reserve just four miles away.
We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Go for a four-poster room if you can - they're bigger and lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Antony B,
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful break with us. As you know, we have a very active plan for refurbishing the hotel, and the room you stayed in was one we sneaked in before we began the major refurbishment of the bar and lounge! We are really pleased that they are now reopen and we are thrilled with the results, and the guests who have stayed with us recently have all been very complimentary. I am so pleased that you enjoyed dinner in the restaurant and liked the ‘rolling menu’, which offers guests who stay with us for more than one night a more varied choice during their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstream again very soon, and have some more recommendations for some beautiful walks in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

From arriving to departure, we could not fault this hotel. From the friendly welcome, staff that nothing was too much to ask for. Clean, warm bedroom & very chic public rooms. The food was simply beautiful. Only complaint would be, not staying longer! Thank you Millstream!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berksa42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Berksa42,
It was an absolute pleasure to read your review. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and wanted to stay longer. The team all work very hard to ensure all of our guests have a wonderful time, and we are so pleased that you thought our refurbishment of the public rooms was chic! The bar and lounge are now fully open and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosham
2.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
9.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Bosham Lane, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millstream Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstream nestles in the heart of Old Bosham, an historic village on the shores of Chichester Harbour, combining the elegance of a small English country house with the character and charm of an eighteenth century malthouse cottage.The Bar offers a cosy fireside setting in which to relax. On warm days a door opens onto the lawns where you can sit beneath a sunshade and listen to the chatter of the ducks. The charming sitting room, with its deep cushioned armchairs, grand piano, bowls of freshly cut flowers and tranquil atmosphere, is the ideal place to meet up with friends over a afternoon tea or an aperitif, to play a quiet game of cards or just settle down and while away the hours with a good novel. The 2 AA Rosette Restaurant, overlooking the pretty gardens, offers a varied selection of modern British dishes, prepared with the best available fresh, seasonal, local produce, which are complemented by a list of fine wines from an established cellar. Each enchanting bedroom has been attractively styled to enhance its individual character and outlook. All have en-suite facilities, flat screen television, wi-fi internet access, radio/CD alarm clock, tea & coffee making facilities, mini-fridge with complimentary mineral water & fresh milk, direct dial telephone, wall safe, trouser press and hairdryer. The Gardens that surround the hotel are carefully tended and provide a wonderful place to relax in the warmer weather. Overlooking the stream in the side garden is an oak Gazebo which was built for a Wild family wedding and which now provides shelter from the rain or sun. In the summer months there are tables and chairs at which you can enjoy morning coffee, a light lunch, afternoon tea, a cocktail before dinner or an al fresco meal as the sun comes down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millstream Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstream Hotel And Restaurant
Millstream Hotel Chichester
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant Bosham, Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing