We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely little hotel, near Chichester. Easy parking. Two restaurants...both very good. Food very well prepared and presented. Good service. Nice lounges. Lots of windows. AC in only some rooms, so request if important to you. There is also a good pub up the way. Lots to see and do near here and we stayed three nights. Do have breakfast in the lovely garden surrounded by roses.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed quiet...all on the first floor. They seemed to accept dogs. Only some have AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Susan F
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at the Millstream, and you were very lucky with the weather, being able to have breakfast on the lawn! We are pleased that you liked both the restaurants and the downstairs area, which was refurbished at the beginning of the year. We do have some rooms on the ground floor, and also two suites in a thatched cottage in the garden. Unfortunately we do not accept dogs in the hotel rooms, however, they are more than welcome when guests are dining on the lawn or on Marwick’s terrace. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstream again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    153
    37
    5
    11
See reviews for
94
294
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

asa past resident of Bosham I found the hotel a great place to take my sister and brother in law and their Spaniel to lunch and later in the day for afternoon tea. The hotel is set in a very picturesque part of the village with a small stream running through the gardens where one can sit out side and watch the world go by while enjoying tea and scones in the afternoon sun.the hotel has a country laid back atmosphere and is very comfortable. What more could you want for a weekend away.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel can be a little noisy in summer due to visitors to the quay and yacht club
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Malcolm F
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable day spent relaxing at the hotel, enjoying both lunch and afternoon tea on the front lawn. The front garden is very popular on sunny days, with many of our guests enjoying watching the rest of Bosham go past and is a good drop in place for dog walkers wanting a quick refreshment all round! We are pleased that you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and found it to be a comfortable place to spend the day. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here recently as a young family with our 2-month old baby and found the hotel to be a very relaxing and peaceful place to spend a night. The hotel is tastefully decorated and has a lovely front garden which is a great place to enjoy tea and scones. The food we found to be excellent (if a little on the pricey side), although we didn't get to eat in the main restaurant.

The staff were always very politie and friendly and were more than happy to help us with the paraphenalia that a young baby brings along. Facilties were as you would expect for a hotel of this calibre and everything worked fine - wifi especially. A nice touch was a welcome glass of wine on arrival and the hotel scores highly there!

The location itself is great - on a quiet road close to Bosham centre and really close to the harbourside for some lovely walks. The room we had was also very clean, large and equipped well. Our only slight criticism was that the hotel does get very hot at night and we found the air condiitioning to be somewhat ineffective. In the end we had to open the window and curtains to get some air into the room to cool down.

All in all though a great place to stay and we plan to go back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supers0n1c1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Supers0n1c1977
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and that you found it relaxing and peaceful, and it sounds like you had the great weather to enjoy the tea and scones on the front lawn. It is a lovely spot on a sunny day to relax and watch everyone else enjoying the lovely weather too! We are pleased that you enjoyed the welcome wine, a very well received arrival drink for many of our guests! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I arranged a night's stay as a surprise for my husband on his birthday, after we had enjoyed lunch here when staying in Portsmouth. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive e.g. photocopying maps to enable us to have a good walk. Our standard room was spacious and well equipped. It was nice to have lots of room in the bathroom and I don't usually use hotel toiletries, but these were really nice (Beekind!). The food was delicious with lots of choice for my husband who doesn't eat meat. We are looking forward to returning for a longer stay - we liked that the menu changes daily. We have recommended the hotel to friends. Bosham is quiet, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a peaceful chill-out spot with good food. There are plenty of places of interest nearby in Chichester.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Car0lW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Car0lW2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you decided to come and stay here after you had dined here when you were down in Portsmouth, and had an enjoyable time. Thank you for recommending us to others, that really is the best review we can get and the team are delighted that you had a lovely time and that they were able to help you find a good walk. We look forward to seeing you again soon, when we hope you can also enjoy a longer stay and we can advise you of many more lovely things to do in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Three of us went for lunch. The food was very well presented, flavoursome and hot. I had the tempura prawns with stir fried vegetables - very tasty, although seven prawns for £16.00? A bit steep. The only downer was being asked twice if we had ordered (after we had ordered) and the order being taken down incorrectly, which meant we were sitting at the table for a long wait before being served. The staff should talk to each other.
It was a busy place, so that speaks for itself. We have been there a couple of times before in the last two or so years and it's definitely been brought up to date and modernised - both the décor & the food!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairReviewUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear ObservantPerson
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch, though I am very sorry that there was some confusion over your order meaning that you had a long wait for your food. We are pleased that you still enjoyed your meal and we hope that you will visit us again very soon. I am so pleased that you have dined with us on a number of occasions and next time you are in, if you have not joined already, please ask one of the team about our restaurant loyalty scheme where you can gain points each time you dine with us, and is redeemable in both Marwick’s Brasserie and the Millstream Restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds which are well cared for. Millstream has two restaurants providing for formal and less formal dining. The dinner menu is varied daily with emphasis on seafood although carnivores are well catered for. Dishes show originality and are subject to thoughtful presentation. Staffing in all departments is professional and courteous but not stuffy with a preparedness to go ""the extra mile"

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Colin C
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the food and found the team to be delightful. They all work so hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay and are really pleased that you thought they went “the extra mile”. I am pleased that you enjoyed both the Millstream Restaurant with its 2 AA rosettes, as well as Marwick’s Brasserie, for more informal dining. Both restaurants prove very popular and many of our guests like the variety the two restaurants bring to their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bosham again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband booked a 2-night break as an anniversary celebration and it was a great choice. All the staff were extremely friendly and it was lovely to be offered a complimentary glass of wine on arrival. Both dinners were fantastic, we liked the idea of different "specials" each night, and the breakfasts were freshly prepared and delicious! The room was adequate though I suspect others would be better. The hotel gardens are beautiful and well worth a walk round. Next time we'll book a room overlooking these or even one with a patio!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavinia4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Lavinia4248
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your surprise anniversary treat here at the Millstream. All of our bedrooms are individually decorated, and the rooms with their own gardens are very popular during the summer! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the dinners, and enjoyed the different specials on each night, which give more variety to our guests who are staying with us for more than one night. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, and if you call one of our receptionists to make your booking, they will be delighted to advise you on your room choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosham
2.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
828 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
499 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,484 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
3.7 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Bosham Lane, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millstream Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstream nestles in the heart of Old Bosham, an historic village on the shores of Chichester Harbour, combining the elegance of a small English country house with the character and charm of an eighteenth century malthouse cottage.The Bar offers a cosy fireside setting in which to relax. On warm days a door opens onto the lawns where you can sit beneath a sunshade and listen to the chatter of the ducks. The charming sitting room, with its deep cushioned armchairs, grand piano, bowls of freshly cut flowers and tranquil atmosphere, is the ideal place to meet up with friends over a afternoon tea or an aperitif, to play a quiet game of cards or just settle down and while away the hours with a good novel. The 2 AA Rosette Restaurant, overlooking the pretty gardens, offers a varied selection of modern British dishes, prepared with the best available fresh, seasonal, local produce, which are complemented by a list of fine wines from an established cellar. Each enchanting bedroom has been attractively styled to enhance its individual character and outlook. All have en-suite facilities, flat screen television, wi-fi internet access, radio/CD alarm clock, tea & coffee making facilities, mini-fridge with complimentary mineral water & fresh milk, direct dial telephone, wall safe, trouser press and hairdryer. The Gardens that surround the hotel are carefully tended and provide a wonderful place to relax in the warmer weather. Overlooking the stream in the side garden is an oak Gazebo which was built for a Wild family wedding and which now provides shelter from the rain or sun. In the summer months there are tables and chairs at which you can enjoy morning coffee, a light lunch, afternoon tea, a cocktail before dinner or an al fresco meal as the sun comes down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Millstream Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstream Hotel And Restaurant
Millstream Hotel Chichester
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant Bosham, Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing