We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much more interesting than average main road pub food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bosham Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bosham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bosham Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Bosham B&B and Inns
Crediton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Much more interesting than average main road pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We needed somewhere to eat on a Sunday night after spending a week singing in Chichester. I was worried there might just be burger and chips, being a main road location, but instead we found an excellent and interesting menu and very well kept ale. Soup, a shared mezze plate and two delicious deserts (raspberry sorbet and Apple Granny tart with custard) provided plenty of enjoyable flavours and textures....two young ladies near us dined very happily on salmon and guineafowl. Service was attentive and friendly, the noise level low, the Doom Bar beer good and the price moderate. I'd recommend it to anyone wanting a satisfying, quiet meal in comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    27
    14
    16
    9
See reviews for
29
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely pub, very pleasantly surprised for a chain (vintage inns). Good selection on the menu and special pie nights on Wednesdays. Delicious food and reasonable portions. Good prices. Cosy, modern and tasteful. Great service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank southernRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

As an ex-local, I remember The Bosham when it was good! The kids play area has now gone, and the food has seriously gone down hill! Combine this with terrible service, and its a place I'd really avoid!
We went for a family meal, 10 of us in total. We had to wait ages before we were asked for our drinks order, then ages for them to show up, and when they did they were wrong! After another long wait for the food, it ranged from average, to frankly terrible! We had to go up to the bar to chase up our second drinks order as it had taken even longer than the first to arrive!
A few years back there was a great kids play area out side with loads of tables in the garden. It would be packed on a sunny weekend, and they served good cheap pub food. Such a shame they've lost that. If you're in the area, keep driving. A couple of miles in either direction you'll find better and cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNight68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bosham hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

the bosham inn use to be a great pub with its play area outside for kids and decent food. But now its lost its play area and outdoor setting, which reduces the atmosphere of the pub. I don't know if it has changed management but the food has seemed to change as well. I've been there a couple of times and the food is just average, just average. Nothing special. That's it its just an average pub with nothing special going for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank callum h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Nice place, nice food but little pricey, service is good. We would go again without hesitation. Give it a try its worthwhile going. It's tidy and clean and lots of parking. Play area for kids would be nice if your reading this and own the place this would be a great thing to have......put your hand in your pocket !!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dontmesswithdadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Went here on a whim, thought it would not be that great and it wasn't. Cheap crappy food, understaffed, you would be better off eating at Burger King. It's basic, but basically crap. I don't mean this to upset the staff who work there, they were very nice but it is what it is, very poor.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheResturantCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We visited the Bosham as my nephews choice for his 21st Birthday meal. What a mistake. Firstly 2 pints of beer were 'off' as in the pipes had not been cleaned and the ale tasted foul. My wine glass had lipstick marks clearly showing on it. We ordered sweet martini and got sweet! We were billed for both too, even though it was their mistake. The food we ordered all but one came out wrong. We had all the wrong vegetables, all cold too, the crispy potatos were soggy, the mediteranean veg consisted only of a bowl of onion, one piece of courgette and one piece of pepper. The service was also painfully slow.
Ruined nephews birthday meal. Would never visit a Vintage pub again if this is anything to go by.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dulcierudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosham
0.7 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
2.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boathouse Bosham
The Boathouse Bosham
#1 of 5 in Bosham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bulls Head
The Bulls Head
#15 of 75 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bosham Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bosham Inn

Property: The Bosham Inn
Address: Main Road, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bosham
Also Known As:
The Bosham Inn Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing