We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere and Excellent service”
Review of Mariners - CLOSED

Mariners
Restaurant details
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful atmosphere and Excellent service”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have visited with my husband and children to this excellently British tea room many times, the staff are fantastic, and the reviews left for them are somewhat harsh and misplaced. Yes it may be slightly old fashioned but that's what makes it unique, all other tea rooms are competing for second place, mariners provides great fresh food, great service and good competitive prices.
This place is faultless and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hotchocolate25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant tearoom”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stopped for a coffee and snack here, and found the location delightful, right by Bosham harbour. The staff who served us were helpful and polite, and apologised for the delay with the coffeewhich was still be prepared. Can recommend the smoothies, and our flapjacks were tasty. Some of the other cakes on display looked good too, as did the cream tea on an adjoining table. Felt that the pricing was ok, but people have diferent expectations. The tearoom had just been visited by a large group of people so we did not mind waiting for the fresh coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Bad attitude and overpriced”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I have to say that this cafe is not good. The staff are unwelcoming, unhelpful and surly. The food is ok but is very overpriced. I couldn't believe the bill when it arrived but couldn't make a fuss or it would have spoiled the trip out for the elderly person I had taken there. Bosham needs a better cafe than this one. The one inside the craft centre is dim and dismal and their staff are not particularly nice either. Perhaps the village, which has so many visitors, has sat back on its laurels and allowed bad manners to prevail. It certainly feels that way.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brightangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff, poor food, but location makes it worthwhile”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is the only place I repeatedly return to despite the extremely unfriendly staff and terrible food just because of the wonderful location. Its like they don't care whether they get your custom or not, they will always be busy because of the amazing location.
I always brace myself for the rude attitude and lack of smiles when I go in, they are terribly unfriendly and the food is below average but once you get over that, and gaze out at the swans and boats in the estuary it is so beautiful it's worth the faulty towers treatment!
Clearly the owners never read these reviews and care very little about how their customers feel.
The toilets are also unpleasant and impossible to change a nappy in.
It could be amazing.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
379 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy and good views.”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

On a Sunday visit from Liphook we (5 adults 2 children) called in here for coffees and cakes. The young waitresses were very pleasant and welcoming. I wasn't given an itemised bill and on paying I gave a good tip (much to the young cashier's surprise) but on reading recent reviews it appears that the bill MAY have already included a tip and I hadn't been told! The older woman in the kitchen certainly wasn't the cheeriest of people but we weren't there looking for a "new best friend"! We would have no hesitation of going back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariners also viewed

Bosham, Chichester
 
Bosham, Chichester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing