We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent restaurant. Good food, superb table service, nice decor and atmosphere.”

Marwick's Brasserie Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Brasserie style restaurant offering informal dining, light lunches, full dinner and serving food all day
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant. Good food, superb table service, nice decor and atmosphere.”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Had dinner here last night with 4 close relatives.
Charming welcome upon arrival. Rapidly shown to our table. Drinks order quickly taken with menus. Order taken promptly and efficiently by charming staff. Exceptionally attentive and responsive table service with staff always keeping an eye open for customer requests.
Superb food - all dishes creative, tasty and beautifully presented and of adequate size.
Nice restaurant decor - cool and modern. Nice location close to charming old Bosham village.
Quite faultless and a rare find these days !
The final bouquet I can provide is that the value for money was excellent ( £150 for 5 people including cocktails, 2 good bottles of wine, puddings and a digestif).
If you are looking for a jolly good restaurant in the Chichester area this is it !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roland J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    51
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lymington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Went to Marwick's with my wife, daughter and a grandson looking for a pleasant and reasonably quick light lunch and we could not have been better served. The restaurant is fairly small but one does not feel crowded. It is well furnished and the staff were extremely helpful. The food was extremely good and enjoyed by all of us particularly my grandson who had spare ribs and myself with an excellent cheese soufflé which equalled the one served at my local French brasserie. My daughter lives in the area and I look forward to another visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small but a great atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I have been to Marwicks a couple of times now and considering the restaurant is small, it does not feel like you are sitting on top of everyone else. It has a lovely relaxed, chilled atmosphere. the waiting staff have been very helpful and polite on both my visits. The food is delicious and you can't help but order 3 courses once you take a look at their menu.
The restaurant is set in an idyllic location and you might be tempted to walk around Bosham Quay after your meal or pop into the Millstream Hotel adjacent to Marwicks for another drink. Over all I thoroughly recommend Marwicks for any occassion at any time of day if you want somewhere with great food and a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KayWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
218 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Okay food, atmosphereless”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

It all started badly at the adjacent Millstream Hotel where a French bloke asked if were "reesidehnts" and upon being told we weren't, "We ehre full but please to go next doohr where a beestroh informality will present itself". If he wasn't so young, it sounded like Hercule Poirot.

Lunch was ok at the "Beestroh" but it lacked soul. There was no atmosphere and the place is contrived.

Worth a visit in Bosham. No.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IanCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner for two”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Were recommended to Marwicks by the B & B owner where we were staying in Selsey and we were not disappointed. Lovely food, well prepared with great attention to detail. Probably the best fish and chips we have ever had. We had 3 courses from the al a carte menu plus a bottle of wine for under £65.00 which in my book is great value. The staff were attentive and friendly and it is just a shame that we live two hours away otherwise this would become a regular haunt of ours. Next time anyone is in this area, we strongly recommend a visit to Marwicks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marwick's Brasserie Restaurant also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Bosham, Chichester
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Marwick's Brasserie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing