We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW great gem of a pub”
Review of The Sportsman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amberley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sportsman Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Amberley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2013

recently stayed at the sportsman inn over 2 nights having been to the Glorious Goodwood festival clean room with a wonderful view both our evening meals were excellent management & staff very friendly nothing too much trouble also would like to thank local taxi lady in the village

Room Tip: Room 3 has an excellent view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for The Sportsman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We enjoyed our lunch here. Most of the food was spot on, though a little pricy for a country pub, but the roast beef dinner missed the mark. At £15 it really was quite expensive so it was disappointing that, while the beef was well cooked, the Yorkshire pub was very over cooked (I.e burnt!) and the roasties undercooked and uncrispy. If there hadn't been 5 of us we probably would have sent it back. That said, the service was good and there was a great choice of real ales. And the view from the terrace and conservatory is fantastic. So if they want to get 5/5 - just sort out the Sunday roasts!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LondonBarneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

What an amazing spot in our beautiful countryside.. The views are incredible over the downs , the place was easy to find and the staff were friendly and helpful. Spent one night and had a lovely lunch and drinks before leaving, hard to leave that view behind.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathanDetroit73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Having been a regular for a few years now, I have called in on my way home from work for a quick pint (or two) a few times in recent weeks and I have to say I am a little disappointed.The locals and other `quick pint on the way home` brigade seem to have stopped coming in and the pub seems to have lost it`s atmosphere. It`s almost as if they don`t want them in there. Shouldn`t be a problem now, but wait til the winter! Unlike before the new people took over the pub, you never seem to see the same person behind the bar; it took 3 visits to find out who the new landlord is , but I still haven`t met him and haven`t seen him behind the bar. In my opinion a country pub needs a landlord behind the bar on a regular basis. How else is he/she going to get to know the locals and vice versa?
The food has always been excellent with a large choice of both main menu and `specials` and although I haven`t eaten there recently, the `specials` boards seem to have shrunk dramatically and I understand from one of the locals that the brilliant head chef Paul is leaving, along with several of the bar staff. This doesn`t bode well.
On a positive note, the gent`s toilets are now clean and tidy, which was long overdue!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Dom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Since The Sportsman changed hands recently there have been many changes. The general tidy-up and redecoration is mostly succesful, but has left it quite dark and gloomy as it's a very dark green - should have been two shades lighter. Nearly all the previous staff have now left or are leaving, including the delightful girls from behind the bar and Paul the chef. The menu is now smaller than was, the Ale selection is smaller and less interesting. Most of the previous regulars (including us) who like to just have a few drinks once or twice a week and sometimes eat as well now go elsewhere, and not for want of trying - I have been introduced to the new manager twice and he still maintains he has no idea what my name is. The music selection played at you is terrible - previously there was none, just the steady hum of conversation and people enjoying themselves. The darts team have gone elsewhere as they felt the changes made them unwelcome. It may do OK in the short term, but come the long, dark, winter evenings? - not so sure. The new management clearly don't see it a s a pub but as a restaurant, and with the increased food prices the service needs to improve a great deal if it's going to measure up. Try The Bridge by Amberly station, The George and Dragon at Houghton (equally good views and nicer deck/garden) and then compare the three - they've got a long road ahead.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pip60-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A nice pub in a rurlal location, and only a short (flat !) distance off the route. Very friendly staff, good beer and food (restaurant has big views over wetlands, binoculars provided !).
Nice accommodation and a good place to stop over.
Recommended!
Dave Oliver

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Same amazing view and Paul the new manager has got the food quality/quantity back to what it used to be. We chose the steak & chips plus the hake with asparagus & new potatoes - both were spot on. The chocolate brownie dessert was actually enough for 2 but I also chose the selection of English cheeses with a glass of port - perfect meal. Nice to see the Morris dancers back as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttfxuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
3.4 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
146 reviews
5.9 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
406 reviews
3.4 mi away
Roundabout Hotel
Roundabout Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chiltington
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,077 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
220 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman Inn

Address: Rackham Road, Amberley BN18 9NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Sportsman Hotel Amberley
The Sportsman Inn Amberley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing