We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”
Review of The Sportsman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amberley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sportsman Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Amberley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our overnight stay of Thursday 27th February was bought for us by our daughter as a gift. We had a wonderful 3-course dinner - starting with mushroom soup with role; my husband had the burger with trimmings and I had the venison both were fab and we were so full that we shared our desert!
Our bedroom and bathroom were newly decorated, clean and fresh and the bed so comfortable.
Breakfast in the dining room matched any we have had in 5* hotels and the view was amazing - they even supplied binoculars to spot all the birds.
Our hosts were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. 5* treatment in a pub - roaring fire lovely ambience - couldn't fault it - we shall be back but stay a couple of days next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 571Sullivans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Sportsman Inn overnight on the 1st March. We had a great time and have to say that the hotel is very comfortable with great views from the bedroom and the conservatory where dinner and breakfast are served. We were made very welcome and all staff are very hospitable. The new management under Simon and Nicola are extremely friendly and helpful.
Amberley village is very pretty with its thatched cottages and we recommend you visit the tea rooms. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat with great views, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMK713_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Staying in the village for a couple of days, we strolled up to the Sportsman for a bite to eat on the first night on the recommendation of our knowledgeable bed and breakfast hosts as the pub just a few paces from their front door was in the process of being renovated. It's due to open later this year, but it will need to be very good to take much custom away from this superior village local with a strong emphasis on quality food, but still very much a pub rather than a gastro destination.
The menu is full of interesting options that you'd rarely see on a pub menu as well as some more standard selections, the wine list has a decent range at very reasonable prices, and the local bitter goes down a treat.
Normally we'd seek out somewhere else new to explore on a second night in an unfamiliar location, but we had no hesitation in returning to the Sportsman the next night.
Highlights of our visit were a gigantic burger, a pigeon breast starter, venison as a main course and a glorious local cheese selection. Bargain dining, friendly service, lovely surroundings - the rooms look nice, too!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My partner and I stayed the night on Saturday, in this fabulous venue. We booked a room and evening meal plus breakfast. I was very surprised at the lovely room we were given. A massive beautiful bath and mirror in the lovely bathroom. Everything was tastefully furnished in the bedroom (faux fur throw over the crisp White duvet) and spotlessly clean. The couple who run the pub are really friendly and welcoming as were the three girls, Michelle, Danielle and Natalie who served us throughout our evening meal. The food was exceptional too. This is a lovely transitional pub in a magnificent setting. Our room looked out over a flood plain and what with the terrible rain we have had over the last few weeks, it was definitely flooded! Binoculars were provided on the table in the morning with breakfast, so you could observe the wildlife. The breakfast was also very very tasty. After we checked out we went for a walk for a couple of hours around Amberley village and castle. So beautiful. Chocolate box cottages, very quaint. We live in Hove so the journey wasn't too far and we will most definitely be visiting The Sportsman again in the summer, as I am sure it will look even prettier when the flowers come out around the village.
I would most definitely recommend The Sportsman for not only a meal but over night stay.

Room Tip: We had room 2 on the ground floor over looking the flood plains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Booked this as a short winter break, but it snowballed. Having had an earlier visit for a drink we thought this would make a great venue for a relaxed birthday celebration meal. Our hosts Katie and Paul were unphased by the idea of us inviting 24 friends and family to take over the the conservatory one evening. We booked extra rooms for long distance travellers and had an absolutely wonderful time.
The pub looks quite uninspiring from the outside but when you get inside the friendly atmosphere is quite palpable. Rustic furnishing and a cosy wood burning stove set the scene.
The bar hosts various local quality ales and the menu is pure salivation with game dishes and traditional pub food with a twist. To avoid disappointment booking advised for Sunday lunch
Views from the conservatory to the rear are extensive and presently as nature intended a dramatic flooded plain. Deer and all manor of waterfowl can be seen around.
The hotel rooms are very comfortable with new mattresses on the beds and decorated with a rustic charm. The rooms are kept spotless by a lovely team and coupled with the abilities of the chef and his gang, we had a wonderful birthday bash.
Thank you Katie, Paul and the whole crew for a fantastic relaxed birthday weekend

Room Tip: First floor back rooms have great views of the Wildbrooks, First floor front lovely view of South Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A good location on the edge of the the idyllic chocolate box village of Amberly with the South Downs to the front of the property and a flood plain to the rear that was totally flooded as far as the eye could be seen when we visited, a sight not seen for well over 20years. This area is a haven for wild life

The greeting on arrival could not have been friendlier by the young girl behind the bar followed by the licensee who took us to our room and explained where everything was and meal times etc. all the other staff we encounter were all very personable.

The bedroom was a reasonable size and very clean with a modern shabby chic style, the bathroom was spotlessly clean and functional, with a very good shower

The bed was clean and comfortable with additional pillows covers available, plenty of tea, coffee and milk. hairdryer in room.

The pub had a very comfortable welcoming feel to it supplemented by a warming log fire and conservatory overlooking the impressive flood plain. There was good mix of guest and locals who were very friendly

Food was second to none, although the menu is not excessive it is supplemented by two specials. The quality of the produce, preparation and presentation was excellent the taste was as good as it gets.

Breakfast was a delight, fruit juice and a small selection of cereals were available followed by an excellent individually cooked full English breakfast, other dishes were available.

We usually stay in 4 & 5 * hotels with this being our first stay in a B& B style pub. From our experience it has been one of the best stays we have had and would definitely return as the hospitality, food, accommodation and location all compliment each other.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank golfjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is a lovely place for lunch - in the summer the views over the Weald is great. Remember to book in advance for a tale in the sun room. In bad weather it's just as interesting The staff is helpful (and witty) the menu inventive with generous helpings. Good selection of local beers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catdidier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Sportsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman Inn

Address: Rackham Road, Amberley BN18 9NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Sportsman Hotel Amberley
The Sportsman Inn Amberley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing