We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a warm welcome”
Review of The Sportsman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amberley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sportsman Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Amberley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Covered in mud after mountain biking from Winchester to Amberley we were greeted with a warm welcome, and taken to our basic but very clean and comfortable room.

The shower was powerful which was very much appreciated.

Clean and warm we had dinner of homemade burgers - I'm very fussy about burgers/ sausages etc but the quality was great. The local beers were lovely and the smell from the open fire made The Sportsman have a very country homely feel.

I must pay special attention to the staff who bar none were friendly and welcoming. The chef when I was pestering him in the morning for breakfast before they had started was also very warm and open.

I believe the sportsman is under new management and from what I experienced they are doing a great job.

Keep up the good work guys, pleasure meeting you all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Nice quiet location with open views to the rear. Lovely staff,very helpful, great beer and food had a burger lovely. Room was ideal. Would stay again if in the area. Shame I missed the breakfast as I had to leave early

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jpdolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

What a lovely way to spend the first sunny weekend of the year. Saturday afternoon with a ploughmans & a bottle of Rose over looking the beautiful scenery with the sun on our face. I cannot recommend this place enough. We stayed the night the room was light & airy, the evening meal was amazing (the lamb to die for). Breakfast was better than many a 5* hotel we've stayed in. We will certainly be back. The staff are very welcoming & friendly also.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mardge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This country pub with accommodation was perfect for a few days to get away and relax. The staff were very attentive and pleasant and the room was basic but the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in and the bathroom served every need. The food was outstanding. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We booked two nights at the SI via groupon and were really impressed.
The new owners Simon and Nicola had only been there for five days when we arrived and so were still getting to know the place themselves. However, they could not have been nicer. They were so keen to make our stay pleasant that nothing was too much trouble.
The room was clean, the bed was comfy and the food in the restaurant/bar was generous and superb! The triple cooked chips were to die for and the locally sourced ham and cheeses were delicious. Breakfast was lovely in the conservatory, with quality sausages and bacon and even binoculars provided to watch the birds flying over the surrounding countryside.
The landlords made such an effort to make us welcome that we even played darts with them one evening.
All in all, great hosts, stunning countryside and views, amazing food and a comfy bed. What more could you want from a relaxing couple of days away.
Well recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Parnas70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Just had a one night dinner bed and breakfast at the Sportsman inn Amberley and thoroughly enjoyed it.We are local people and know the village very well but were given it as a treat for christmas.Friendly staff and sweet Lola the little dog who is very well behaved.Food excellent and well presented.We would have preferred to have a bedroom overlooking the brooks at the back but we still had a view between the houses opposite, so no matter. We will be happy to recommend. Good luck them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our overnight stay of Thursday 27th February was bought for us by our daughter as a gift. We had a wonderful 3-course dinner - starting with mushroom soup with role; my husband had the burger with trimmings and I had the venison both were fab and we were so full that we shared our desert!
Our bedroom and bathroom were newly decorated, clean and fresh and the bed so comfortable.
Breakfast in the dining room matched any we have had in 5* hotels and the view was amazing - they even supplied binoculars to spot all the birds.
Our hosts were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. 5* treatment in a pub - roaring fire lovely ambience - couldn't fault it - we shall be back but stay a couple of days next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 571Sullivans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
5.9 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in Worthing
433 reviews
9.1 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 10 in Worthing
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amberley Castle
Amberley Castle
#1 of 3 in Amberley
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman Inn

Address: Rackham Road, Amberley BN18 9NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Sportsman Hotel Amberley
The Sportsman Inn Amberley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing