We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay! Highly recommend.”
Review of The Sportsman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amberley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sportsman Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Amberley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Sportsman Inn is a real gem of a place! The staff are very welcoming, the food is amazing and the hotel rooms are cosy and very clean. Areas surrounding The Sportsman are very picturesque and peaceful. There's plenty to do and see...... you certainly won't be bored. We will definitely be returning to The Sportsman, and we offer the highest recommendations. Thank you to all the staff who made our visit so pleasurable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had a night at one of our favourite pubs, well known to us as near countryside where we often cycle and walk. Our stay was excellent, a beautiful room with fantastic food overlooking the Amberley Brooks, an evening meal and a cooked breakfast. LOVE this place.

The food: As a vegan I was expecting the bare minimum but the chef served a delicious and imaginative 3 course meal which was really high quality and really memorable. Husband enjoyed venison, amongst other things and was well impressed. The vegan breakfast was superb, enjoyed whilst bird spotting over the brooks in the dining area.

The room: well decorated and comfortable en-suite. All the caring touches were there such as toiletries and tea/coffee facilities but the view was the show stopper. Couldn't get enough of it. On the down side, it's an old building so no surprise that the floors creak and the soundproofing isn't great, but all part of the character. Only improvement we would suggest is to get better pillows, a minor thing really.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here for a two night break. Perfect getaway with lovely walks in a picturesque setting. We stayed in Room 2 which had amazing views and roll top bath to chill out in! Dinner was superb, desserts to die for! Nothing was too much trouble for Nicola and Simon. We would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Having read recent reviews we were looking forward to our nights stay at The Sportsman. Having seen there was a change of ownership I rang to find out check-in time and I was told 2.30. We are arrived at 2.30 hoping to be shown to our room quickly in order to change and make the most of a lovely afternoon walking on the Downs. They were busy and asked us to wait 10 mins and to have a drink in the meantime which was put on our tab. We did not really want one as just came from the tea rooms down the road but felt obliged. Eventually, after 30 mins we were taken to our room which had lovely views over the flood plains and we had never seen so many deer. The room was good and comfortable as it was lovely to have 2 hot chocolate sachets on the tea tray as often only one provided and we both love hot chocolate. My one concern with the room was that the wash basin and shower head needed a good clean. Our evening meal was booked for 7 in the conservatory with stunning views across the flood plain. The food was lovely but disappointing to find they had already run out of gnocchi as a starter and chocolate torte as only 7 in the evening. Breakfast was from 9 and we came down at 9.30. We helped ourselves to cereals and juice and sat at a lovely window table. We had to ask for spoons and then Simon asked if we would like tea or coffee and my husband requested tea. When our cooked breakfast came we had to ask for a knife and fork and my husbands tea never did come!!! The other guests had left the conservatory and we were still eating when Nicola came in and started dragging tables around on the tiled floor ready for lunch. I know they were busy but there was no apology for the noise going on around us and we felt really uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have lovely views over the flood plain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just spent a night at the Sportsman Inn- Groupon deal of Evening Meal & B&B.
As soon as we arrived we were made to feel so welcome - Our hosts Nicola & Simon went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We arrived late afternoon - early evening and spent a good few hours in front of the open fire with our drinks - Dinner was casually ordered at our table - We both had the Venison main course and Local Cheese selection to finish - The food was faultless! My only complaint is the rate we drank our way through 3 bottles of very good Chilean Merlot (Lol) This was primarily due to us enjoying conversations and jollies with our hosts and other guests, it really felt like we were meeting old friends! Slept like logs - our room was very comfortable and morning view incredible - swans - pheasants and deer. Breakfast was a welcome relief from the self induced headaches! Full English perfectly cooked - Tea/Coffee cereal toast etc 10/10 - We will return in summer .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Covered in mud after mountain biking from Winchester to Amberley we were greeted with a warm welcome, and taken to our basic but very clean and comfortable room.

The shower was powerful which was very much appreciated.

Clean and warm we had dinner of homemade burgers - I'm very fussy about burgers/ sausages etc but the quality was great. The local beers were lovely and the smell from the open fire made The Sportsman have a very country homely feel.

I must pay special attention to the staff who bar none were friendly and welcoming. The chef when I was pestering him in the morning for breakfast before they had started was also very warm and open.

I believe the sportsman is under new management and from what I experienced they are doing a great job.

Keep up the good work guys, pleasure meeting you all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Nice quiet location with open views to the rear. Lovely staff,very helpful, great beer and food had a burger lovely. Room was ideal. Would stay again if in the area. Shame I missed the breakfast as I had to leave early

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jpdolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
5.9 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in Worthing
433 reviews
9.1 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 10 in Worthing
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amberley Castle
Amberley Castle
#1 of 3 in Amberley
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman Inn

Address: Rackham Road, Amberley BN18 9NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Sportsman Hotel Amberley
The Sportsman Inn Amberley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing