We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views, comfortable beds, good food, excellent pub.”
Review of The Sportsman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amberley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sportsman Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Amberley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed while walking the South Downs Way, arrived dog tired after 13 miles hard slog in hot weather to find The Sportsman. Simple clean rooms with great views out over the water meadows one way and the South Downs the other, friendly efficient service, and a good restaurant serving well thought out food. This isn't an over designed gastro pub charging London prices, but a well run, traditional pub doing eveything well. It was full of local people and thier dogs in the bar, and midweek had families and couples using the restaurant. The rooms were spotless and quiet, with good showers, and good views over open countryside. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingshuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2010

A group of us stayed while walking the South Downs Way.
The inn was comfortable, the bedrooms clean, fresh and quiet, the staff relaxed, friendly and helpful, and the food tasty. The place seemed well run and easy going. And the view from the terrace is just wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank researcher-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

My three adult sons and I stayed at the Sportsman in Amberley in October 09 whilst on a walking weekend on the South Downs. It is a proper, well run, unspoilt, traditional pub with three small bars (One public with dart board) log fires and a welcoming atmoshere created by Rob the Landlord and his staff who couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. It is in a very nice location with outstanding views to the back over the beautiful Amberley Wild Brooks. There are good walks from the pub and you can join the SDW easily (there are two options, one a more gentle ascent than the other!) The three ales we tried were excellent and well kept, the food delicious and very well cooked (we thought very good value) and the rooms were very comfortable - clean and well equipped. We will definitely stay again as long as Rob and his team are there.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_and_sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed here on a walk along the South Downs Way. Room was clean, plain / simple, and with great views. The food is good basic pub food - not gourmet - but fine. The landlord could not have been more friendly or welcoming. Even though we were just there for one night he was very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarktheWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Superb Pub, everything about it was really good, staff very welcoming and the food was outstanding. While we were there, they had a phone call stating they'd won the pub of the year award from the 'good beer' people. The rooms were very clean and a joy to sleep in, with the most wonderful views. As for the breakfast, wow! didn't want to leave but had to!
Such a shame we only had one night there, will definitely try to get back in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hine60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
3.4 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
146 reviews
5.9 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 10 in Worthing
411 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Roundabout Hotel
Roundabout Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chiltington
338 reviews
4.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,128 reviews
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman Inn

Address: Rackham Road, Amberley BN18 9NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Sportsman Hotel Amberley
The Sportsman Inn Amberley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing