We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 'specials' are worth looking out for”
Review of The Bridge Inn

The Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Amberley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional country pub with food.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
498 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“The 'specials' are worth looking out for”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The food here is better than your standard pub usually serves up. The chef is Greek and when we visited there was a really authentic and tasty stifado on the menu. I had a plaice which was a monster in comparison to offerings that are common elsewhere and it came with new potatoes and a selection of vegetables - not the standard chips and mushy peas that gets to be such a bore. In a lovely setting and cool and characterful inside if you want to get out of the sun. Heartily recommended

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OLDGIT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    117
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent food in a quintessential English setting”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having often passed through Amberley on the way to Horsham but never stopped, a sunny and leisurely drive back from Horsham provided us finally with an opportunity to do so. With a few places to eat we chose the picturesque Bridge Inn for Lunch. What a great choice!

A traditional English Country pub situated alongside the banks of the river Arun, it is well located in the South Downs national Park and offers a convenient watering hole when exploring the surrounding area.

Serving a good selection of home cooked food, real ales, and a nice selection of wines the service and atmosphere is both friendly and professional. We had no complaints over the fish and chips which were adequate portions, tasty and well presented. Some may consider the prices a little higher than normal but the service and quality is better than one might expect.

A lovely building in a great position I encourage you to visit, we will definitely drop in again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Settefinestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were a bit muddy after cycling along the South Downs Way, but the landlord let us eat inside. We only had 40 minutes to grab a meal before catching a train. Our huge platefuls of scampi and chips arrived promptly, washed down by some lovely beer. The pub has a friendly atmosphere and was a great place to end our day out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajkpjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Recommend by our B&B host, was a busy Sunday night service. Many good choices on the menu. We ordered the tomato soup, fish cake and Sunday roast, all delicious and reasonable portion. And to my surprise they take Amex :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AquaScaleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming, in a super location and with very good meals”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

After a lovely walk along the South Downs Way, our party of three received a warm and friendly greeting from the staff of The Bridge Inn before we had even got through the front door. The service was excellent throughout, as indeed were our three roast lunches. " That has to be the best roast lunch that I have been served in a pub for many years " enthused my pal Gina. I second that and heartily recommend this very fine well run pub to one and all. Located two minutes from the train station, the South Downs Way and the river Arun, a visit to the Bridge Inn at Amberley is a must do. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andiymac777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bridge Inn also viewed

Pulborough, West Sussex
 
Amberley, West Sussex
 

Been to The Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing