We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riverside Cafe”

Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Amberley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on the banks of the River Arun, Riverside offers breakfast, lunch and traditional afternoon teas all year round. Enjoy sitting outside by the river in the South Downs National Park, drinking a cold beer or enjoying cream tea, we are opposite Amberley Station and 5 minutes walk from the South Downs Way.
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful location by peaceful river. The cakes are delicious. We also had a lovely lunch - a goats cheese pizza and a draught lager. The service is very attentive and friendly and dogs are welcome too. You can have a table outside if the weather is good, right by the river with good views. Cafe is sparkly clean too. What a great visit!

Thank Shopsy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francescula, Owner at Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review! It is so nice for me and my staff to have our hard work recognised so thank you for taking the time,
Best regards
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

We stopped off here on the off chance of having a cream tea. The weather was cold so unfortunately we had to sit inside. Not much of a view from the cafe but it is warm, friendly and quite busy. There are choices of cream teas which is a wonderful idea. My husband had a traditional one while I plumped for a savoury one. Both were plentiful and delicious. The homemade chutney was lovely so we took some home with us. The entrance to the eatery is precarious to enter and exit so be VERY CAREFUL.... Well worth a visit - and we shall be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francescula, Owner at Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for your review about our lovely cream and savoury teas!
Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful views from the garden,
Best regards
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

I visited this tea room on Saturday with my 2 friends, on our way to Arundel. We had 3 coffees and 3 rock cakes, I asked for the bill and we were shocked at the cost £18.80.

What a rip off. will not be going there again. We walked into Arundel. I had scone jam and a pot of tea for £4.30, I could have had cream and butter as well. I love my coffee so use alot of coffee shops in town and country, and they are not that expensive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 162lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francescula, Owner at Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Here we go again.....none of our menu is compulsory and all of our prices are mentioned on our menu giving you the chance to order or not. You saw the price of coffee, chose to order the large version and moan about the price, when you are watching the pennies maybe order the regular and leave behind the cakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Have visited twice recently, once for lunch eating indoors and once whilst walking the dog and stopping for tea and sitting outside.
Lunch was a substantial egg mayo baguette, which was very good. Staff were lovely and service excellent.
Visited also on Good Friday for afternoon tea outside (with dog) beside the river in very well laid out seating area well maintained, designed and great surroundings. My children had cake and was very good, very pleasant and friendly staff.
Meeting friends there again soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PulboroughFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francescula, Owner at Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for your very kind review, we appreciate you taking the time to tell others how much you enjoyed your visits!
See you again soon,
Best regards
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We got the train from London to Amberley to do another section of the SDW. The tea rooms are less than 5 mins walk from the station. Full English breakfast was excellent, loads of it, good quality, reasonably priced and friendly staff. Set us up nicely for the walk to Fulking.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francescula, Owner at Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! Our breakfast is very popular as it is large and we only use the best ingredients, hope you enjoyed your walk!
Best regards
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens also viewed

 
Storrington, Horsham District
 
Amberley, West Sussex
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing