We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Break For Two”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Roost,

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amberley, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

anitahard...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Break For Two”
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a delightful & cosy place to stay in a beautiful part of England. Sandie & Geoff were really helpful & made us feel so welcome. We have already booked up to return next year (2018). Cannot wait.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2018
Thank you both.....you are on the calendar!!!!........let's hope for some good summer weather for your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
452paul_B
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway !”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This beautiful holiday rental is situated in the quiet village of Amberley, the accommodation itself is stunning and roomy, a bedroom upstairs with a kitchen, eating area, lounge and bathroom downstairs all very ergonomically designed, there's even a patio area with table and chairs to sit outside. I am usually working when I am down that neck of the woods and for me it is sheer escapism to come back to this lovely homely accommodation. Sandie and Geof are always on hand should you require anything otherwise you are left to your own devices, there are two pubs within walking distance both offering reasonable fare or Arundel is only a ten minute drive away. I have stayed three years running and plan to have a holiday with my wife sometime instead of being there for work, I cannot recommend this enough.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2017
Thank you Paul,
Very much appreciate your comments ......and we have you booked in already for next year!!!!!
Our best wishes
Sandie and Geoff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabinePet...
Bochum, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet home”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

If you want to travel and feeling home, you have to stay in `The Roost´!
A wonderful charming place to rest, a geourgious garden, romantic pure, comfortable furnishing and cosy atmosphere.
This has been our third stay at this loveley location and the more we come the more we love it.
Everything you need is there in best order(fridge,toaster,microwave,oven, TV,...) . Very clean and decorated with loveley details all over the rooms. Well functioning heater with warm towels, one step in a big shower at ground level, a big cosy bed with an excellent matraze and a fantastic view to the South Downs. Perhaps a sheep will look to your window ;) A great location in a beautiful surrounding,a picturesque village and easy to go to interesting places like Arundel Castle, Goodwood House, Chichester or just the nice tearoom in Amberley itself.
We highly recommend this `pearl of west sussex´.
Sandie and Goeff gave us again a very warm and friendly welcome and tried their best to spoil and delight us as their guests.
Never ever Goodwood without you !!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thank you so very much !.....You are such welcome " returners" ........charming and fun people and we really look forward to seeing you again next year
S and G
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Many thanks for your review and we hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in the UK
Sandie and Geoff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sarahlisa...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful accomodation and garden”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Charming Barn conversion, with a lovely, private garden. The hosts were welcoming, yet discrete and the accommodation had everything you need, plus some appreciated small touches. (Such as the fresh flowers, from the garden) A great village, well located for walks and sight seeing. Local Pubs were pretty good too!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Reviews are most welcome and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.....thank you both and we hope to see you again in the future
Best wishes
Sandie and Geoff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip48...
1 review
“An English garden bursting with roses, birdsong and tranquility”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Sandie and Geoff gave us the warmest of welcomes. After a guided tour of the Roost we settled in and strolled around in the warm evening sunshine to discover more of this delightful village. The following day we joined the village's annual Sculpture Garden trail. What a perfect way to meet everyone and view some of the most exquisite gardens. The Roost is extremely well equipped for a short or long stay. Ideally situated for walks on the South Downs or taking a train ride into Brighton. The local pub called The Bridge, serve delicious and generous meals. Having discovered this wonderful gem we will be returning.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
What a lovely review both for The Roost, the Village and The Bridge too....Thank you very much .
The village gardens are superb throughout the summer and we were so pleased that you enjoyed it all and we certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra W
Dunedin, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“My favorite stay while hiking the SDW!”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We just finished walking the SDW and had our rest day at The Roost. The Village of Amberley was the perfect English Village with thatched roofs, flower gardens, a tea room and a wonderfully stocked village grocer. We actually chose to buy food and eat our meals at The Roost, which was so peaceful, private and well appointed that we didn't want to leave it. Sandy and her husband and even her gardener went out of their way to welcome us. There is a train within walking distance, so you can hop on and visit Arundel and the Castle (worth a visit, just for the gardens). I would love to keep this special place to myself, but it is there to share, so if you anywhere nearby, make it a point to stay at The Roost!

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
How kind of you ......we will share your lovely review with everyone
you' ve mentioned .......they will be delighted.!!.....thank you.
Sandie and Geoff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.