We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wings Museum

Wings Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Balcombe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delightful small yet focused collection of WW11 artifacts in large barn.. Dakota fuselage and remains of many a/c recovered from the ocean or desert. Clever yet grim photographs of the Dora underground rocket factory. Plenty of sound effects and memorabilia.Open week-ends and now Wednesdays. Shop but no refreshment facilities.
Brighton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This museum is not huge and well tucked away. The focus is limited to WWII aviation, but the range of content is huge - including a rare 'Kate' Nakamichi fighter and very many small displays on individuals, plains and the backstory of various artefacts. The diversity of the collection is remarkable and the volunteers will often take visitors on escorted torus of the restoration workshops. If this era is of interest to you, you won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I went to the recent bomber command signing event at this museum. What a wonderful place ! Stupidly I didn't leave enough time to do the place justice. There is loads to see and read giving a real snapshot into WW2. I took my son (30) who loved it as well. Will go again this summer

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DozzaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were looking for something nearby to take my Dad to as an interesting outing. Others reviews looked positive so we gave it a go.
We were not disappointed.
Lots of 'stuff', well presented and overall very interesting.
We would also like to praise the volunteer staff who were helpful and informative - even took us into the work rooms as my husband had expressed an interest in the engine they were rebuilding.
Big enough to be interesting.
Small enough not to get boring.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank AAE_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Much more there than I expected, will definitely be going again. So many artefacts.Only thing missing is a cafe

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 313kirstym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“woundering where all the WW2 artifacts go? ........ its here!! is alladin cave.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I realy recommend this place, it was full of WW2 memoribilia and I have never come across such a large collection. The smells were amazing and gave you a real feeling of what it was like. truly great day out for all the family. You really wont have enough ime to see it all or inspect everything as there is so much. AMAZING.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lee_m20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wings Museum also viewed

Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Been to Wings Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing