We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince Consort

Prince Consort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Netley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prince Consort
Ranked #1 of 2 Netley B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Since July I have eaten here many times including a couple of large family meals. In addition, soem family members stayed here when visiting. I am surprised by some of the -ve reviews based on our experience.
The staff are very accomodating and could not have been more helpful for my Dad who is in a wheelchair. The food offered serves a range of requirements and I can safely say that neither I nor my guests have had a bad meal. Some of the food has been excellent and I would recommend this to anyone who wants to enjoy a good evening with friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungoverAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    30
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
18
26
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Just had my first visit to the Prince Consort, Netley and cannot understand the previous reviews when talking of the friendliness of the staff or the quality of the food. The food was lovely, melted in the mouth and plenty of it. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and could see the way Pepe interacted with his regulars - just brilliant. Has been tastefully decorated and has a restaurant area more suitable for evening and a lighter area for daytime or breakfast for those staying overnight.

Will definitely return, cannot fault it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Only stopped by for a drink but found this pub to be very unfriendly and one member of staff in particular was extremely rude and obnoxious. Would not waste my time visiting this establishment again.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank VanGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I visit the Prince Consort often and I find the staff very friendly, service is good and have only had one occasion to complain about the food in 11 years, however, this was before the current owners moved in just over a year ago. Sometimes the restaurant is not full but this is usually because many customers prefer to eat in the cosy bar or in the garden. The Prince Consort takes many bookings for parties and this is proof that this pub and restaurant are both worth visiting. I, for one, will never be put off and boy can I complain if food and service is not up to my standards.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pebbles-south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Restaurant was empty. 20ish tables only 4 being used on a Saturday night is not a good sign. extensive menu but not good for a vegetarian or someone on a diet. Service was satisfactory but the food was over cooked / burnt. Rump steak was requested medium rare and was served very well done. Stir fry was drowned in Blackbean sauce and both meals were returned to the Kitchen. Vegtables stated fresh but came out of the freezer in a packet. Very poor and would never reccomend to friends to eat there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StuartChal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Netley
3.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
3.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
3.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Consort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Consort

Property: Prince Consort
Address: 71 Victoria Road | Netley Abbey, Netley SO31 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Netley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Netley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Consort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade 2 Listed Victorian pub with separate 7 en-suite B&B. Large restaurant/ function room suitable for formal/informal dinners, parties, weddings and wakes. Situated very close to the Royal Victoria Country Park. Easy access to Southampton and Portsmouth and close to Southampton International Airport by car or taxi. Close to Southampton Cruise Terminal by car or taxi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing