We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golfing Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
GreenLeadersBronze level
chelmsford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golfing Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Visited this Hotel for my birthday on 8th/9th May. We booked an Executive room overlooking the golf course, which was very clean, quiet and reasonably spacious, with dressing gowns, slippers, a bottle of red wine and chocolates.
The staff were excellent, all greeting you when passing by.
The course was in good condition considering all the rain we have had, not too difficult for the average golfer.
The drinks in the bars were very expensive (£12.00 for a single brandy).
The food both at breakfast and evening meals were excellent, but unfortunately, the wait for the evening meal was exceptionally long (about 1 hour from starter to main couse). However, when mentioning this to Sam, the Head Waiter, he made sure we had a free bottle of wine on the 2nd night plus coffee and the service that night was much better. We had no problem with the staff and service at breakfast who were extremely efficient.
All things considered we had a good time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelmsfordMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul-GM, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear ChelmsfordMargo,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your views, I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and managed to get out on the course despite the rain! I will ensure your feedback is shared with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Ben Bridgeman
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    739
    411
    189
    94
See reviews for
572
776
30
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Chose this hotel for a three night stay because of it's ease of access to Southampton, Portsmouth and the New Forest , all of which we visited and enjoyed.
Hotel not the most architecturally attractive exterior but inside typical leisure resort and spa but with above average facilities including squash, gym, pool and what appears a great golf course.
The reception was welcoming, the bedroom overlooking the golf course comfortable and well appointed. We dined in the main restaurant each night and enjoyed the wide ranging menu with daily specials with excellent service throughout. The breakfasts were great and again service excellent.
It was an interesting stay as the hotel caters for all tastes and offers excellent facilities for children yet was quiet.
The staff were all attentive and helpful and a credit to the management.
We are not great favourites of the resort type of hotel but found this ideal for our needs to see this area of Hampshire.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the views over the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandD&B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul-GM, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your review on trip advisor.

I am pleased you found the hotel to your liking and I will pass on your feedback to the teams and thank you for taking the time to comment.

As you mentioned the hotel does cater for many different types of guest and needs from golf, family, corporate, leisure to conferences guests and we are pleased to have the facilities to be able to do so. I hope that you choose to visit us again in the near future and thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards

Paul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We enjoyed the breakfast. But you couldn't help yourself to tea or coffee and so had to try to attract someone's attention. The room was nice enough but the TV was a 15 year old analogue CRT with few channels and a poor picture. The internet in the room (with a cable) was very intermittent, which was quite irritating. The staff were friendly but I didn't see any of them during the night when the fire alarm went off. They add a charity donation and service charge to your draft bill but take them off if you ask, which I did.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul-GM, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I am pleased you found the food to your liking and I greatly appreciate your feedback.

We have recently taken delivery of 130 new 32 inch LCD TVs and all bedrooms now have an excellent digital signal, free view as well as Sky Sports 1 and 2. With regards to the internet we do have an excellent free WIFI signal in all public areas and conference rooms as well as a chargeable WIFI system in the bedrooms. We do offer a free wired system in the bedrooms as you mentioned and I will ask the maintenance team to look at this to correct the drop out issues.

Please accept my apologies for the fire alarm activation. This was a rare fault in the system which happened at 6.45 a.m. and the night team were dealing with the fire authority and guests who had requested assistance. Had this been later in the day I am sure you would have seen many more staff available in the hotel and I will discuss your comments at the next fire safety meeting to see where we can improve.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Botley Park Hotel.

Kind regards

Paul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable weekend stay at Botley Park Hotel with friends. We booked two bedrooms and upgraded to the Executive rooms which gave us a few extras. Rooms although small were extremely comfortable and in particular had lovely views and were very quiet. We arrived much earlier than the official check in time and were given access to our rooms on arrival. The reception staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. We were particularly impressed with the restaurant. The service was first class, the staff attentive and on the ball and the food excellent. We were very well looked after and the staff immediately acknowledged that we were on the DBB deal so there were not the usual issues we have experienced at other hotels with having dinner charges incorrectly added to our final bill. For breakfast once again the service was excellent and the buffet selection kept well stocked. The made to order hot cooked breakfast was well received and of a very high quality. A very relaxing breakfast compared with previous experiences at other hotels where they just can't get it right. The reception was always well staffed so we never had to queue and for once our final bill was correct and no mystery charges to deal with. I would recommend a stay here, particularly on a DBB deal which is excellent value given the excellent quality of the food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul-GM, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review about our hotel.

I was very happy to read the team looked after you so well and we do share all comments with the hotels employees and they will be as pleased as I was to read of your feedback.

We do pride ourselves on the quality of food we purchase and it was super to read that you enjoyed your dining experience.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you do so again soon

Kind regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel caters for everyone not just golfers. Excellent facilities and the golf course is a real gem.
Bedrooms clean and modern with comfortable beds.
The staff are very helpful, cheerful, always attentive to your needs, and a credit to the company.
Dining in the restaurant was a gastronomic experience, food top quality with a perfect presentation for the customer.

The only downside to the hotel that disabled people had to be accommodated on the ground floor as there are no lifts to the upper 2 floors.

Room Tip: Rooms to the north side overlook the golf couse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul-GM, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review.

The chef has asked that I pass on his personal appreciation for mentioning his food as I know he and the team work very hard to ensure that the quality of the food we buy is matched by the skills of the team producing it. The team were very pleased to read your comments and thank you for doing so.

Your comments have been noted regarding the lifts and any major upgrade work carried out to the hotel I will ensure these are added at that time.

We look forward t welcoming you back to Botley Park at some point soon.

Kind regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just spent a weekend break here with a few girlfriends in rooms 213 and 218. The rooms were a little small, but provided everything we needed and were very quiet. Only a couple of noisy golfers passed by on one occasion - a reminder to be quiet when passing through the corridors would be good. Some people just don't think. Otherwise it was very peaceful and relaxing, and we enjoyed the extra touches provided with the Executive room. We were very impressed with the high service levels both at Reception and particularly in the Restaurant at dinner and breakfast. The bartender in the Swing and Divot Bar was also very efficient on our arrival for lunch on Friday. The staff were all friendly and helpful, including the spa receptionist who showed us in the pool area and made sure we knew the ropes. I also enjoyed a relaxing Reflexology treatment in the beauty room. The steam room and sauna had opened in time for our visit and were excellent. A special mention for the restaurant staff who were so professional and efficient during our visit. Both dinners were excellent, and the breakfast experience was one of the best I have had at a hotel. Yes, perhaps some attention could be paid to the public areas to tidy and smarten them up a bit as it looked a bit tired in a few places but the quality of the service and food more than compensated for this.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul-GM, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write about our hotel.

It was super to read how well the team looked after you and I will pass this on to all involved.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I will also discuss with the maintenance team your comments relating to some of the public areas and will ensure these are looked into.

Kind regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night and have to say that we are glad it wasn't for longer as there were lots of little things which let this hotel down... The noise from inconsiderate people (we think a golfing party) returning to their rooms in the small hours, meant that we had very little sleep. There appears to be no sound proofing on the doors at all.

We were impressed by the service from staff, and choice and standard of the food for our main evening meal in the restaurant. Breakfast was a shambles with staff, seemingly not knowing what they were doing - plates left on tables and others still being laid when breakfast was nearly finished at 10.30. I think they need to get their priorities right. Breakfast itself was mediocre - our poached eggs were hard, the bacon was dry and the fried bread was so hard it was uncuttable..... a real difference to our meal of the evening before.

Another disappointment was that we used the swimming pool but at no point did we know before arrival that the sauna/steam room was out of action due to maintenance work. This should have been noted on their website.

There are a few people at this hotel who need a special mention - the male receptionist who extended a very warm and friendly welcome on our arrival and for whom help and advice was not too much trouble and various personnel in the restaurant team who made us feel looked after.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValSDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul-GM, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip advisor.

I was sorry to hear that a number of guests kept you awake returning to thier bedrooms and I will look at adding additional signage to improve this moving forward.

Your comments have been taken on board regarding breakfast and thank you for your kind feedback regarding the restaurant team and Robert at reception.

It was with regret that the steam room was out of action during your visit and this went on for a week longer thank planned due to installation difficulties. Both the steam room and sauna are now fully operational and I apologise this was not the case during your visit.

Thank you again for your constructive comments.

Kind regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botley
6.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
3.1 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Property: Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Address: Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Botley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa is one of the finest ----four-star hotels in Southampton. Set in acres of beautiful countryside, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to Southampton airport, Eastleigh, Portsmouth and the M3, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. And if you are setting sail at the nearby port, then we're an ideal stopover destination before your exciting holiday begins. When the business or adventure of the day is done, unwind in our swimming pool or gym or thrash it out on our tennis or squash courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Botley
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Country
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing