We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than my last stay... it just keeps getting better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Following my anniversary last year, awesome function in March this year and booking a further function for next year, the Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Golf and Country Club was the obvious choice for my anniversary this year.

So here are the good and bad bits!!

Good bits:

Check in:
Was slick, staff very efficient, welcoming and freindly.

Room:
Was spacious, beautiful and spotlessly clean, linen in use of a very high quality. The shortbread on the tea tray something similar you would expect from the like of Fortnum and masons (yes I have and do frequent F & M)!! It is also nice to have a cup and saucer, not a tacky mug. All round very tasteful, and agreeable! The bed was enormous, and so, so comfortable!!

Spa facilities:
Absolutely spotless, and again staff very helpful and obliging.

Winchester Restaurant:
Awesome, very experienced waiting staff, very knowledgeable in relation to the dishes being offered on the menu. Menu holds something for every palate. Service was exceptional, being very welcoming, but not intruding, although remaining attentive at all points. Very tastefully decorated. A clearly well thought out menu, which every course was truly delicious, and a great experience all round. I dined on vegetable broth, followed by chicken with a dessert of crème brule. My wife Black pudding with caramelised apple, Lamb and dessert of a deconstructed tart with salted chocolate sorbet. It was all delicious, cooked to perfection , served with finesse.

Breakfast:
Great continental choice and a first class, well presented delicious cooked breakfast

This hotel was a country mile away from the chain hotels that we have recently stayed in. All the staff were welcoming, obliging and nothing appeared to be too much trouble.

The Bad Bit:

I only booked one night, and could not afford to take any further time from work!

However my wife and I are planning some work Christmas parties for this year, and perhaps celebrating new years eve here too. Next anniversary will be a two night break for sure.

All the staff here are a credit to the Macdonald group, this hotel is exceptional with service, style and ambiance that is missing from so many similar hotels.

Thank you to all the team who made our anniversary so special. You should all be very proud of the service you are providing. I will make no apology for repeating the words, quality, style, welcoming etc. As these words truly reflect this hotel. thank you again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andiparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,825 - 1,831 of 2,226 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights here for a family wedding, and booked in on the Autumn break offer (which was a cheaper way to stay than on the wedding rate). The rooms were very clean and comfortable. There was a fridge in the room where we were able to keep milk and yoghurt that we had for breakfast (would have been £17 per head otherwise). Although feeling a little moany about the prices, the service was exceptional here. There were 2 other weddings going on here at the same time as the one we went to but you really wouldn't have known it because the quality of the service we received was so good and timely.

We had dinner on the Friday night, 3 courses for £20, we ordered cheese and biscuits for dessert which the waiters kindly arranged to have transferred up to our bedroom. The wedding food was very good, vegetables not over cooked at all. Smart venue for a wedding.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Good welcome at reception and we had the nice clean rooms that we booked. Dinner which was booked as part of a package was good. Waitress was a bit scatty! But all her mistakes were quickly rectified. So far very nice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peony21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I have never stayed in a chain hotel with such pleasant attentive staff. From the moment we arrived the hotel staff were all very efficient helpful and friendly. With special mention going to reception and chambermaids staff. I would recommend this hotel either for anyone thinking of having minibreak or just stop over on way down to Southampton cruise holliday. Spacious parking for free.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Visiting family in Hedge End for the weekend so booked into this nearby hotel. Polite young lady at check in but no offer to take our bags to our room even though a young man (whom I assumed to be a porter) was leaning on the reception desk. Booked a basic room and that is what we got. Clean, reasonable size, nice view of the tennis courts but woken up early on Saturday and Sunday morning as golfers parked on the grass under our bedroom window from 7am onwards. Good, clean bathroom but no shaving/make-up mirror. Also no safe in bedroom. Good, firm mattress with sheets and blankets (rather than a duvet). Tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary bottle of water each day. Breakfast was very good. Self service for continental breakfast and waiter service for cooked breakfast. Restaurant very busy on Sunday morning but there had been a wedding on at the hotel the previous evening. Parking was tricky on the Saturday due to a golf tournament. Swimming pool quite small and full of children when we went at 6.30pm on the Saturday - even though there is a children's section available they were in the main pool making swimming lenghths impossible. Maybe the leisure club could rope off an adult only section? When we checked in we were told we had a £10 credit to be used in the hotel. We bought drinks from the bar on Saturday evening but were charged full price when we checked out on Sunday. However, once I queried the bill the £10 was deducted immediately. Overall a decent hotel for a short visit.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms where golfers will park early in the morning! We were in 324 - good room but lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrodshamSteph57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here in September en route down to the west country, usually stay at the Hilton in Southampton for these frequent trips but they were full on this occasion and this trip was added last minute, so thought I would give Macdonald Hotels a try. Overall I was happy but a few minor niggles so i'll list them and you can see what bothers you and what doesn't.

Positives:

Free Car Park
Very efficient check in, very professional staff member on arrival
Nice public areas and pleasant surroundings
Good Food
Freshly cooked hot breakfast ( particularly like this)
Well kept grounds and Gardens
Very Clean

Negatives:

Rooms are very dated, furniture very old and very dull decor
Bedroom corridor walls and doors are scratched, scuffed and dented
Bedroom Furniture is also scuffed, dented and unloved.
Swimming Pool is Tiny!
Changing Rooms are not particularly Clean

Overall

The staff are friendly and the food good but the whole place feels like it is due a refurb, not to take anything away from the hotel though, I enjoyed the stay, except the drunk 'lads' in the bar but being a golf hotel I suppose you have to accept this. It just feels like the whole place could use a re-decoration and some attention to detail.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrRedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Myself and husband spent two nights here on a rare break away without the kids. We used Tesco clubcard vouchers but upgraded for £50. Not sure it was worth the extra as although we were told by the reservations team that we would get wine, chocs and a robe. There was only a bottle of water and the robes in the room. I didn't bother to complain as the room was very nice with a lovely view of the golf course and in a quiet position. On the first night we ate in the hotel. The menu choices were very limited and my husband found portion sizes too small.but for £20 per head it was value for money. Wine and drinks v. expensive vodka and tonic and pint of lager £11.50!. Wine £23 a bottle!.
The hotel has a lovely pool area with sauna and steam room. We were told there was a no children policy after 7pm but unfortunately this was not enforced which was a little annoying as we had left OUR kids at home!. The Hotel is used as a convenient stop for Pepper Pig world which meant there were quite a few children there. However this was not a big issue. On the whole the Botley Park is a good quality corporate hotel.Staff were extremely friendly ,especially in the restaurant all were very helpful.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the upgrade!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runningwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botley
3.1 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,069 reviews
6 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Address: Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Botley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
Price Range: £67 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa is one of the finest ----four-star hotels in Southampton. Set in acres of beautiful countryside, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to Southampton airport, Eastleigh, Portsmouth and the M3, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. And if you are setting sail at the nearby port, then we're an ideal stopover destination before your exciting holiday begins. When the business or adventure of the day is done, unwind in our swimming pool or gym or thrash it out on our tennis or squash courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Botley
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Country
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing