We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Cruise stay recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wales
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Pre-Cruise stay recommended”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club was a great find. Especially after staying in Southampton some six weeks earlier in what we thought was a dreadful hotel. But then again comparing the Botley to our previous stopovers in Southampton; is like trying to compare apples to oranges. The staff employed at the Botley are all first class, the breakfast dining experience was more akin to 5 Star, and the room was lovely. We appreciated the complementary water, and loved the hand written Birthday Card left for wifey.

TIPS: (1) There is a lovely Italian restaurant in the nearby village of Botley, (2) We booked the hotel and separate parking for 8 nights with ABP (on the quayside next to the ship) for less than the price quoted by a member of staff for a cruise package at the hotel. So check out prices and compare what is offered for your money before booking a cruise package. This advice applies to all hotels in Southampton that offer cruise packages and not just the Macdonald Botley Park. Are you being offered B&B and Parking, or Dinner, B&B and Parking. Is there a shuttle service, is the shuttle service provided for both directions, is you car parked in a secure compound or an open car park where numerous other vehicles may park and move and your vehicle could be damaged. What have other travelers written about the cruise parking package at that hotel, and so on and so forth.

ADVICE FOR MANAGEMENT: (1) Tidy up your reception as the crèche feel and the parked folding bed let’s down the standard. Remember you don’t get a second first impression, (2) Barrier off the play area, so that the odds and ends stay within a compound. Items within a compound or segregated area don’t look like clutter. This would have the added benefit of ensuring that a small child does not exit the area if a parent is not paying attention, (3) Price watch ABP and other providers so that your Cruise Parking package is keenly priced, (4) Segregate and secure part of the car park for Cruise Parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    755
    436
    200
    103
See reviews for
594
798
32
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

First time I have used this hotel and would certainly use it again, really comfortable spacious rooms, slight problem with leaking shower and wash basin didn't hold the water due to leaky plug but only minor problems.
Breakfast was fantastic with a great choice of food, the bacon was really tasty and was quality meat with very little fat.
Staff very friendly and accommodating, looking forward to going back.
Leisure facilities looked good but unfortunately on this occasion didn't have time to try them out.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is one of the best maintained & well-equipped hotels I've ever stayed at.
Our room was large, with a very comfortable, large bed, a fridge & air conditioning. The lighting was less subdued than some places I've stayed & the whole thing was immaculately clean.
The massive leisure club included free use of a moderately sized pool, gym & squash & tennis courts. You also had access to any classes going on (zumba, aquacise etc). The spa staff were helpful & friendly, as were the regular members.
Breakfasts were good - variety excellent, quality OK. We didn't use the restaurant as it seemed pricey & the bar wasn't that welcoming, but ate in an excellent restaurant two minutes' drive away (The Brigadier Gerard)
The hotel is on a quiet country road, set in beautiful parkland, with a huge car park. The location is great - half way between Southampton & The New Forest & all the attractions of Portsmouth Historic Dockyard & Gunwharfe Quays Outlet Centre, with Marwell Zoo just a few minutes' drive away. We went at half term & there were loads of young families, but the hotel still seemed relatively calm & certainly we had no problems with noise in the rooms.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room & got just that, despite Half Term (though you had to walk a bit!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifytyplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked four nights here but checked out after one night.
Whilst the hotel looks great from photos and first impressions were fine, the walls and floors are paper thin.
As a result we could here conversations, movement noise etc from rooms above and each side as well as the corridor.
We were offered an upgrade to a better room and the receptionist was very pleasant however we chose to request a refund and go elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wattsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Botley hotels

england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for 1 night as part of Peppa Pig short break ,breakfast included. Lovely comfy rooms in a quiet part of the hotel. We all slept very well. There was a fridge in the room so we could put our 2.5 year old granddaughters drinks & snacks in it, plus complimentary bottled water, tea & coffee. We decided to eat in the sports bar our meal was hot and tasty and the sort of 'pub grub' one would expect in a bar. Our granddaughter ate from the 'peppa pig menu' which at a glance looked quite basic but she enjoyed it and the fact she ate free at the hotel was even better.
Staff were really friendly and helpful, very good with children and made them feel welcome. The hotel is a good 20 mins from Paultons Park but we felt that wasnt a problem because it was a lovely place and we would definitly stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

i went here for a hen do and was disappointed with the spa facilities as no jacuzzi. We then had drinks in the bar and the sevrice was poor from thr very start. We had dinner which was by far the worst meal i have ever had! Microwaved veg, horrible meat which was fatty and boney and I could'nt eat the pudding as it was rick solid. Coffee was';t included as three courses without drinks was £30!! Rip Off!! the waiters were all foreign and scruffy looking. drinks orders were nveer taken and

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freekazoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Fantastic from start to finish! We were down from Kent visiting Peppa Pig World and were made to feel so welcome! It's a lovely hotel which could seem as though children may not be welcome but they are, 100%!! There was even a childrens buffet on the Saturday evening at which our 13 month old ate for free. They are totally geared up for families visiting PP World as is evident from the welcome the children receive. A special welcome pack even for baby and Peppa pig room keys. Our 4 year old was impressed!
Throughout our stay we were made to feel so at home and nothing was too much trouble.

We didn't feel awkward at all using the pool as you might at some other similar hotels. The staff were all so lovely to our boys and indeed all of the guests.

The food was lovely and breakfast was a real treat!

One other thing that impressed me. Our eldest spilt some water on his bed on the first morning so I hung the please service our room sign on our door. The sheets were changed and all beds made etc by the time we returned from breakfast! Fabulous service!

If you are visiting PP World this hotel is a must! It's a 20 min drive to the park from there but that's part of what makes it so nice. It's nice to escape the crowds into the lovely surroundings. It didn't come up as available on the Paultons website but a quick phone call and
we had booked a family room for the dates we wanted (weekend before half term) and at a great price with the 2 for 1 park days deal.

We had a lovely room, 401 with a lovely big bed for us, a single for our eldest and cot for baby and we still had plenty of space. Perfect!

Another plus water in the room is FREE as is wifi although I did have to keep logging in. But free! A real rarity it seems these days.

We would love to stay again even if we don't make it back to PP World.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botley
1.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,023 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,737 reviews
3.2 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,662 reviews
3.8 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,012 reviews
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Property: Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Address: Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Botley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa is one of the finest ----four-star hotels in Southampton. Set in acres of beautiful countryside, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to Southampton airport, Eastleigh, Portsmouth and the M3, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. And if you are setting sail at the nearby port, then we're an ideal stopover destination before your exciting holiday begins. When the business or adventure of the day is done, unwind in our swimming pool or gym or thrash it out on our tennis or squash courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Botley
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Country
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing