We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal start for our cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Lovely place. Our room was really nice, comfortable beds and decorated in modern art deco style. This place is huge, offers more than one place to eat, bars and lounges. Staff are very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed it so much it was a shame to leave. We left our car with the hotel and as part of the deal a taxi was provided to take us to the sea port to board our cruise. They also picked us up on returning. We will stay here again and highly recommend it.

.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whinwardhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

If you planning on visiting the hotel in the future please contact us direct and ask for Jodie in reservations and I will ensure that we look after you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,809 - 1,815 of 2,246 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Family stayed here on a reasonable 'deal' over Christmas for 2 nights. They felt the hotel in parts was looking 'tired' and mentioned stained carpets. Checked for myself and this was very true. Shame as great location. Heard that Premier League footballers stayed at this hotel- not in the cheaper rooms I'd guess!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations at Botley Park we are always striving to improve our services and standards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Booked in the evening last minute and checked in at just after midnight. Reception 24hrs which was perfect and the night porter/receptionist was friendly and helpful. We were given our first room which turned out to be a twin rather than a double as booked, but one call to receptions and this was rectified within minutes.


The room was comfy and pleasant. Breakfast was excellent with a good knowledge of gluten and dairy allergies, which my girlfriend has.

The gym/spa/pool were great and the overall stay was great value for money. Would stay again!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your comments all feedback is very important to us and I have passed your comments onto the departments mentioned If you planning on visiting the hotel in the future please contact us direct

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I think this hotel was probably very nice once upon a time. Not any more. This is my second and last stay at this hotel, only returning to 'give it a second chance' after my first, less than acceptable experience a couple of weeks prior.

The hotel, outside of the main areas, is tired, unkempt and in need of investment. Woefully outdated, stained and worn carpet will lead you to your room. A cold room - you'd think in mid December the radiator might have been turned on prior to my visit.... no! A room decorated with un-sanded polyfiller, in some cases not even painted over. A room with a tired and uncomfortable bed, a stained headboard and excuses for pillows. (This latter point was brought up at my arrival after experiencing the same a coupe of weeks prior - I requested that 2 of the firmest pillows be brought to my room upon which I received the reply "go and try the ones you've got first"... oh dear..). I was pleased to find at least that the internet access is free.. but don't be fooled by the 'High Speed Internet' socket you'll find in your room.. I performed a speed test and found this to be a very pedestrian 5Mb/s on a wired LAN which by todays standards so close to a major city is poor...

The food and drink is very expensive and does not deliver on quality, that is once you can actually order it... I had to wait for the staff to end their conversation in their mother tongue before my order was taken.. the meal I had was, at best, mediocre and certainly not worthy of the price tag.

On a plus side, the leisure facilities are very well equipped with state of the art gym equipment. The staff I found to be disinterested though, verging on offensive on more than one occasion.

Housekeeping serviced my room to a good standard and Derek on reception upon checkout was polite and efficient.

On the whole I found that the hotel did not meet my expectations for quality and service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paying_Customer_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations at Botley Park we are always striving to improve our services and standards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This hotel was great. We used it with a package for parking whilst we went on a cruise. The room was lovely and the bed was comfy. It was a bit of a walk to reception but no real problem. There was a small issue with the booking of a pedicure - but was all sorted out to my advantage. Breakfast was great. The hotel is set in lovely grounds that we didn't have time to make use of - but hopefully we will stay again and have chance to explore. Robert on reception was very accommodating and is an asset to the hotel - nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Quite a walk for some rooms - request close to the facilities if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rufie1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the hotel and staff I will pass them onto the team and to Robert in particular

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed here overnight prior to cruise cannot fault the stay. All staff very pleasant room very spacious clean and comfortable. Evening meal and breakfast great food. Would stay here again without a doubt and would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Executive ground floor room very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymondo644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

If you planning on visiting the hotel in the future please contact us direct and ask for Jodie in reservations and I will ensure that we look after you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Room were excellent and a good size, beds were very comfortable, smart and tidy room with all the extras.

But the cost for restaurant food and drinks was way to high and would stop us re visiting again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vingerred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your comments all feedback is very important to us and I have passed your comments onto the departments mentioned. I am sorry that you did feel the food prices a little high however we do offer a number of dining areas to accommodate all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botley
3.1 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,239 reviews
5.5 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Botleigh Grange Hotel
Botleigh Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hedge End
844 reviews
6 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,966 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Address: Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Botley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
Price Range: £45 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa is one of the finest ----four-star hotels in Southampton. Set in acres of beautiful countryside, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to Southampton airport, Eastleigh, Portsmouth and the M3, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. And if you are setting sail at the nearby port, then we're an ideal stopover destination before your exciting holiday begins. When the business or adventure of the day is done, unwind in our swimming pool or gym or thrash it out on our tennis or squash courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Botley
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Country
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing