We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peppa Pig break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Peppa Pig break”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed two nights as part of a Peppa Pig package. I found the hotel to be very family friendly and though the child check-in, Peppa room key and activity pack were lovely touches. A baby listening service would have been good to allow us to go to dinner once the little one was asleep. As it was we had dinner in the sports bar which wasn't great - the TV was on in both sections of this bar and the food was overpriced, even by London standards (£15.00 for fish and a grand total of six chips and £7.00 for three scoops of ice-cream). The kids meals were better value. Overall the non-breakfast food was average but nothing to write home about.

The Paultons website is misleading as we weren't given a free kids drink with the Peppa Pig menu and we were charged for the childs meal (it says on the website that kids eat free if under 3 when dining with an adult).

I'd recommend the Italian in Botley village. Again not cheap but we were welcomed and they did half portions of pasta dishes for kids.

The breakfast was excellent. Lots of choice and because families were sitting in a separate section it wa more relaxing for those of us trying to control the usual toddler tantrams.

The rooms were fine - standard big chain and we found that we could fit the cot round the corner by the wardrobes to make it less likely that we would disturb our child once asleep.

Overall we had a lovely stay and the addition of a baby listening service would make it completely family friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_UKAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding Botley Park , We will check the descriptions on the third party websites to ensure that they are not misleading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    751
    427
    194
    101
See reviews for
583
790
32
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I have recently returned from a night's stay whilst visiting Peppa Pig World. Check in was smooth and my 21mth old was given her own check in with a Peppa Pig key card which actually worked! Given a room on ground floor and they had put up a travel cot for us (although I cannot remember asking for one). This was very clean! Room was plenty big enough for us and there was a complimentary bottle of water waiting. Room included fridge, iron and iron board plus tea and coffee making facilities. Had possibly one of the best nights sleep in a hotel despite my daughter waking a couple of times for a quick resettle. Husband wasn't too keen on pillows but that's personal choice. Breakfast the next morning was well organised. All families were kept in a separate area away from other diners which I loved because I was able to relax and not worry if my daughter messed about etc. breakfast consisted of continental buffet and a full English if you wanted it (portions a little small). All in all a very relaxed stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rixy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding Botley Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Berks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our group of Wednesday & Friday members of the TAGS (The Argument Golf Society) have 2 away days per season and we have started with the Botley Park Hotel for the 1st away day and night with 2 rounds of golf.
I found the staff very helpful and the rooms were clean and of a reasonable standard but no tea/coffee making facility. However this is only a small complaint as otherwise all was ok. The food in the Restaurant was good with a fair choice of cuisine. The one downfall is the price of drinks as done in all Large combines of Hotels in the World.
If you are going for the golf as well it is quite a good layout with some tricky holes and well maintained. Although we have had very wet Winter the course was in an acceptable condition.
I would have no qualms about going here again the future and enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: Although we were located on the lower floor it was good as we had no long walk to the golf club hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding Botley Park sorry you could not locate the tea and coffee facilities that are in the cupboard under the TV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My family and I had a lovely stay at Botley Park, staying one night as part of a Peppa Pig World package. The children had a very warm welcome by Robert on the front desk, and he addressed me by my name throughout our stay; a nice touch. The pool was also very welcoming, after a day of walking around the theme park, and the sports bar was a very relaxed place for dinner. The bed was very comfortable, we all had a restful night's sleep. Breakfast was delicious and the restaurant well-staffed. Overall, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slingerlud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding Botley Park the team are focused on delivering great customer service for families. If you wish to return in the future we also offer a Peppa Pig packages through the hotel website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hi

My new husband and I got married at the Botley Park hotel in March and we were not disappointed in anything that the hotel provided. The staff were friendly and polite and couldn't do enough for us both. The venue is set in beautiful surroundings and has a range of facilities.

Fiona and Brooke were the ladies that got us to the day and kept us informed of any changes through various meetings and emails and were more than happy to accommodate our needs.

Damien who ran our wedding on the day was outstanding could not fault his commitment in making our day run smoothly. He was on the ball constantly and was always there if we needed him including taking us out on the golf carts to take our photos and finding my bouquet that I thought I lost!

The food was amazing and lots of it and cooked to perfection and the staff were lovely. I would definitely without hesitation recommend anyone looking to get married in Hampshire to look here!

Thank you so much for making our day the most amazing day we had such a great day!!!

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite which had a lovely view of the grounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments we try hard to make wedding days very special I will pass your comments on to Fiona and the team.
look forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

In summary, I will not return to this hotel for the following reasons.

1. I felt vulnerable for my family after a 5am fire alarm went off and no reasonable risk assessments or procedures where carried out or followed through during or after the event.
2. I believe the welfare and safety of my family is of no concern to the hotel.
3. I have concerns that staff couldn't deal with the incident properly.
4. I feel undervalued as a customer.
5. The room i stayed in was poorly maintained, the rest of the hotel is tired.


We stayed at this hotel Wednesday to Friday last week. A visit to Peppa Pig World was the reason for our booking. We are regular users of the Macdonald chain, in Scotland particularly, so despite the stay being more expensive than other hotels locally we remained 'loyal to the brand'. I expected with Macdonald Hotels that my family would be cared for like we had many times before during our stays nationally.

Robert checked us in, he was extremely friendly to our son who remembered his name for the two nights we stayed. Well done and thank you Robert, that was a very nice start to our stay.
Our son is two years old. We had booked a triple room.

The window in our room didn't fit its aperture, so there was a gap around it that let cold air in constantly, the window stay (lock) was loose and ineffective, and the radiator in the room didn't work. We decided to have son in our bed to ensure he was kept warm during the night.

The fire alarm went off at 4:45am. No one checked to ensure we where safe, i.e. room 314 was empty and we where accounted for. The roll call was started then abandoned when the fire service pulled up at reception and we where all stood outside in very cold temperatures without any explanation or consideration for ours and everyone else's welfare. We where not told it was safe to return inside or not, at any point. We where just left to file back in gradually like sheep.

I was informed by a couple who also had their two year old daughter with them and where visiting Peppa Pig World, that the room close to them was the reason the alarm went off, triggered by smoking in the room. The smell of the cigarette gave them cause to believe it wasn't just tobacco they where smoking due to the pungent smell. I am disappointed to believe this is true, but have no reason to doubt the people who told me.

Im a worldy wise person. I am able to take care of my family in most events after looking after others in emergency situations as a job and don't complain as a rule, however, I was disturbed by the information I had been given, the lack of communication after a serious incident by the hotel and the clear lack of after care. It made me feel vulnerable, that we where in danger at the hotel because of others, and feel undervalued as a customer and guests of the hotel that our health, welfare and safety had not been given a first or even a second thought during our stay. I could have complained but decided to accept these things happen and wait for a 'note under the door' to offer reassurance. That would have been the minimum I would have expected.

When I checked out I casually asked what was the cause of the fire alarm and evacuation of the building on Wednesday night. I was told firmly 'it was for a reason, but I will not tell you what for' by a french accented receptionist. I didn't reply. It was further disappointment by the manner of her retort, the lack of diplomacy and no offer of an apology.

So. Shall I book a room at this hotel again when it appears to allow controlled drugs to be consumed in its rooms, give no regard to its customers welfare after the apparent use of cigarettes set the fire alarm off and being outside in the freezing conditions in middle of the night for approx 45 minutes, who didn't show an ounce of welfare consideration, during and after such an event?

No, I seriously and honestly couldn't risk it. My family are to precious to remain that loyal.

The lack of skill and the inability to follow basic safety procedures in taking a roll call of guests after a fire evacuation is a major concern. Communication with guests during and after such an event was poor and discouraging. When I attempted to obtain some reassurance that I had been safe in the event and during our stay by asking a reasonable question at reception, I was further dismissed and without an apology for the inconvenience to my family for the event.

The pool was nice,breakfast was good and the staff serving that where very pleasant and courteous.

Room Tip: Ground floor by a fire exit in case the fire alarm goes off again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in communication during the fire evacuation on the morning of the 10th April. Clear communication at such times is important and on this occasion we fell short in providing you with the confidence that the situation was being managed

We do take guest safety very seriously and Botley Park like all Macdonald Hotels has an agreed fire risk assessment that covers both day and night evacuation. This assessment along with staff training records and all recorded documentation in relation to maintenance and upkeep of fire related equipment is audited regularly during the year by external consultants.

We do provide clear information in all bedrooms on how to safely exit the hotel if the bells sound and this is backed up with emergency lighting, well maintained escape routes and fire resistant doors that meet the requirements of UK legalisation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Wow what a night! Had a second charity function, to be honest having attend many functions in many hotels the Botley park is a county mile ahead of its nearest competitor! Running our function was Damien, talk about on the ball! The food was hot, perfectly presented and so delicious. Bar staff were quick, helpful and attentive. This was the second year we chose this hotel, and if the prices don't rise too much I hope we will be booking again! It seems a perfect venue for any function as it seems the function rooms do not interfere with the guests and vice versa. We made a weekend of it, so around 20 do us stayed Friday and Saturday night and to be honest it was a perfect weekend. I have been to a wedding here too, this was again a very good choice. Breakfast excellent, restaurant excellent, with a more upmarket bar, and a sports bar, seem to cater for all. As I said last year, they should be very proud of their team, they are really getting so much right!!...... Can't wait to return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andiparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding Botley Park , we are very proud of the service we deliver in the conference and events area and as well as charity events we also caster for weddings , birthdays and large conference events.

I will pass your comments to Damien .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botley
6.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
3.2 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Property: Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Address: Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Botley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa is one of the finest ----four-star hotels in Southampton. Set in acres of beautiful countryside, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to Southampton airport, Eastleigh, Portsmouth and the M3, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. And if you are setting sail at the nearby port, then we're an ideal stopover destination before your exciting holiday begins. When the business or adventure of the day is done, unwind in our swimming pool or gym or thrash it out on our tennis or squash courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Botley
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Country
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing