We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy stop over before cruise from Southampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Well positioned hotel in order to reach Southampton so visited Winchester then stayed overnight, getting to Cruise terminal in about 25 minutes. Good size car park and friendly reception staff. Standard room on first floor okay but no lifts - offered assistance with luggage but did it ourselves. Comfortable enough room with view of golf course. Bed tended to slope inwards but otherwise fine. Dined in the restaurant which was perfectly fine - not outstanding, but fine as was breakfast the following morning.

Room Tip: Avoid room adjacent to fire door if possible as they can slam during the night.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiseInvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your comments I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope the cruise was fantastic too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,169)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,670 - 1,676 of 2,169 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed one night whilst attending a concert at the Ageas Bowl. I travel all over Europe with my work but rarely have I come across staff who manage to balance being personable and interested in my reason for staying without becoming over familiar. The Head Receptionist (Robert I think) was friendly and helpful booking a taxi to the concert and explaining our best way to get back easily. The afternoon tea full fully booked but he arranged for us to have some since one table had been vacated and the waiting staff made us hugely welcome despite us causing them more work and chef having to make more sandwiches. The staff at breakfast were equally as attentive and charming.
We had a room overlooking the 1st golf tee which was clean and quiet with a very comfy bed. There was a wedding party in the hotel the same evening and we were concerned that late night revelling might keep us up but our fears never materialised.
On reading past reviews I'm glad that there were no Peppa Pig packages that we were aware of when we stayed although there were children around and we didn't try to use the pool. However, we were never 'bothered' by children and we did breakfast fairly early so maybe we just missed them.
All in all, thank you for a fantastic, quality yet friendly stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay, we have changed our policy with regards to the level of children and I glad this was evident . If you would like to return in the future please contact the hotel direct and ask for Jodie in reservations who will more than happy to ensure we accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We always head for Botley Park Hotel if we are in the Southampton area and have enjoyed many visits....until this one. We booked in for 2 night and we really didn't expect the amount of Children charging around screaming in the foyer.
We expected, as on previous visits to have a lovely relaxing peaceful breakfast and a peaceful few days away. The amount of squawking children was really annoying.

The bar wasn't much better, it was so busy, with only 1 member of staff trying to cope with drinks orders taking food orders and then delivering the food, we gave up in the end.

I understand you have to cater for families, but this Pepper Pig thing doesn't gel well with golfers and people wanting a relaxing time away. It is with sadness I have to say that we won't be back and will have to find another hotel that doesn't cater for the pepper pig kids.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiniThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your comments I am sorry that you felt the mix of families and other guests was not what you would expect however during holidays the area is very busy with families visiting for attractions and we do limit the amount of family business we take.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a Peppa Pig World break.
The hotel is everything you would expect from a 4* hotel, but I think that it is trying to cater for several different markets at the same time and I don't think it really works as it is.
Middle aged golfers don't really mix with 2-8yr olds and they have different needs.
They have a great service for the children; they can check in at their own Peppa Pig check in desk and get their own Peppa pig room key and an activity pack. Superb! But wehn it come to the evening meal when the golfing couples want a quiet meal, (and the quality of the food is excellent), the last thing you want is a load of kids having dinner at the same time. The portion sizes for the kids was pretty small as well. We thought kids meals were free when ordered with a main meal, but it turns out that if you are 3 or less that's when you get a free meal, so we were disappointed that our 5 year old's meal was £4.50 for tomato soup and 3 small slices of pizza.
In my opinion, the should have a separate, less fussy dining area for families with a more basic food offering, which would separate the golfers from the Peppa Pig people, which seems to be the biggest bone of contention leading to poor reviews on Tripadvisor.
Breakfasts superb, and cooked to order, service excellent, pool good, just the dinner arrangements let it down.

Room Tip: Peppa Pig vistors seem to be in a separate wing in rooms 401-410, which can be overlooked by the gol...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your comments I am sorry that you did not have a great experience, we have amended our family room policy since you stayed during the first half term of the year .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great hotel, majority of staff excellent, rooms more than adequate. Usual expensive food and drink but that's what you get at this type of hotel.
Huge problem is the Peppa Pig World package marketed with this hotel, which results in dozens of under 5's roaming the hotel. The pool will be full of children, the bar will be full of youngsters grizzling and screaming, breakfast will be the same. Now its a great idea to do a theme park package for the kids but NOT in a Spa/Golf break type hotel. It was literally how I imagine staying at Butlins would be.
If you want a relaxing break look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exiles89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy you recent visit to botley park.

Botley Park is a family friendly hotel and we get many positive comments from families , couple and groups.

We do not in any way advertise that we are adult only, Botley park is a large hotel and can
accommodate all the different markets together

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

On arrival we were shown to our table (a strange combination of low table and sofa/chairs) Served our champagne and waited quite a while for the food to arrive. This wasn't a big problem as it gave us (6 friends) a chance to chat. When the food arrived it was wonderful! One of the best afternoon tea's I have had with regard to the food.
The reason I gave this a rating of 'very good' instead of 'excellent' was because we had to ask for more tea, coffee and cream. I'm not a big fan of being harassed when I'm eating but to be offered another drink would have been good.
Hotel and facilities were clean and fairly up to date.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your comments on our Afternoon Tea, we have recently changes our standards and I am glad you enjoyed it. I will pass your comments on to Amy our Pastry Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Mid week business trip, got there at 5pm for a one night stay, reception packed big que of families, lots if kids running wild, 20 mins to book in.
Room was a long way from reception but very pleasant, nicely furnished and a good size, everything you would expect from a McDonald's hotel.
How ever the bar had a huge que, no seating left because of all the children, golfers bar the same, nowhere to sit, I was told it was because of "peppa pig land".
Crazy this is a golf resort that has turned its self into crèche.
I will not be returning, the food was poor, service in the restaurant was slow, and breakfast was not much better.
I was a business man traveling alone and was apparently invisible to the staff who were running after families & children.
The beer was also very expensive !

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We are a family friendly hotel and over certain times during the summer and bank holidays we do a few extra children, in March this year we did experience a greater number of children than normal.

we have reviewed this as a management team and have set processes in place to ensure that when the hotel reaches a certain family occupancy we adapt our facilities like offering a business breakfast area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botley
3.2 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,142 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
5.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Address: Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Botley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
Price Range: £62 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa is one of the finest ----four-star hotels in Southampton. Set in acres of beautiful countryside, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to Southampton airport, Eastleigh, Portsmouth and the M3, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. And if you are setting sail at the nearby port, then we're an ideal stopover destination before your exciting holiday begins. When the business or adventure of the day is done, unwind in our swimming pool or gym or thrash it out on our tennis or squash courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Botley
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Country
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing