We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at the hotel. Very quiet, nice room, excellent breakfast and very friendly staff. Well located for the surrounding countryside. We only had one evening meal and it was very good with exceptional service from a Portuguese waiter. The gym was really good along with all the facilities. Highly recommended and my Wife loved it as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John1152013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your comments, I will pass your thanks over to Jose in the restaurant, he's a great member of the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    744
    420
    189
    97
See reviews for
577
781
31
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed last Saturday night to be in close proximity to a party, like to stay in older, more characterful places if possible but not on this occasion. Hotel is a modern build, full of golfers. I wasn't particularly looking forward to the hotel which I felt was a shame but was very pleasantly surprised to rediscover the known quantity of a MacDonald room. This is our 4th Macdonald in 18 months and I now know why I quite like them! It was not cheap at £145 but it made a lovely trip even nicer. Room was lovely, the outside terrace of the bar was full of golfers enjoying the 19th tee, there was a lovely ambience. Staff on reception were ace, only gripe I can think of is the foreign bar staff in the golfers bar - my Pimms really was a Pimms and lemonade - nothing else! Walked around to driving range and around the grounds to find a Bollywood wedding spilling out on to the lawn. What a mix, what a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your comments, I will of course investigate the Pimms issue with the Bars manager as this is not acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashford kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

stayed here with a party of 20 ,had heard that they are going to build on the course, so was concerned if the staff would be too worried about service?
we booked in with no trouble, lovely rooms and clean, plenty of room, four star without a doubt.
the food was a little bit on the poor side, after golf we really wanted some filling food, instead got a la carte, very small portions, and to be honest not that tasty. breakfast was fine, good choice and good service.
people had said that pepper pig had influenced the hotel and that there would be lots of children running amock, only a few on our trip, and did not bother us at all !
the golf course was excellent, well kept, and the greens fast, i am a 8 handicapper, but found the course challenging, but playable to my handicap. the front nine quite long, the back nine a much nicer challenge.
the only downside on the trip was the price of drinks and food in bars, very very expensive £12 fir a club sandwhich, and £4:50 for a bacon roll, beer and wine too were way of the top.
we would usually have drunk quite heavily but this trip we kept the amount right down.
the hotel lost a lot if business from this, as we found it cheaper to go to shops down the road, and get food and dronk to take out on course, and to eat in rooms.
leisure facilities good, but a fety small swimming pool.
all in all, not a bad little break, would recommend, but will not be returning, better value for money a lot closer to home, but dont let this stop you if you want to give it a go, just watch the prices !

Room Tip: get your food and drink elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevanlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your comments I will ensure your comments are fed back to the central team regarding the pricing policy. The golf course is playing amazing at the moment and the greens team are doing a great job
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here with family on a paultons park break. Hotel made a nice check in for the children and they were given a bag with coloring books, crayons etc which was a nice touch. Rooms were clean, spacious and very comfortable. Hotel has a swimming pool which was fun for the family. Towels and lockers are provided. Breakfast was very good, service a little slow but we were not in a hurry and expected this. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Drinks and food at the hotel are expensive not sure why they have to charge over and above pub prices. However there are many family friendly pubs around so no need to worry.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your comments I will ensure your comments are fed back to the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed as part of the Peppa Pig package..... the hotel room was lovely (I'd give it a 5 star) - it was an feature double which was plenty big enough for 2 adults and a toddler. The bathroom had a bath and shower (helpful with children) and the decor was fresh and tasteful. I have high expectations when it comes to hotels having stayed in some really nice ones - and this room was good. Unfortunately the hotel was let down by its service and food. It was a busy weekend (large wedding and clearly lots of other guests too) but taking an hour to deliver some additional pilows to the room wasn't acceptable in my opinion for a 4 start hotel. The second area which disappointed was the food - based on previous reviews we decided not to eat in the restaurant in the evening (we went into Botley) but we did have breakfast in the morning. The cooked breakfast was cold... not tepid.... actually cold - bacon, sausage everything apart from some boiling hot beans which had clearly been microwaved before serving. I gave up on the idea of a cooked breakfast and had something from the buffet but my husband asked for another (a hot one!)... the second arrived quickly but was tepid at best... an improvement but still not acceptable for a 4 star hotel. The rest of the bufet was very average... pastries which didn't feel that fresh.... lots of tinned fruit etc....

There are a few reviews saying don't stay here for a relaxing weekend... I'd agree (thats not what we were there for though!). There are some large conference rooms so large weddings plus lots of families don't provide the backdrop for a relaxing weekend. Thats not a criticism of the hotel though as you can't appeal to everyone.... for big parties and families its good. They just need to sort the service and food and it could be a super hotel.

Room Tip: Feature double was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in standards of service experienced on this occasion. As I am sure you are aware, this is not the usual standard of hospitality we would wish to offer our guests and I am very sorry your expectations were not met. Indeed, it is rare to receive negative feedback regarding the hotel, especially relating to the quality of food and especially the breakfast offering. we are a family fereidnly hotle over certain weeks of the year which mainly cover the school holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed for two nights. Good quiet room. Air-con did not work properly on second day but it was fixed, though not immediately. Enjoyed breakfast and dinner. Food very tempting and delicious. I have stayed in this hotel many times over the years and it has never been a disappointment. Good friendly service, a credit to Macdonald Hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowsaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night as part of the Peppa Pig package. The Peppa pig goody bag is great for children. Our daughter did not receive a Peppa pig key card (as stated in other reviews) which is a shame as she would've really enjoy it. Our room was clean and spacious with facilities to make tea & coffee. Nice flat screen TV. Complimentary bottle of water was lovely.
We had a meal in the bar & although I initially didn't receive my meal when my husband & daughter did the lovely member of staff at the bar was on the ball & got my meal to me as soon as possible & she, along with the lady who served the meal, was very apologetic. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals & thought the price was very reasonable for the quality of the food. Breakfast is delicious with a serve yourself continental followed by cooked breakfast if you want it. They offer children hot chocolate too which again is a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Very sorry that your daughter did not receive the Botley Peppa Pig welcome. If you could E-mail your address to anzelica at
recmgr.34@macdonaldhotels.co.uk we will send her a nice surprise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botley
6.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
3.2 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Property: Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Address: Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Botley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa is one of the finest ----four-star hotels in Southampton. Set in acres of beautiful countryside, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to Southampton airport, Eastleigh, Portsmouth and the M3, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. And if you are setting sail at the nearby port, then we're an ideal stopover destination before your exciting holiday begins. When the business or adventure of the day is done, unwind in our swimming pool or gym or thrash it out on our tennis or squash courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Botley
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Country
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing