We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for overnight stay, could be more family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel as part of a Paultons Theme Park package. Overall it was good value for money on a 2 park entry days for 1 offer.
Check in was prompt and polite, the children being checked in themselves with a Peppa Pig activity pack was a nice touch.
We stayed in room 101 (!) which was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. A z-bed was provided for our little girl which was perfectly comfortable. Air conditioning kept us cool on a warm night and the water pressure for the shower was good. Tea, coffee and biscuits were provided in the room although the fridge was not switched on but this was just a little gripe.
After a long journey and a day of fun at Paultons we were tired so decided to eat at the hotel. We were a little early for the restaurant so decided to sit in the bar area of the foyer for 10mins and buy a round of drinks. 2 course set menu was £23pp. My husband who is accustomed to staying in London hotels for business found the female bar tender a little rude as he was advised to move the children to the sports lounge - the children in our party, two girls were sitting nicely colouring in their activity packs so were not causing any nuisance to the empty bar. The maitre'd then appeared from the restaurant and asked if we wanted to book a table but quickly added that we might be more comfortable in the sports lounge where the children could run around and watch TV (let me add we aren't people who just plonk our children in front of the box just to keep them quiet). We felt that perhaps we werent wanted in the restaurant so decided to move to the sports lounge without argument as it had been a long day - this essentially felt like a wide corridor with tables and chairs in, we had to combine two sets to accommodate us. Carpets were taped down with parcel tape in places, empty display cabinets, very featureless with the rattan furniture looking a bit tired. We ordered our food from the bar menu and after a very long wait the food arrived. The burger, fish and ham and egg were all nice, the homecut chips on all plates were all undercooked - not unpleasant to us but not to everyone's taste. The children opted for fish fingers and chips (fries), both of which were undoubtedly processed shop bought and not freshly made.
There was at least a 30minute wait between our children's plates being taken away and the bowl of 2 scoops of ice cream arriving - it was not busy there was one other family in the lounge. The waiter Karol was friendly, polite and helpful.
Overnight, we all slept quite well. There was a large gap under the door which meant the movement-activated lights in the corridor would flood the room with light on occasion.
Breakfast was simple, choices of continental or full English certainly no thrills but to put it in context if it wasn't included in your room package you would have to pay £18pp for it - not worth it.
Quick checkout, the invoice is pushed under your door overnight and you can just sign it and put it in a box in reception.
Overall, Ok experience but when we visit Paultons again (which I'm sure we will) we will visit another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouLouIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your constructive comments I will ensure they are fed back to the relevant departmental managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,169)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,640 - 1,646 of 2,169 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed at Botley park hotel for 3 weeks with my company. I was there on a bed and dinner board basis. The staff were excellent! Went out of their way to help and did what they could to make me feel at home. The staff are the saving grace for this hotel as the food is a huge let down for a 4 star hotel and a rosette award restaurant.

The facilities are good, clean and well maintained. The rooms are big and comfortable but just a bog standard hotel room nothing special.

Food on the other hand was awful! Sausages and mash cost £15 and it was instant mash reheated sausages from breakfast which were tiny and on one occasion not microwaved very well as they were still cold in the middle. It came with 3 sausages and gravy which tasted like it was from gravy granules.
The fish and chips were oily and very often over cooked and the hand cut chips often still slightly hard in the centre.
The steak if you ask for it medium rare comes either well done or raw and cold.
The vegetables consist of 5 varieties carrots, broccoli, cauliflower and green beans and potatoes.

Now to breakfast, it's a continental buffet with a good selection of cereals, fruit, meats and cheeses. He cooked breakfast was awful the black pudding was greasy. Poached eggs were hard boiled or uncooked. Very salty bacon and the same sausages for dinner. The toast was always cold when it came from the kitchen as well.
Croissants were nice though as was the fresh melon. All the other fruit was tinned so very sweet.
The porridge is bland and has a wall paper glue consistency.

When large groups arrived they reverted to orange juice from concentrate and not fresh juice as I assume it assured more profits for the hotel.

If you want some good food head into Botley and have a roast at the bugle for £8.95 it was delicious and fresh!

Great hotel to stay in if you are planning on eating out elsewhere. Like I said previously the staff are excellent the facilities are great it's just the food that let's them down.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Viran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in standards of service experienced on this occasion. As I am sure you are aware, this is not the usual standard of hospitality we would wish to offer our guests and I am very sorry your expectations were not met. Indeed, it is rare to receive negative feedback regarding the hotel, especially relating to the quality of food and especially the breakfast offering. Just for the record we do not use instant mash , tinned fruit all ingredients are carefully sourced and we are very proud of our food province

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We took my parents away over my birthday for a short break. The hotel and the staff were exceptional and we had a truly relaxing time in a super environment. On Monday we stayed in the hotel for a three course evening meal which was faultless. The staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and attend to your every need. The rooms are spacious and the beds exceptionally comfortable. We visited several National Trust properties within the area and spent our last day in Winchester.
For a relaxing break, a qualtiy hotel, wonderful food and staff who really care this hotel rates very highly. Dont be put off by the modern facade/exterior, what is offered inside is a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan7757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your positive comments, If you would like to return in the future please contact anzelica at
recmgr.34@macdonaldhotels.co.uk who will ensure we look after you and your party

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at the hotel. Very quiet, nice room, excellent breakfast and very friendly staff. Well located for the surrounding countryside. We only had one evening meal and it was very good with exceptional service from a Portuguese waiter. The gym was really good along with all the facilities. Highly recommended and my Wife loved it as well.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John1152013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, I will pass your thanks over to Jose in the restaurant, he's a great member of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed last Saturday night to be in close proximity to a party, like to stay in older, more characterful places if possible but not on this occasion. Hotel is a modern build, full of golfers. I wasn't particularly looking forward to the hotel which I felt was a shame but was very pleasantly surprised to rediscover the known quantity of a MacDonald room. This is our 4th Macdonald in 18 months and I now know why I quite like them! It was not cheap at £145 but it made a lovely trip even nicer. Room was lovely, the outside terrace of the bar was full of golfers enjoying the 19th tee, there was a lovely ambience. Staff on reception were ace, only gripe I can think of is the foreign bar staff in the golfers bar - my Pimms really was a Pimms and lemonade - nothing else! Walked around to driving range and around the grounds to find a Bollywood wedding spilling out on to the lawn. What a mix, what a nice place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, I will of course investigate the Pimms issue with the Bars manager as this is not acceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

stayed here with a party of 20 ,had heard that they are going to build on the course, so was concerned if the staff would be too worried about service?
we booked in with no trouble, lovely rooms and clean, plenty of room, four star without a doubt.
the food was a little bit on the poor side, after golf we really wanted some filling food, instead got a la carte, very small portions, and to be honest not that tasty. breakfast was fine, good choice and good service.
people had said that pepper pig had influenced the hotel and that there would be lots of children running amock, only a few on our trip, and did not bother us at all !
the golf course was excellent, well kept, and the greens fast, i am a 8 handicapper, but found the course challenging, but playable to my handicap. the front nine quite long, the back nine a much nicer challenge.
the only downside on the trip was the price of drinks and food in bars, very very expensive £12 fir a club sandwhich, and £4:50 for a bacon roll, beer and wine too were way of the top.
we would usually have drunk quite heavily but this trip we kept the amount right down.
the hotel lost a lot if business from this, as we found it cheaper to go to shops down the road, and get food and dronk to take out on course, and to eat in rooms.
leisure facilities good, but a fety small swimming pool.
all in all, not a bad little break, would recommend, but will not be returning, better value for money a lot closer to home, but dont let this stop you if you want to give it a go, just watch the prices !

Room Tip: get your food and drink elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevanlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your comments I will ensure your comments are fed back to the central team regarding the pricing policy. The golf course is playing amazing at the moment and the greens team are doing a great job

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here with family on a paultons park break. Hotel made a nice check in for the children and they were given a bag with coloring books, crayons etc which was a nice touch. Rooms were clean, spacious and very comfortable. Hotel has a swimming pool which was fun for the family. Towels and lockers are provided. Breakfast was very good, service a little slow but we were not in a hurry and expected this. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Drinks and food at the hotel are expensive not sure why they have to charge over and above pub prices. However there are many family friendly pubs around so no need to worry.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your comments I will ensure your comments are fed back to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botley
3.2 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,142 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
5.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Address: Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Botley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
Price Range: £62 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa is one of the finest ----four-star hotels in Southampton. Set in acres of beautiful countryside, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to Southampton airport, Eastleigh, Portsmouth and the M3, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. And if you are setting sail at the nearby port, then we're an ideal stopover destination before your exciting holiday begins. When the business or adventure of the day is done, unwind in our swimming pool or gym or thrash it out on our tennis or squash courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Botley
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Country
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing