We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome surprise”
Review of Wivenhoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wivenhoe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wivenhoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Despite the slightly overly formal and slightly distant welcome from the reception staff (nothing welcomes a guest as much as a nice smile) my partner and I were delighted with the hotel's facilities, cost, location and staff.

We left it too late to try and book a table in the Brasserie and the more formal Signatures restaurants, but front of house staff were incredibly helpful in suggesting and booking a town centre restaurant (and taxi) for us. Couldn't have helped more!

As for the room. In the new wing directly above the Brasserie (on a night when Christmas parties were booked in there), overlooking the University of Essex's sports field and our room was very quiet. The facilities and decor in the room were fantastic and the iMac was very useful indeed. Beautiful coffee maker and a shower to die for. Top top top value!!

Breakfast was good (but not great) and staff were clearly still being trained, but the service we received was excellent. Again, slightly stiff, but very efficient.

We have recommended Wivenhoe to our friends and will continue to do so. Combined with a trip to Mersea and Constable country this could almost be a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonian1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

We spent the weekend there and it was really very good. The room was spotless, bed comfortable, huge bathroom, great service, wonderful food, totally fault free.

We ate in both restaurants but for a culinary experience have a meal in the Signature Restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheScotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is ideal for family and friends visiting students of the university of Essex. It is situated right next to the campus, it is very clean, the rooms are very comfortable and the food is delicious. We found it difficult to navigate around the hotel as there are few signs so we had to ask members of staff several times for directions. We also had awful service at breakfast - the staff were not friendly and forgotten a couple of our orders.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraE04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We flew down from the Highlands for a one night stay to celebrate a friend's birthday. What an experience! We stayed in the Hotel Exclusive suite - just incredible. One of the nicest rooms I have stayed in; original exposed beams over the (enormous) bed, table and chairs overlooking the lovely gardens and a bathroom to die for. We ate in the cellar, the chef's tasting menu with matched wine. An extraordinary meal. Paul the Head Chef is a truly remarkable chef and an extremely nice man, taking the time to talk to us about his menu, kitchens and passion for food. This hotel is an amazing place and its hard to believe it's a training school for the hospitality industry. The students work alongside professionals creating a fantastic atmosphere of luxury and attention to detail. It's not hard to see why Wivenhoe is rated #1 after just a few months. Truly superb. Thanks to Steven, General Manager, and all the team. We will be back!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank janey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I spent two nights there this week, the service and attention to detail was exceptional. The Hotel is based at the University of Essex but with its own space on a beautiful campus. My room was very comfortable and quiet with a great fully tea tray which is always very welcome !. The hotel features students working in a real hotel environment but the service could not be more exceptional, I ate in both restaurants and the food was fantastic and great value for money.First impressions are always vital and the Hotel has an open reception which is really welcoming no barrier reception counter for this hotel and this sets the scene for a friendly yet highly professional experience.If your visit is for a special occasion then you must book into Signatures restaurant for a dinner experience that you won't forget for all the right reasons.I can't imagine anyone who goes there will not be impressed by the whole experience and you will certainly be looking forward to your next stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

A very warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere hit us as soon as we walked in to check in, and this atmosphere continued throughout the duration of our long weekend break. We stayed in the grade II listed part of the hotel in one on the suites, and was very comfortable and spacious. I understand it was a considerable amount invested for the refurbishment, but whatever the cost, it was certainly money well spent, and we are certainly looking forward to a return visit. All the staff were very attentive, and couldn't do more for us, and the food in the brasserie was superb. I will even go as far to say that the burger (with the works) and triple fried chips which I enjoyed one lunchtime, has to be the tastiest burger I have ever experienced. It is unusual that the quality of hotels live up to the photos featured on their website or booking sites, but Wivenhoe House certainly did, and we are very excited for our 2nd visit next year.

Room Tip: All rooms look fabulous in their own way, but if you are able to, I certainly recommend experiencing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This really was the perfect end to our holiday. We felt completely relaxed and welcomed, nothing was too much trouble. The feeling that you were 'at home' was a complete delight. Friendly, knowlegable staff - without pretention.
The rooms are comfortable and good value and the food is Fabulous, with prices to match. Everthing in the rooms you could need, coffee machine, bottled water, tea, shortbread and in the bathroom high quality products and loads of hot water - perfect for a long hot soak at the end of a tiring trip - FABULOUS complete with a cosy bathrobe afterwards to curl up on the sofa with a gin and tonic - superb.
The concept of students studying and learning while working is testament to the confidence of the Management and Educational teams in this new enterprising venture. The hospitality industry should take note of the excellent work being undertaken here to invest in the provision of high quality service throughout this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't just stay for one night. Splash out on one of the larger rooms you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wivenhoe
9.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
570 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
2.1 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#3 of 23 in Colchester
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
9.1 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wivenhoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wivenhoe House

Address: Wivenhoe Park | Colchester, Wivenhoe, Colchester CO4 3SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Wivenhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wivenhoe
Price Range: £82 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wivenhoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-opened in June 2012 after a £10 Million refurbishment, Wivenhoe House Hotel is a 17th Century country house, which is also home to the Edge Hotel School. Students at the school work alongside professionals, as they study for their degree in Hotel Management. There are 40 rooms, 16 in the main house and 24 in the more modern garden wing. The brasserie offers breakfast lunch and dinner daily, and afternoon tea is served in the drawing room daily. The panoramic views over the wooded parkland tot he University of Essex, are stunning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wivenhoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wivenhoe House Hotel Colchester
Wivenhoe Hotel Colchester
Wivenhoe House Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing