We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wivenhoe House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
GreyFriars(Colchester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blue Ivy Hotel(Colchester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Colchester)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveller rating
481
183
54
37
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
183
54
37
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaessex universityhotel managementsandwichesbrasserie restaurantnew wingan appleold housethe main housemacaroonscoffee machineconstable suitebeautiful roomgarden wingwaiting staffsunday lunchno air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
717 - 722 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I was surprised and pleased to discover this hotel by chance when I was researching where to stay in the area on the internet, we first stayed when it had just reopened in late august 2012. After reading that it was in fact a hotel run by students I was quite intrigued to see how things would be.
We ended up staying 3 times over the period of 3 or 4 weeks and each time it was a pleasure, the place is fantastically clean, the design is simple yet quite elegant in the main older building and then complimented by a rather modern addition in the new wing which has a very well put together interior to the rooms. The student staff are friendly and eager to please and the manager, a french chap I forgot the name of is a really nice guy who made our stay that extra bit special.
The food was quite outstanding, quite a rarity in this part of Essex. All in all we had a very pleasant time in this hotel and I plan on staying here every time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Have a look at the options, they are mostly different and have some quirky things going on that will suit different tastes,
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHuskyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We recently enjoyed an anniversary lunch at Wivenhoe House Brasserie. The quality of the food from an extensive and tempting menu was wonderful and the service was faultless. Reception staff were most welcoming and helpful. The venue is magnificent having recently been totally refurbished and the value for money was excellent. We would highly recommend this restaurant and will certainly be returning soon. We did find the parking to be a bit confusing and it would have been helpful to have been informed when booking that parking permits were available at reception. This in no way detracted from a memorable first experience of Wivenhoe House.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacobCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The rooms in the hotel are really huge and beautiful. We stayed in the Portico room which has excellent view from the windows. Unfortunately, maybe the hotel is too new, some gadgets are not really working including phones not working between guest rooms, wireless keyboard to the TV; still couldn't be fixed at checkout after 2 nights.

Superb but slow serving breakfast in the Brasserie.

A few strange things that extremely small wash basin despite a huge bathroom and the lifts are not allowed to be used by guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We recently had afternoon tea at Wivenhoe House whilst visiting staying guests. What a find. Wivenhoe House is a unique concept in as much as it is a four star country house hotel which incorporates a training school for future industry managers. The students train alongside professionals, it has been so cleverly done that you are hard pressed to differentiate between the students and their mentors. The hotel mixes old country house charm with a modern garden wing. It shouldn't work but it does, very well. We had a brief tour of some of the rooms in the old house and the modern wing and they are all very well appointed with quality fittings and furniture including Apple Macs! Our Christmas themed afternoon tea was served in the brasserie. A three tiered stand for each person. The first tier had four dainty sandwiches with a variety of fillings on superb homemade bread. The second tier was devoted to apple and cinnamon scones with Tiptree jam and a zingy homemade lemon curd and clotted cream along with a glass of mulled cider. The top tier was like a plate of jewells. Mini Orange profiteroles, a wonderful mince pie with a meringue peak, quality street mini macaroons and the most beautiful individual iced christmas cake and ginger bread house. The whole tea was visually stunning and almost a shame to eat! A good choice of teas was offered by the friendly and efficient members of staff, the only minor complaint was that no Earl Grey could be located. A nice touch was the executive chef stopping by at our table for a chat on the way through the restaurant. With different seasonal twists, afternoon tea at Wivenhoe House could well become a regular guilty pleasure!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leapingferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Despite the slightly overly formal and slightly distant welcome from the reception staff (nothing welcomes a guest as much as a nice smile) my partner and I were delighted with the hotel's facilities, cost, location and staff.

We left it too late to try and book a table in the Brasserie and the more formal Signatures restaurants, but front of house staff were incredibly helpful in suggesting and booking a town centre restaurant (and taxi) for us. Couldn't have helped more!

As for the room. In the new wing directly above the Brasserie (on a night when Christmas parties were booked in there), overlooking the University of Essex's sports field and our room was very quiet. The facilities and decor in the room were fantastic and the iMac was very useful indeed. Beautiful coffee maker and a shower to die for. Top top top value!!

Breakfast was good (but not great) and staff were clearly still being trained, but the service we received was excellent. Again, slightly stiff, but very efficient.

We have recommended Wivenhoe to our friends and will continue to do so. Combined with a trip to Mersea and Constable country this could almost be a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonian1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews