We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Wivenhoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wivenhoe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wivenhoe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked a king balcony room at the cost of £185 for BB to have a nice relaxing break. The room itself was nice, but we couldn't use the balcony as there was a wedding below us and guests were directly below the balcony - they could see us sitting on the bed and we could see them, we had to keep all the doors and windows closed because of the noise from the music and guests. It got worse between 11pm and 1 am we were disturbed by other guests who thought it was a good idea to stand in the hall talking and laughing and then allow the door to bang shut (door closers need looking at as they make a really loud noise). We ate in the brasserie and the food was ok- my steak was good quality and cooked nicely. Throughout our stay the staff were enthusiastic and courteous, they were trying hard but it was obvious they were inexperienced. The hotel was very clean throughout. However there is no way they can justify charging £185 for one nights stay when you compare to what other hotels are offering in terms of facilites - spa etc., service and quality of food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jds182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time and writing an online review. I have read your feedback with interest and have discussed details of your comments with the senior management team. I can only apologise for the noise disturbance that you experienced during your stay with us. I trust that one of our deputy managers has already been following up this matter with you. We value every individual customer coming through our doors and the team and myself are looking forward to seeing you back in Essex at some point in the near future. Regards, Damir Terzic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    143
    46
    32
    10
See reviews for
111
269
10
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Me and wife were very lucky to find such a gem of a hotel. Very clean. highly professional and friendly staff the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Tasty food. brilliant service. the most amazing view from our room. Would love to return again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Adam,

thanks ever so much for posting a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we managed to create some memorable moments for you. Your comments will be shared with the entire team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to Essex. Regards, Damir Terzic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed there the night before a sport event in Colchester. The room was immaculate and the bathroom very convenient. We really liked the way the media center was organised around a Mac Computer - very smart. The food was good as well, with a special recommendation for the grilled kipper for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenAndJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and posting an online review. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will help raise the morale of the team. We very much look forward to your next visit to Essex. Regards, Damir Terzic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here in September 2013 for my sister's wedding and what a wonderful job they did. The rooms are surprisingly larger than expected and very up to date including a iMac in my room for both computer usage and movies etc. The staff could not do enough for us and made sure we had everything we needed. They were polite professional and worked hard late into the night for the wedding reception and were still up at the crack of dawn the next day serving breakfast. Personally I've travelled a lot and found the food to be fine. Just to give a few personal mentions of staff who went above and beyond; Lisa, Sofie, Luke, Emma, George and Sasha, you were all awesome and made my sister's day perfect. Thank you for your hard work and good luck in all your future endeavors.

Room Tip: Depending what you like, the older building has a lot of charm and character, the newer section has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Andy,

thank you very much for taking the time and writing an online review after your sister's wedding. I am delighted to read you had such an enjoyable time with us and will certainly share your comments with the entire team. We very much look forward to seeing you back in the near future. Regards, Damir Terzic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Spent just one night here on business. The hotel is unusually positioned within the grounds of the university of Essex.... Though it is set away from the main campus overlooking the cricket field. Magnificent building which is a relaxing haven after a long journey. Rooms are individually themed and beautifully appointed. Very comfortable bed and the building was very quiet . Excellent food and drink in lovely surroundings . The staff were excellent !
Will definately come back !

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Colin,

thank you very much for taking the time out of your diary and writing an online review. I am delighted you very much enjoyed your overall experience with us. Your feedback will certainly help boost the morale of the entire team which is much appreciated. We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Damir Terzic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here back in January and would definately return. The rooms were beautiful and catered for all of our needs. There was even a Mac computer with access to the Internet, TV and Radio.

I requested an iron which was brought up straight away with a board. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful!

Would definately recommend!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank missbettyems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us back in January. Your comments will be very encouraging feedback for the entire team and we very much look forward to seeing you back. Regards, Damir Terzic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

You will hear the phrase ' I am sorry' a lot at this hotel training hotel.

The staff are all very friendly students learning on the job... very well trained in apologizing for the food, the dirty windows of the room, the cobwebs... sorry!

Do not eat in the Brasserie, the prices are from London but the food is from amateurs using us as lab rats.

To start I had the asparagus with a poached egg that was full of vinegar, then the roast chicken, I could not eat the overcooked vegetables (sent them back only for them to arrive when I had finished with the dessert!) which was an apple and strawberry crumble that could best be described as stewed fruit with a sprinkling of muesli on top.

I made the mistake in the morning of having scrambled eggs... which I cannot describe... other than a watery, chewy, tasteless... blob!

But what can you say to a student who has been saying sorry all morning... its not her fault!

So its a great manor house and lovely gardens location, stunning from the outside but poorly refurbished communal areas in the main house (stay in the modern block - hopefully they will clean the windows so you can see the beautiful gardens)... just don't eat the food unless you want to pay £100 (including wine) for 2 to be test dummies!

They did knock off £9 for the inconvenience of no vegetables... and said sorry!

Stick to the afternoon tea!... sorry!

Room Tip: modern block overlooking the garden. Do not ask for 101 unless you are disabled and need wheelchair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S7eph3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time and writing an online review following your visit to Wivehoe House. I am very disappointed to read your feedback and can assure you that the team will certainly take your feedback very seriously. Your comments about your dining experience will certainly be shared with our kitchen team and I can only apologise if we did not meet our usually very high standards but also your expectations. I do hope you will give us a second chance with a repeat visit, to prove our ambition of providing an excellent customer experience paired with world class education, at some point in the future. Regards, Damir Terzic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wivenhoe
9.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
519 reviews
2.1 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
140 reviews
2.5 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
285 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
22.3 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wivenhoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wivenhoe House

Property: Wivenhoe House
Address: Wivenhoe Park, Wivenhoe, Colchester CO4 3SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Wivenhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wivenhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wivenhoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-opened in June 2012 after a £10 Million refurbishment, Wivenhoe House Hotel is a 17th Century country house, which is also home to the Edge Hotel School. Students at the school work alongside professionals, as they study for their degree in Hotel Management. There are 40 rooms, 16 in the main house and 24 in the more modern garden wing. The brasserie offers breakfast lunch and dinner daily, and afternoon tea is served in the drawing room daily. The panoramic views over the wooded parkland tot he University of Essex, are stunning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wivenhoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wivenhoe House Hotel Colchester
Wivenhoe Hotel Colchester
Wivenhoe House Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing