We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Black Disaster”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wivenhoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Buoy Free House
Ranked #1 of 3 Wivenhoe B&B and Inns
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Black Disaster”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We decided to take daughter and her boyfriend to Wivenhoe for a nice river walk with our two dogs and after researching where to eat a meal at the Black Buoy
Well the river walk was fantastic and having two dogs decided to dine Al fresco in the patio area They had a problem with their drainage in the middle of service on a Saturday evening they had man hole covers up and were rodding their drains in the dining area
The stench was horrendous some diners were being slapped by the rodding gear and the service was the worst I have expeiinced in a long time
When the mains arrived after a wait of about 1.5hours they were sub standard of medioca.
Never again,,,,landlady was fantastic cared concerned and genuinely customer focused, but waiting staff rude, ignorrent and didnt give a damm

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackBuoy, Manager at Black Buoy Free House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Please accept our apologies for the unfortunate set of circumstances. We were trying to address the problem quickly and efficiently but to no avail during the evening. All calls to professional services were unsuccessful but the situation was resolved the next day.
I am disappointed that you found the food lacking as we pride ourselves on delivering great freshly cooked meals and are continuously receiving excellent feedback.
I would query the extent of delay on receiving your food but yes, we were very busy on one of the few balmy nights we experience in this country.
I would hope you would try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    9
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just arrived back from two nights at the Blackbuoy, the rooms are lovely, spacious and well equipped. You do get a little bit of noise in the bedroom from the bar, but it is minimal and did not cause us any problem. The breakfast was very good with good friendly service.
The pub is lovely with a warm friendly atmosphere. No complaints about this pub, would highly recommend a visit here.

Room Tip: They only have two at present, both as good as the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarfizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We spent the weekend in this lovely b&b in Wivenhoe during eastern. It's been recently reopened and refurbished to a good standard; very charming; very well located. They had beer festival which was great you could try different types of beer and cider and they had a few bands and a barbacue at a very reasonable price. At dinner time we had dinner in their restaurant lovely skate and mussels. Very child friendly. They only have two rooms but very spacious; we stayed two adults and two children and we had plenty of space in the room.I thought the room was going to be nosy being above the pub but it was ok. The breakfast was delicious as well. definitely go back again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pctykoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Although this is an inn it was very quiet. Whole place lovely and clean. Managed to book in at last minute and very pleased we did. Lovely room, lovely evening meal and huge breakfast! Overlooks the river Colne in a lovely quiet spot. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked 2 nights a couple of weeks in advance (Sat and Sun) Phoned on Thurs to make sure all well but arrived Sat afternoon to find no room at the inn. Manageress rushed round to find me a bed elsewhere in village in private house so felt very intrusive although grateful for the bed. Luckily had a room for Sunday night. Really disappointed though as no bulbs in bedside lights, curtains hanging off rod, broken table holding tray and window sill in bathroom not been dusted this millenium. Was really looking forward to staying here since I knew the history of the community takeover etc and the pub itself was somewhere I had already visited and had a meal in and I wanted to support my daughter's home community.Pub itself is a beautiful historica building and well worth visiting
No mention on web page of how steep the staircase is which might have been a problem for someone not very agile.
I didn't have breakfast as I had to leave early on Monday morning and it didn't seem like anyone would be around to even take my payment. Not offered anything in lieu either so didn't feel very charitably inclined to the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingReveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

(Actually want to give 4-and-a-half at least, but can't work out if that's possible on Tripadvisor....!)
Comfortable room in a beautiful well-restored building, close to the river in this lovely town. The service was excellent, warm without being intrusive, and we felt very welcome. The range of excellent ales (we are CAMRA members!) was a delight, and although we didn't eat there that evening, the menu looked good and the breakfast in the morning was superb - succulent, well-cooked bacon, sausage, eggs (choice of fried or scrambled), tasty mushrooms and tomato. In addition of course to cereal, toast - delicious home-made bread! - etc.
The room is where our 'excellent 5/5' drops slightly, but as you will see we are rather pernickety: we would have liked a slightly larger sink; thicker curtains (Wivenhoe had a sunny Bank Holiday weekend, unlike most of the country, and the sun was bright in the morning); there was a lightbulb missing (do people really take them??) in one of the reading lamps - which I'm sure would've been replaced instantly had we bothered to mention it at the time. All in all however we had a good night's sleep in a comfortable, big bed.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and we booked fairly late so didn't have a choice. The stairs to both r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Wonderful room in really lovely pub, just up from the river.
Excellent food everyday of the week, which makes a nice change and as many real ales as anyone could reasonably try at one session.
The new beer garden is a welcome addition, keeps dogs and small children out of the pub!

Room Tip: Only two rooms, both en-suite and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wivenhoe
1.7 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
3.7 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.5 mi away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#20 of 24 in Colchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
3.4 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Buoy Free House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Buoy Free House

Property: Black Buoy Free House
Address: Black Buoy Hill, Wivenhoe, Colchester CO7 9BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Wivenhoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wivenhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful, individually furnished bedrooms, each with en suite facilities, are now available. Tastefully renovated and refurbished, they offer views over the rooftops of old Wivenhoe and a flavour of the pub's romantic and nautical past. A perfect stopover after a pub meal in the bar, and conveniently located for visitors to Wivenhoe and the University of Essex. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Buoy Free House Wivenhoe, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing