We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rowdy !”
Review of The Anchor

The Anchor
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Rowhedge
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rowdy !”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The restaurant could have done with a door to separate it from the public bar which at times was very rowdy.
The table next to ours was very noisy causing the dining area to take on the atmosphere of a working men's club rather than a village riverside restaurant. Generally the food was good, apart from a lazy fruit crumble consisting of over cooked fruit with a dusting of powdered undercooked crumble and swamped in custard up to the brim of the dessert bowl. A pity we were not told where the menu was until we had been seated for 15 minutes or so, resulting in us being asked to vacate the table quite soon after our meal to make room for the next booking. The waiting staff were having a conversation between themselves within earshot which was unprofessional but the manner in which we were addressed was quite inappropriate - being called 'guys' or 'love' was unacceptable. Disappointing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank localdiner60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    49
    13
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not go when thier main chef is on holiday”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have ad the most amazing meals here. Unfortunately when the main chef is on holiday , its hero to zero.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

First time I have eaten at the Anchor. Staff really efficient and friendly. Steak and ale pie, homemade and filling. The Moroccan lamb tagine too was first class, but I wanted more.. a very small portion sadly..will be back with friends, suggest booking as they were busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch by the riverside”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Good value, well presented and tasty food. The view would probably be better at high tide. You can dine inside or outside, and we chose to dine outside which was quite sheltered and nice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuthandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Visit”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We are moving into the village soon so went for a meal in the local, lucky us, the people are friendly and they serve good pub food with a wonderful view down the river.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor also viewed

Rowhedge, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing