We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly not as good as it should be....”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #2 of 3 Cookham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Having visited numerous times for a drink, I decided to have lunch here with my wife. I had the fish & chips and she had a salad. She also ordered a side order of fries. The oil was old so the batter on the fish and chips were very poor. The rest was of a very basic pub food quality.

My wife has dined here four times now and in her words "I think less of the food on each visit - and this is the last time".

We are very local and really want this place to be good - I can only hope the pub dosen't rely on its location for success as this will be short lived.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank FilletSteakandChips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

An excellent lunch. Staff were friendly and welcoming. The food was very good. There were three real ales on tap plus a good selection of wines. It's been refurbished so you can now see the chefs busy in the kitchen. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I didn't expect much when I booked a stay at this village pub. Boy was I pleasantly surprised! The staff were friendly, prompt and helpful. My luggage was carried upstairs for me, my every wish was accommodated, and everyone was warm and welcoming. The room itself was newly renovated with very stylish furnishings and a beautiful modern bathroom. The shower was wonderful, large and with great water pressure. There was a flat-screen tv, and a hairdryer was provided to me upon my request. The food was great -- I had a delicious hamburger, which I was able to bring to my room from the bar below -- and the full English breakfast was plentiful and delicious, served by friendly, prompt staff.

My only complaint was the occasional slamming of doors by other guests, and the din of customers in the bar below -- to be expected in public house accommodation, and easily dealt with by use of ear plugs. Otherwise, my stay here was extremely relaxing at a reasonable price. Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RavennaEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We had lunch at The Crown to celebrate our wedding anniversary. As we live in Cookham we had watched the refurbishment move along so were intrigued to see inside and to try out the new menu. Initially the restaurant was appealing but we soon realised that the tables hadn't been cleaned properly and there were crumbs on the sofas and floors. The table flowers looked a little sad, however, the serving staff were very courteous and welcoming. One of the chosen meals was salmon which was delicious served on a nice hot plate. The other cold meal was OK but presentation was lacking. After the meal we asked for a Costa coffee, only to be told that the machine had broken! The waitress offered an instant coffee instead! So we decided it was time to end the lunch and asked for the bill. All in all, worth a visit. Good menu, although no tiger prawns unfortunately! We think this may continue to be the preferred pub to visit for outdoor dining and for a cold drink in the summer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I can't stress enough how poorly run this hotel is.

I checked in to be led to the wrong room 2 times, then had to wait 30 mins for the key to my room, Internet code and jug of milk. I had to go to get it myself.

The fire alarm went off at 5.45am as a result of someone having a shower! The owners were nowhere to be seen, so the alarm continued until 6.45am when the chef turned up to cook breakfast. To make things worse, the fire brigade did not turn up so if there was a fire the place would have burned down!

If you need a receipt to claim work expenses forget it, they don't have a printer! was promised it by email but nothing has arrived, surprise surprise.

The Uk is full amateurs running hotels/pubs and I'm afraid the owners will become a statistic soon of establishments changing hands.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhodri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed here this weekend just gone for Rock the Moor and were delighted to find the rooms stylishly and comfortably done. The pub was packed, and despite the act the staff was rushed off their feet serving and preparing for the concert, they were efficient, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious and we will definitely be coming back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Had a fantastic meal at the new 'Crown' on Cookham Moor. It has been closed for a few months for a complete makeover but reopened this week. They have done a fantasic job. Lovely old picturesque building (flowers and tables everywher outside)in a great location and now just as good inside. The new chef cooked an excellent meal and the prices were reasonable. Don't drink wine but wide range of real ales and lagers. It was packed and think it will stay this way. Friendly, efficient service. Will be back as the menu is fantastic. Saw the new rooms and they look good and comfortable but I only live 400 yards away!

Room Tip: Book early it will be packed. Nothing else to choose from in Cookham apart from B & B or at twic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RugbyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookham
0.1 mi away
Moor Hall Conference Centre
2.1 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
642 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bel & The Dragon
Bel & The Dragon
#1 of 3 in Cookham
121 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: The Moor, Cookham SL6 9SB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Cookham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cookham
Price Range: £63 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown at Cookham offers comfortable, quality bed & breakfast accommodation in 8 ensuite rooms with full English breakfast. All rooms have bath and shower, tea/coffee making facilities, free Wi-Fi, Freeview and Sky, 32 inch LCD TV and radio alarm. Cots are also available on request. The Crown offers a great rural escape in the pretty village of Cookham within the Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead in North-East Berkshire, close the border with Buckingamshire. Cookham lies on the River Thames with a number of walks along the Thames Path and nearby National Trust property and is one of the most popular Thameside resorts . There are plenty of tourist attractions around Cookham and The Crown provides a great base from which to explore the local area. We have travel guides to the main towns and cities in Berkshire as well as some of the villages. The Crown also offers a fully stocked bar with a wide selection of drinks to cater for all tastes including a full wine list, quality beers and lagers, a range of soft drinks and Proud To Serve Costa Coffee. We offer 4 real ales and are cask marque accredited. In addition to breakfast we offer a range of delicious, freshly prepared meals using the finest, locally sourced ingredients throughout the day and evening and the best Sunday roast in Cookham. As our dishes are cooked to order, our chefs are happy to alter dishes to suit special dietary requirements, so just ask us if we can help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Cookham, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing