We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class food and great service!”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #2 of 3 Cookham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stopped over the road at the Moor Hotel, decided to walk out and found this place to eat. Excellent atmosphere, very good choice of real ales and outstanding food, would definitely want to visit this place again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank colin1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for The Crown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

Having arrived late at the Odney club decided to try a local venue, came across this pub just before the Cookham common.
I thought it looked like standard pub fayre, but am happy to report they produced a very good meal with good service.
Main:3 little pigs £14.95 & Crown Burger(homemade) £11.95 (incl £1 for cheese)
both nicely presented, and good in flavour
Desert: poached strawberry tarts(2) with crème patissiere & mojito jelly £5.95
Dark chocolate Ganache with iced coconut £5.95 just about get away with price!

we observed Kitchen staff who worked well together even as night got busier, service was very good, food prices a little towards top end for me, especially desert, but if your in the area would recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevebillericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My friend booked us in for this one,we were attending his wedding at the nearby Odney Club.We arrived early and we were greeted by young,enthusiastic and efficient staff.We had a light bar meal which was good.The rooms that we were stopping in were in the courtyard area and they were stunning with excellent facilities,fitted out to a high standard.Beds were huge and comfortable.Breakfast in the morning was excellent.I cannot stress how good the young staff were.This was an excellent stay and I would be certain to book in again if in the area again.
Excellent value too.

Room Tip: Book the oops in the court yard
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Declan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Went for a meal with a group of friends and had a great night. Staff excellent and very welcoming. I had the beef and ale pie and you will have to go some to beat it ! The pub is in a great location and if you are walking in the area you must drop in !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southcoastsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have just returned from Cookham. The pub is at one end of the high street and very cute. Our room was above the pub and decorated in duck egg blue and cream. the bathroom was recently refurbished. Breakfast was great with very friendly staff. I highly recommend this pub.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3intrepidtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I had reserved 2 rooms for the Wednesday night and 3 for the Thursday night only to find on arrival the place in total chaos nobody knowing what they were doing. We had booked The Crown as near to where my son was getting married.
When I called and booked months before I was told all was fine but only to find that they had apparentley emailed since to my husbands work email!! to say they had made a mistake with the booking.
I had called them twice during the week of the arrival to arrange tables for dinner during our stay and at both times I had said we were staying for 2 nights and the girls I spoke to both said yes that is correct. ( They do not have a system that shares accomodation bookings and restaurant bookings)
Overall complete chaos and the atmosphere in The Crown whilst trying to sort this mess out was utter chaos nobody seeemed to know what they were doing.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank Susieg845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Invited to a wedding at the stunning Hedsor House we made a reservation for two nights at the Crown. Cookham is a gorgeous village of old houses and quaint shops and The Crown is located at the end of the High Street opposite the moor. Lovely. The welcome from the barmaid was nice and friendly and although the pub was busy we were quickly shown to our room, in the annexe across the patio from the pub. It was nicely furnished in a 'french' style (see photos on their website) and the bathroom was a high spec, double shower and spotlessly clean. We had booked for supper and went straight to the table. The food was good and although the portions weren't excessive it was adequate. Soup was tasty (horrible sliced white bread served with it though), two main courses and one pudding, a bottle of wine and a couple of beers = £78 which seemed steep to us. We attempted to put it on our bill but were told that we had to pay. The bed was very comfy and a good nights sleep was had. We felt that breakfast was a little strange offered cereal and it was brought in a bowl rather than in a packet ....cooked breakfast was ok - nothing particularly wrong with it but nothing special either. Tea and coffee was just a cup and not a pot as is more usual. There were also only 2 teabags of normal tea in the room... slightly stingey! The breakfast service on the Saturday was much better than on the Sunday too. There is an open kitchen and the staff should remember that the diners can hear what is being said. A couple of conversations that we would have preferred not to hear. We ordered a couple of sandwiches at lunchtime and the barman got the order wrong twice... The shower proved to be a bit of a dribbler with very little pressure and on Sunday morning there was no hot water to speak of...The main question is of course, would we stay there again. Yes, as the rooms were nice, fabulous linen, clean and very comfortable but we would eat elsewhere in the village.

Room Tip: Room 2 was nice and quite a good size.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookham
0.1 mi away
Moor Hall Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,028 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
1.4 mi away
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: The Moor, Cookham SL6 9SB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Cookham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cookham
Price Range: £60 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown at Cookham offers comfortable, quality bed & breakfast accommodation in 8 ensuite rooms with full English breakfast. All rooms have bath and shower, tea/coffee making facilities, free Wi-Fi, Freeview and Sky, 32 inch LCD TV and radio alarm. Cots are also available on request. The Crown offers a great rural escape in the pretty village of Cookham within the Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead in North-East Berkshire, close the border with Buckingamshire. Cookham lies on the River Thames with a number of walks along the Thames Path and nearby National Trust property and is one of the most popular Thameside resorts . There are plenty of tourist attractions around Cookham and The Crown provides a great base from which to explore the local area. We have travel guides to the main towns and cities in Berkshire as well as some of the villages. The Crown also offers a fully stocked bar with a wide selection of drinks to cater for all tastes including a full wine list, quality beers and lagers, a range of soft drinks and Proud To Serve Costa Coffee. We offer 4 real ales and are cask marque accredited. In addition to breakfast we offer a range of delicious, freshly prepared meals using the finest, locally sourced ingredients throughout the day and evening and the best Sunday roast in Cookham. As our dishes are cooked to order, our chefs are happy to alter dishes to suit special dietary requirements, so just ask us if we can help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Cookham, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing