We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience, not matter if you're dining or just drinking”
Review of Bel & The Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bel & The Dragon
Ranked #1 of 3 Cookham B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great ambience, not matter if you're dining or just drinking”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Over the years this place has been transformed from stuffy old restaurant to average food pub to a proper gastro pub, serving great beers, brilliant food with a really friendly approach. Think log fires, a lovely old bar, and a light airy restaurant with good gardens in the summer. The menu offs great choice, from roasts , burgers, steaks, to lobster and some nice specials. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilinmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    30
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
42
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Staff are most impressive ... "Lorne?" made us ( 2 couples ) feel very welcome -- she chatted -- was very knowledgeable about food & the surrounding area... The room was great ... all top quality renovation,... and cute details ( I loved the espresso machine at the top of the stairs )

we will definitely return

Room Tip: the largest at the front (named after a lady)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed over while visiting our son and found Bel and the Dragon to be a great all round experience. This 600 year old coaching inn is quaint and quirky and the room (Mrs Baggett) was lovely. Very small but very comfortable. A great sleep.

The staff were very pleasant and accommodating throughout and the restaurant was exceptional, providing us with a magnificent dinner experience.

Will definitely come back!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrys679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just spent a night at this delightful "pub with rooms" in Cookham. We were going to a family evening wedding and so unfortunately did not manage to sample the food apart from breakfast which was spot on. Creamy scrambled eggs just how I like and salty crispy bacon. Fresh orange juice and excellent service. Some might find the menu choice limited but it means what they do, they do well.
The rooms were quirky with plenty of books to read and interesting art; the beds, were unusually high but very comfortable. Our room quaintly called "Mrs Baggett" had the sweetest little "cubby" room off the shower room - perfect for a child travelling with his parents. They would love it! Sadly my son now too tall for the bed......and you do need to watch your head as you enter the room - even me!
The landing tea and coffee facilities and the decanters of whisky are generous touches; as is the sloe gin in the room. You really feel they want you to feel welcome....and you do!
My only niggle - hence a 4 and not a 5 - is that this room looks across the roof and you get a lot of noise from what I believe are the kitchen extractors. But of course they're're not on at night and so we slept well until breakfast service the next day.
But all in all, a really lovely experience and I would very much like to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed overnight at this lovely historic inn while attending a birthday celebration in their restaurant. We were really taken with the exceptional hospitality and service culture which appears endemic amongst all the staff. The food, which is of a very high quality, is locally sourced and delicious. The bread at breakfast was baked on the premises and almost out of the oven. The dinner served for 50+ people was amazing, and despite the number of guests, the food was hot, plentiful, super tasty and served with a smile. Our room was small but charming and interesting with a very comfy bed. Great shower (decent size, shower head etc) and high quality towels.
Generous hospitality provided to guests with complimentary single malt whisky on the landing and sloe gin in the room! If we are ever need a room in the area again, I will definitely look to try and book again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is the best pub hotel I've ever stayed in. I travel and stay away a lot with work, so much so that I am a Hilton Diamond member(to those who don't know, that means I'm away, a lot), so I get to see a lot of hotels. The Bel & Dragon is lovely, the heritage building has been lovingly restored, it tastefully marries it's antiquity with understated designer style. My room was comfortable and charming, it had a delightful little ensuite child's room (the doorway is only 4'6" high, the bed the same in length) with a selection of children's books to read, which would be great for a family with a small child. The bed had a good decent mattress. The food in the restaurant is really superb, a real pleasure, and the staff are attentive and discrete. I'm here in November so it's dark when I return work, but it looks like the surrounding area is also lovely, there is the River Thames a few minutes walk, and it's ridiculously picturesque even at this tie of year, it looks like there are probably some lovely walks along it. The complimentary whisky on the guest landing is a real treat, proper 12 year old malts, and good ones too! Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Had a lovely stay - room was very comfortable and clean, small but well-appointed shower room and the added bonus of a bottle of damson vodka in the room and a choice of two malt whiskies to sample on the windowsill halfway down the stairs!
Dinner was excellent and breakfast delicious but the overriding quality of Bel and the Dragon is the fantastic service – the staff are knowledgeable, charming and efficient and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoRoQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookham
0.8 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moor Hall Conference Centre
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
584 reviews
5.0 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel & The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel & The Dragon

Property: Bel & The Dragon
Address: High Street, Cookham SL6 9SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Cookham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cookham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bel & The Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bel & The Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel & The Dragon Cookham, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing