We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, excellent food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bel & The Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bel & The Dragon
Ranked #1 of 3 Cookham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, excellent food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Having just stayed here, I would highly recommend it. It's in a beautiful setting, the room was fantastic - and came with a bottle of sloe gin if we fancied a drink - and dinner was delicious. It's full of delightful touches and the staff all seemed genuinely happy to be working there.
We'll definitely be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    30
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
40
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Visiting guildford to see daughter stayed in the family room Austin very quirky made to feel very welcome love the few extra touches would totally recommend. Evening meal has plenty of choices beware you think that only ordering the main course is not sufficient and you need the extras do share as you really don't need them

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. The staff are wonderful, especially Nick who went out of his way to help me. All staff made me feel like nothing was too much trouble and were so friendly and chatty and gave the impression that they genuinely loved working at the inn. I recently stayed in Shoreditch House, of the Soho House group and have also stayed in Babbington House, and other very highly regarded places and I really felt that this place was comparable in terms of comfort and service. The room was delightful, with lovely vintage furniture, huge comfortable bed, lovely shower room and gorgeous fluffy towels. The people who run this really know how to make guests feel welcome, with great touches like complimentary water, sloe gin in rooms, and whisky and coffee machine on the landing. The breakfast was perfect and there is absolutely nothing to fault about the place. All for fantastic value of £95 per night including breakfast. Cookham is a gorgeous place to relax and walk by the river too. Would love to see more of these Inns around the South East! So many hotels could learn a lot from this fantastic place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just steps off the Thames Path is Bel and the Dragon. Perfect location, great comfy beds. Some surprising extras - free Nespresso coffee whenever you want and free Laphroig 10 YO single malt when ever you want. Take advantage while you can! the young staff were exceptionally friendly and made our visit. Whilst dinner was good, be aware you will be eating to the beat of the music.

Room Tip: While our toilet had a door, the bathroom as a whole did not so be aware your showers may be more vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The staff at The Bel and the dragon go out of their way to help and are polite, friendly and efficient. Cookham is a pretty little village, the Sir Stanley museum being a highlight and this pub / hotel is the perfect place to stay if visiting this area. The rooms are generously sized, nicely decorated with thoughtful touches such as a coffee machine and whisky available for a nightcap in the public area. The food at this gastro pub is really very good from breakfast to supper with an impressive menu. A great team and a lovely location. The only slight drawback is the lack of a car park although there is on street parking for overnight and a free car park around the corner.

Room Tip: Marjorie was our favourite room although Patricia is the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noodles0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 days and nights here last weekend whilst searching for property nearby as we are relocating with work. This is clearly a very popular haunt with the locals as well as drawing in people from further afield and we found out why... Basically it's a brilliant gem of a place. All their staff were incredibly friendly and hospitable, making this one of the finest weekend stays we've experienced. The food was top notch gastro pub grub, very smart but not at all pretentious, with good honest food to a very high standard. The Sunday beef roast was simply divine, as was my market fresh fish the previous night, and my Sirloin the first night. Breakfast scrambled eggs with crispy bacon couldn't have been better.
The room we had was lovely, a brilliant bed and a well thought out use of the confined odd shaped spaces making it feel just right
The only minor annoyance was the heat coming up the hall making the room feel too warm in the morning, meaning we would sleep with the window open only to have the loud kitchen fans jump into life a little earlier than we wanted at 7ish, meaning we needed to close the window then to continue snoozing.
Did I say the staff were good? Just to be clear, the staff were brilliant! and really made us both feel most welcome and well looked after.
We will be back for more.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mster-Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Over the years this place has been transformed from stuffy old restaurant to average food pub to a proper gastro pub, serving great beers, brilliant food with a really friendly approach. Think log fires, a lovely old bar, and a light airy restaurant with good gardens in the summer. The menu offs great choice, from roasts , burgers, steaks, to lobster and some nice specials. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilinmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookham
0.2 mi away
Moor Hall Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
5.0 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel & The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel & The Dragon

Property: Bel & The Dragon
Address: High Street, Cookham SL6 9SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Cookham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cookham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bel & The Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bel & The Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel & The Dragon Cookham, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing