We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, terrific food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Princes Risborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Plough at Cadsden
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We return to this pub/restaurant again and again, often when friends come to stay. The atmosphere is so warm and welcoming; the bar and restaurant area is very attractive. We go for dinner usually where there is always an excellent choice, the daily specials being especially good (my husband often chooses the Haddenham Lamb). On our most recent visit I chose fillet steak for the first time and it was perfectly cooked. One tiny negative point - some popular specials do disappear from the board quite early so get your order in quick!
We will definitely return here again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank IreneeAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

I had lunch here with a friend. It was a straight forward ploughman's with ham. The food was fine if a bit over priced and the drinks were expensive. There was nothing on the menu as a lunch option for a wheat free diet - ie everything was bread based. So pleasant and very beautiful surroundings and average for food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargalitPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Came here for my fathers birthday lunch and wish I had found this little treasure before. Drinks and food both reasonably priced for what you get, and perfect location for a country stroll after dinner

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was our first visit to this hostelry which likes to be known as a pub with good food. My wife and I had a very tasty well prepared and presented lunch. The atmosphere is very friendly and comfortable. Good sized tables for 2 which is important to us.

Very efficient and friendly staff, good parking and well situated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We came to The Plough on recommendation after friends raved about the stunning building and grounds and they service they received. We pulled up to the most divine English Country Pub with a beautiful outdoor setting, it was the perfect place to be on a warm, summery evening. The service we received from Bar Staff was lovely and the Dining Room is beautiful. Then it came time to look at the Menu, we (i, most of all) were shocked to see that every single Main Course offered was priced at £14.95 apart from some Steak on their specials board. The Menu is without question a Pub Grub Menu and it is unreasonable to be asking people to spent £14.95 for Fish & Chips, Sausage & Mash and Ham, Egg & Chips. This took us aback so much that we left after our drinks. I eat out a lot and I am not averse to paying good money for a great meal, but Ham, Egg and Chips for £15.00 does not a good meal make........

I cannot fault the beauty and style of the Pub, its GORGEOUS! The brief service we experienced was perfect, not pushy but attentive to us, the perfect medium. I'm quite sure the food would have been of a good standard considering the ratings on here but £14.95 for the majority of dishes on a Pub Grub Menu....no thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrBCC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

No extra miles to walk if you stay here. The Ridgeway runs passed the front door. Unfortunately we had to wait until 5pm for them to open up on the day we arrived (Friday) before we could put our feet up. Our welcome was a bit cool but our room was excellent, as was the dinner. My steak was cooked to perfection. The bar/dining staff were all very friendly and helpfull. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by having a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Had to take a drive out on a Monday evening. Thought we would call in at pub on the way back for a drink and maybe a steak. We are local and know of The Plough - I have eaten there at lunchtimes with friends but never in the evening. Lovely setting and nice atmosphere and decor. Had experienced an unfriendly welcome before, as other reviewers, but decided to give it another try and hoped for the food to be worth it. Unfortunately, very disappointed. No steaks on the menu and so ordered, steak and ale pie. The pastry was undercooked, it had clearly gone from the freezer to the microwave. Most meals seem to be priced at around £14.95 which we thought a bit overpriced for pie and chips. Won't be eating there again – may call in for a drink if out on a country walk. On the plus side, the bar staff were very welcoming and friendly this time. It's a real pity that more places don't have a less extensive menu of freshly prepared, home cooked food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Justmoving1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princes Risborough
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
607 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
227 reviews
1.3 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#4 of 4 in Princes Risborough
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough at Cadsden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough at Cadsden

Address: Cadsden Road | Cadsden, Princes Risborough HP27 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Princes Risborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Princes Risborough
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Plough At Cadsden Hotel Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing