We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plough at Cadsden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Princes Risborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Plough at Cadsden
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have been to this restaurant several times and I always walk away feeling a little disappointed. The place itself is in an ideal location, many people like ourselves will have a nice long walk into the woods building up a thirst and an appetite and looking forward to a nice lunch treat.
The lunch menu was very basic (it was a Sunday) and we all wanted a light bite rather than a full on roast. We ordered a prawn cocktail sandwich, cheese sandwich, ploughmans and whitebait. To be honest there wasn't much else on offer. The food was very basic and for a place like The Plough you would of thought they could offer much more especially for the price they charge. Such a shame as the place itself is very clean and staff behind the bar were very polite.
I'm not saying that the main food on offer isn't worth it but maybe improve on the light bite section as many people like to finish a walk off with a light bite and drink and some homemade chips!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed6985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    50
    27
    29
    28
See reviews for
65
61
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Turned up for lunch on a Sunday after long walk. Told kitchens were closed (we were 10 mins after official lunch closing) and when hearing of our predicament (long walk, nowhere else to eat) the bar staff could not have been less friendly or considerate.

Please avoid

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walkeradventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Princes Risborough hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having known the Plough for a while and dabbled in the past, it was only this year having moved within walking distance that we have revisted. Great for walks around the area and lots of joining walkways to avoid the drive, I will say, very little or zero phone coverage depending on provider so if you welcome that or hate that, but be aware.

Menu shows some thought and food is good and hot, price and portion all good and nice inside and outside.

Well worth a drop in, if you want a good meal and price to match !

Pleasant staff and good range of ales !

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

stayed at this lovely place with my partner, the proprietors Steve and Sharon and their staff were warm and friendly, they couldn't have made you feel any more welcome. we both had the roast lamb shoulder for our meals and the meat just fell off the bone, succulent and well flavoured, my partner had the Baileys cheesecake, which was excellent (i know because i had a spoonful or two!) whilst i had the Brulee, as excellent as the cheesecake, all the food was home-made. the room we stayed in was decorated tastefully and would not have looked out of place in a top London hotel. the bedding itself was pure quality, the rooms were well equipped with foldaway ironing board/trouser press, a very modern coffee machine and couldn't find a bit of dust anywhere. will definitely be visiting this hidden gem again.

Room Tip: book early to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joannabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I often visit The Plough for lunch. The food is consistently good and the portions are very generous. The bannoffee pie I had on my last visit was amazing.
We stayed over night in the accommodation. The room was very comfortable and attractively furnished. I have always found the staff welcoming and the service good. Some of the waitresses are young and inexperienced but that seems to be the norm these days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had been walking in the area again and knowing that the food is of good quality, albeit a little too expensive for what you get we visited again.

It was a Bank Holiday so we expected it to be busy but actually whilst it was busy it wasn't as packed as I remember it to have been a few years back. Perhaps the Landlord needs to consider if his surly attitude and that of his staff is starting to have an affect on their takings.

The bar staff remain inexperienced and need to take some lessons from some regular pubs where the bar staff actually know who is next rather than making the customers have to do it for them and in some cases queue jump

We waited an hour for some sandwiches and the waitress never bothered to return with our condiments. No big deal but disappointing service.

As expected there was no 'thank you' when I settled the bill.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boofs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have been to the plough several times now and have never been disappointed , the food has always been excellent, and lots of fresh vegetables! One of our party had home made lemon meringue pie , she said it was the best she'd had! A couple had the banana fritters which were also fantastic , the only little niggle we had was our young waitress was not very friendly and didn't seem to want to serve us , but the rest of the staff were as always brilliant !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princes Risborough
4.0 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#4 of 17 in High Wycombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
5.2 mi away
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
7.4 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough at Cadsden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough at Cadsden

Property: The Plough at Cadsden
Address: Cadsden Road | Cadsden, Princes Risborough HP27 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Princes Risborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Princes Risborough
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Plough At Cadsden Hotel Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing