We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local eatery”
Review of George & Dragon

George & Dragon
Price range: US$17 - US$27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Great British pub serving great British classics.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good local eatery”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The George and Dragon has had a chequered history and not one we would frequent in the past. However, the new owners are really trying to make this a place to consider in Risborough. Tonight four of us enjoyed well executed meals. Flavoursome and well presented. The downside was the long wait for service, nearly 45 minutes until our order was taken. Then we had the indignation of being asked to leave our table at 10.00pm, because they needed to clean, and move us to the bar area. This was not acceptable as the bar was noisy, with the sports channel blaring out on the TV. We were also told last orders for food was 8.30pm?! We paid and left, probably won't return because of the lack of thought towards restaurant customers. Shame as Risborough is crying out for a good traditional restaurant venue. The George and Dragon is offering the food, not the service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Posh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Owner at George & Dragon, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your evening with us. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your evening.

I understand that you had booked a table with 3 friends at 19.30, you were seated by our Bar Manager Ben, I know that he served you with some drinks and left you with the menus. During the next quarter of an hour, the restaurant became quite busy with walk in guests, the waiter knowing you were happy with your menus and drinks, took some other orders that were un-booked, this did put pressure on the kitchen, it meant that the waiting on staff took longer to take other orders. I have spoken to them and this was an oversight. In reference to you being asked to move through to the bar, this was unacceptable and I apologize to you, this is not our policy and it should not have happened.

I hope that given the explanation above you will give thought to joining us again, especially as I was pleased to read that despite these setbacks you did enjoy the food.

Kind Regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    12
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Firstly served beer with plastic sheet in glass. Dinner took three quarters of an hour to come half if the meals were missing ie no veg no tomatoes no onion rings. Rare steak cooked to death. No sorry manager arrogant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tringterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Owner at George & Dragon, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your meal. Having spoken to the team today, I understand that you were informed of the delay to the side vegetables and onion rings by our waiter, he was the gentleman you mistaking mistook for a manger. His first language is Greek and therefore his accent when dealing with could have been misconstrued, he may have also been slightly uncomfortable as he had been forced to ask your table to keep the noise down due to complaints from other diners.

However I was pleased to note that several of your party must have enjoyed there meal as there was a generous tip left.

Regards

Ian and Elle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

staff very helpful and friendly,food excellent and at the right price, room comfortable clean and very well equipped can't fault the place well done all look forward to my next stay with you keep up the good work.
cheers
steve cooke

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good British Pub Grub Long Overdue In Risborough”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

2 visits here recently and the food was just fabulous First visit my steak was cooked to perfection. I believe they get their meat from the local butchers. As a result decided to try Sunday lunch which in most pubs I find disappointing with meat being rather bland and stringy,
Not here the meat was absolutely delicious and so tasty rounded off with good quality roast potatoes , Yorkshire Pudding and veg
All this with a good quality ale or 2 to wash it down with and we will definately be back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Owner at George & Dragon, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us at The George & Dragon and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Ian & Elle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Pub ..Fab Service”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have not long moved to Princes Risborough and the George & Dragon is within strolling distance to our house..We visited on 28/10 after a bad start to the day with 2 trees down after the storm (also it was my husbands birthday and he spent the entire morning working with a chain saw to get the road cleared that our 2 trees had blocked!!) ..anyway decided to check out the pub as we were not in the mood for cooking ..strolled over and were greeted by a smiling member of staff who offered us seats in the separate dining area and quickly took our drink orders. When looking at the menu we were spoilt for choice ..Hubby decided on the George Burger, Daughter 1 had the Pork Belly, Daughter 2 had the sausage & mash and I went for the haddock & noodle dish..The portions were HUGE and hot and delicious..we shall be back..hoping to get over once a week for a treat !..well done Ian & Elle ..I know you have only been part of the pub for a few months but your doing a fab job and we shall definitely recommend to anyone coming to visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pennylaine68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Owner at George & Dragon, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us at The George & Dragon and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Ian & Elle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George & Dragon also viewed

Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
 
Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
 
Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing