We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time lucky” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Gate

The Village Gate
Ranked #10 of 25 Restaurants in Wendover
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pub. Eating. Conversation. Delicious locally sourced food, a lovely selction of real ales, an eclectic wine list and a team who really care about their pub and making sure you leave with a huge smile. Pop in for a quick drink with friends, an important business meeting, Sunday lunch with the family or a first date - we'll look after you whatever the occasion.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second time lucky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had previously had a very bad experience here as they somehow managed to lose our food order and we had waited over an hour before we found out and to make matters worse we then found out that what we had ordered was not available and would have to wait another 30 minutes or so for our meals to be cooked. Not surprisingly we left hungry and not very happy. The staff were very apologetic but by then it was too little too late. We were offered a voucher for free meals to make up for it and were in two minds whether to go back again however we had had good meals here before and decided to try again.

What a difference good service no lost orders and very good food. A very pleasant experience and will definitely go again, Just check that your order has been handed in to the kitchen.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonycable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    127
    53
    59
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nothing to fault compared to last time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

It's only fair to write a review following a visit today seeing as I've written mixed reviews in the past. This time, no waiting for a hot drink and the burger was really tasty. Waiter was as I expect, attentive and no delays in providing condiments etc.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Is the chef trickster or does he think his customers are idiots?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I will review this pub in more detail at the weekend. For now, it's enough to comment that the meal of "ham & a duck egg" came with not one but two hen's eggs............ Apparently, a recent customer had said that they didn't like duck eggs so the chef took it upon himself to decide that he'd change the menu, serve everyone hen's eggs, & hope they didn't notice. I haven't decided if he was deliberately trying to hoodwink the customers or whether he thought they were idiots who couldn't tell the difference. It would've been an honest action if he'd appeared & explained the situation & given the customer a choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Freshly made roast ........but cold'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We popped into the village gate after visiting the garden center, we were quickly seated, the waitress was pleasant and gave us time to look at the menu, we ordered a roast turkey and a lamb, while we waited we enjoyed a glass of red wine, the only problem was, I was freezing cold! Our food came in about 20 mins nicely presented and very tasty, the veg were done to perfection, the meat tender and the gravy delicious. The decor in the pub is very nice and a good atmospher, but please can you turn the heating up, I sat by a radiator it was stone cold!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alanpayne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm feeling about this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time you've been visiting them in two years. Again, the visit was a full success. We went there with two adults and one child and had two starters and three main courses.
Portobello mushroom can be highly recommended.
It is worth noting, that the kitchen caters for gluten free diet.

What we most like about the pub is the atmosphere. The interior makeover a couple of years ago was a total success in the pub has a warm feel throughout. It's just how a gastropub should be - keeping with tradition while striking a balance with the modern.

Service was impeccable with all our questions and extra demands fully satisfied. Looking forward to return again in the near future.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Risbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Village Gate also viewed

Weston Turville, Aylesbury
Wendover, Aylesbury
 

Been to The Village Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing