We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Charlbury B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I recently attended a wedding in Oxfordshire and were short on time to find a place to stay in the area overnight.

The Bull Inn was one of few places that answered their phone after 8:00pm and accepted a reservation without hassle. I'm pleased they did. When we arrived, we were greeted by woman and gentleman who were extremely helpful and inviting.

Our rooms were very nice, clean, bright and accommodating. When we explained we were attending a wedding that afternoon/evening our hostess showed us how to enter the rooms after hours so that we could continue to enjoy our evening and not worry about making it back before the pub closed.

Breakfast was very tasty and they offered selections healthy selections for those of us that don't always want a heavy English breakfast.

I would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    41
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
33
75
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We tried to eat at this hotel. Staff were rude and after an hour of waiting for our food to arrive we left. The owner said it was on the 'pass' after 30 mins, then they were just waiting for the chips. Eventually she said our food had been served to someone else and they hadn't now cooked anything for us. Bad service, utter contempt for customers. Don't go, we were advised not too and didn't listen!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DingledogHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Our 4th stay at The Bull. We have used The Bull as a staging post for Blenhiem, Bourton on the Water, and Oxford and still lots of towns to see in the Cotswolds on future visits(including taking the train to London from Charlbury)

We always eat at The Bull in the evenings of our stay, and it has never disappointed(we look forward the the meal all day, plus wine of course!)

The pub, restaurant and accommodation is charming and very comfortable.

The hosts and staff are professional, helpful, welcoming and they add value to our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belanddavide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We turned up at the Bull inn, (7 of us), looking for good food, good atmosphere, and a relax after a busy day doing the touristy thing, Perhaps we weren't dressed well enough, Or our accent wasn't right, Or even our hair wasn't groomed to the taste of the lady behind the bar,.
Our simple question was, "Do you have a childrens menu" ?, The answer was fired straight down her nose as she scowled down at us for daring to ask such a thing, So snobby was her attitude I told her to stop pouring my drinks order, We'd go elsewhere to eat..........
And so we did, Don't waste your money here, Just over the road you'll find The Bell Hotel, You won't regret spending your money there.................

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank eddLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Work takes me to this part of the world two or three times a year, and I have now stayed with Alix and Stuart and their team on five occasions for two or three nights each time.
The food is excellent (some of the best bacon at breakfast, and best steak for dinner, that I have ever eaten anywhere), good beer, and a welcoming clientele (some bars can 'go silent' when you walk in as a stranger, I have found, but it didn't happen at the Bull since there is a good mix of locals and passing trade).
The rooms are clean and comfortable, although I have to agree with some other reviewers that there can be disturbing noises (room 2 - though it has a wonderful view down the High Street – is subject to noise from staff accommodation above (or at least has been on occasions in the past); room 4, though admirable in most ways, has some noise from the always-on cellar air conditioning). But in every respect other than noise, the Bull is hard to beat, and very good value, particularly for pre-arranged bookings of more than one night. When I first needed to stay in the area I checked out several possibilities (there is, after all, a lot near Woodstock), but the fact that I have never bothered to do so after my first stay at the Bull is the best recommendation I can give.
By the way, I don't understand the comments that the proprietors or staff are off-hand - OK, I now know them by name, but even on first contact they were courteous and efficient. Four stars overall only because of the air-con noise.

Room Tip: Room 4 is vast, peaceful, with a super-king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wenlock41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Found this place on the back from a cheltenham, serving great food, wine and great service

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryaradams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks Cross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

We arrived for a birthday treat and got handed the keys to our rooms by the landord (no introduction) we got asked before we had even got to our rooms what time we wanted breakfast!
The rooms were ok just for the night-(beware of noise from bar downstairs-it is an old building so no sound proofing). Decided to eat in and regretted it--there was a party of local people in and the staff seemed more interested in them that us--maybe because we were just there for the night--the wait between courses were too long, just warm and one of us had to wait for theirs while the others ate...never got asked if the meal was ok when we paid, no customer service we felt, just felt dealt with...breakfast was served by the landlady-asked for an omlette-felt like i was asking for the earth!! otherwise breakfast was ok, would we stay again if we were in the area.....sadly not.......

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank horses10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlbury
0.0 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
19.0 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: Sheep Street, Charlbury OX7 3RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Charlbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Charlbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True Home from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Inn Charlbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing