We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supper on the way home.”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Charlbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed at the Bull a while ago, decided to call in on the way home after a lovely day visiting Blenheim Palace. Just supper. Just the three of us. Meals did not start until 6.30. We could order from the menu to get ahead if we wanted to do, so we did. Soup, fish and chips, rump steak and chips. Not difficult. Steak was requested cooked "well done". Three girls came in and ordered steak while our order was still being dealt with (problems with the supply of Guiness) so at worst we would be second on the order for the chef. People were now arriving and placing their own food orders. We began to notice a couple who came in after us had their starters served while we were still waiting.
The girls had had their steaks ages ago by now, and we wondered what the hold up could be. So we waited, and waited. A lady came in and sat at a table opposite us. She ordered her food and drink and began reading her book. Shortly after her meal arrived and we then began to get restless. What was going on? The lady proprietor walked by and we asked about our food order. There was a delay because the steak had been requested well done and it was now "resting". We had now been there an hour. I asked about the girls that came in minutes after us who had ordered steak. The reply was they had ordered medium rare, so that was an easier order for the chef! What? It was now getting late, and you kind of go off your food when you see this kind of thing happening.
Finally, the food arrived. One bowl of soup - easy. One fish and chips. Not so easy. The chips were cut like railway sleepers, and only just cooked. A few more minutes would have made the difference, but then we had been waiting..... The steak? My son could not cut it, and it looked like it had been on the barbeque for the duration. Black around the edges and tough, tough, tough. (The steak cost £17.00). We complained, obviously.
The proprietor would speak to the supplier of the meat. Would sir like a starter or a pudding a.s.a.p? Now we had been there nearly one and a half hours. No thanks, could we have a refund for the "steak" and the bill please? (We had a discussion with the man who had taken our order to begin with who explained that "the blood has to dry out of the steak and it always takes much longer to cook"). Charming!
It could have been a nice end to a lovely day. This pub is off the beaten track and it may well have local clientele, but we will not be back. Nothing is more annoying than observing people eating that come in after you. Simply not good enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank indigoblue46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for The Bull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

Good size room and very clean. Coffee making tucked away in corner of room and awkward to get at, no decaff. Owners and staff very friendly and efficent. Food was excellent both in the restaurant and in the bar. Breakfast was good but portions could have been a bit bigger. The pub is in the centre of the village (although it's offically a town) and noise was not a problem. Charlbury has good road and rail links to Oxford and London. It is also well located for touring the Cotswolds. We enjoyed our stay here and will definately go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silverbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I recently attended a wedding in Oxfordshire and were short on time to find a place to stay in the area overnight.

The Bull Inn was one of few places that answered their phone after 8:00pm and accepted a reservation without hassle. I'm pleased they did. When we arrived, we were greeted by woman and gentleman who were extremely helpful and inviting.

Our rooms were very nice, clean, bright and accommodating. When we explained we were attending a wedding that afternoon/evening our hostess showed us how to enter the rooms after hours so that we could continue to enjoy our evening and not worry about making it back before the pub closed.

Breakfast was very tasty and they offered selections healthy selections for those of us that don't always want a heavy English breakfast.

I would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We tried to eat at this hotel. Staff were rude and after an hour of waiting for our food to arrive we left. The owner said it was on the 'pass' after 30 mins, then they were just waiting for the chips. Eventually she said our food had been served to someone else and they hadn't now cooked anything for us. Bad service, utter contempt for customers. Don't go, we were advised not too and didn't listen!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DingledogHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Our 4th stay at The Bull. We have used The Bull as a staging post for Blenhiem, Bourton on the Water, and Oxford and still lots of towns to see in the Cotswolds on future visits(including taking the train to London from Charlbury)

We always eat at The Bull in the evenings of our stay, and it has never disappointed(we look forward the the meal all day, plus wine of course!)

The pub, restaurant and accommodation is charming and very comfortable.

The hosts and staff are professional, helpful, welcoming and they add value to our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belanddavide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We turned up at the Bull inn, (7 of us), looking for good food, good atmosphere, and a relax after a busy day doing the touristy thing, Perhaps we weren't dressed well enough, Or our accent wasn't right, Or even our hair wasn't groomed to the taste of the lady behind the bar,.
Our simple question was, "Do you have a childrens menu" ?, The answer was fired straight down her nose as she scowled down at us for daring to ask such a thing, So snobby was her attitude I told her to stop pouring my drinks order, We'd go elsewhere to eat..........
And so we did, Don't waste your money here, Just over the road you'll find The Bell Hotel, You won't regret spending your money there.................

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank eddLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Work takes me to this part of the world two or three times a year, and I have now stayed with Alix and Stuart and their team on five occasions for two or three nights each time.
The food is excellent (some of the best bacon at breakfast, and best steak for dinner, that I have ever eaten anywhere), good beer, and a welcoming clientele (some bars can 'go silent' when you walk in as a stranger, I have found, but it didn't happen at the Bull since there is a good mix of locals and passing trade).
The rooms are clean and comfortable, although I have to agree with some other reviewers that there can be disturbing noises (room 2 - though it has a wonderful view down the High Street – is subject to noise from staff accommodation above (or at least has been on occasions in the past); room 4, though admirable in most ways, has some noise from the always-on cellar air conditioning). But in every respect other than noise, the Bull is hard to beat, and very good value, particularly for pre-arranged bookings of more than one night. When I first needed to stay in the area I checked out several possibilities (there is, after all, a lot near Woodstock), but the fact that I have never bothered to do so after my first stay at the Bull is the best recommendation I can give.
By the way, I don't understand the comments that the proprietors or staff are off-hand - OK, I now know them by name, but even on first contact they were courteous and efficient. Four stars overall only because of the air-con noise.

Room Tip: Room 4 is vast, peaceful, with a super-king bed
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wenlock41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlbury
0.1 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
205 reviews
5.6 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,662 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
548 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: Sheep Street, Charlbury OX7 3RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Charlbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Charlbury
Price Range: £81 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is located in Charlbury, 13 miles from Oxford. Guests can enjoy the on-site bar. Free private parking is available on site. All rooms have a flat-screen TV. Some rooms feature a seating area for your convenience. All rooms are fitted with a private bathroom. Extras include bathrobes and free toiletries. The Bull Inn features free WiFi . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Inn Charlbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing