We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay again at The Bull”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Charlbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay again at The Bull”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is now our fifth time at the Bull, the service, welcome, food and rooms are still very good. Stopped off on the way to Glyndebourne from Shropshire, had a faboulous few days. We always look forward to seeing Charlbury and The Bull.

Room Tip: Tv, generous Tea, Coffee and biscuits, good sized clean bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belanddavide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    48
    16
    14
    8
See reviews for
39
89
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Food really good, decent selection of beers lovely welcome. As the title suggests a good village pub.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkingMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed just the one night after a family wedding. Really lovely inn. Cosy room, very well appointed. Noticed a previous comment about tea/coffee facilities in room not being easy to get to. That's because it's a lovely old building with lots of features and I think it all fits in really well. We were welcomed and shown to our room and were given an outside key to come in any time we wished. Welcomed again warmly for breakfast and had some really lovely scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. My only tiny gripe was the shower wasn't as strong as I would have liked, but that's it. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbingdonFoodie_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meols, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at The Bull Inn in Charlbury in October 2011 taking two rooms for two nights.
The rooms were a decent size, well decorated and had real charm. Our room had a good size bathroom that was clean but showed a bit of wear and tear but nothing that detracted from our stay. We also found that there was movement noise from the room above, and yes we could hear voices from the bar below. This is to be expected when you stay in an Inn and it was only for very brief periods and all quiet by midnight. Certainly did not cause us any loss of sleep. We found the owners and staff very friendly and the breakfast included in the room rate was excellent.
We also had our first evening meal at the Bull and the second evening meal at the Bell just down the road so we had the chance to compare the two establishments. It is difficult to decide who delivered the best meals as both venues served us delicious food. I think we all agreed that the Bull Inn certainly had a lovely atmosphere in the pub and restaurant area.
If you are looking for a pleasant, unspoilt village from which to explore the Cotswolds, Charlbury is a great spot. The Bull Inn gives a real "country inn" experience with great food, beer and service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robd53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed at the Bull a while ago, decided to call in on the way home after a lovely day visiting Blenheim Palace. Just supper. Just the three of us. Meals did not start until 6.30. We could order from the menu to get ahead if we wanted to do, so we did. Soup, fish and chips, rump steak and chips. Not difficult. Steak was requested cooked "well done". Three girls came in and ordered steak while our order was still being dealt with (problems with the supply of Guiness) so at worst we would be second on the order for the chef. People were now arriving and placing their own food orders. We began to notice a couple who came in after us had their starters served while we were still waiting.
The girls had had their steaks ages ago by now, and we wondered what the hold up could be. So we waited, and waited. A lady came in and sat at a table opposite us. She ordered her food and drink and began reading her book. Shortly after her meal arrived and we then began to get restless. What was going on? The lady proprietor walked by and we asked about our food order. There was a delay because the steak had been requested well done and it was now "resting". We had now been there an hour. I asked about the girls that came in minutes after us who had ordered steak. The reply was they had ordered medium rare, so that was an easier order for the chef! What? It was now getting late, and you kind of go off your food when you see this kind of thing happening.
Finally, the food arrived. One bowl of soup - easy. One fish and chips. Not so easy. The chips were cut like railway sleepers, and only just cooked. A few more minutes would have made the difference, but then we had been waiting..... The steak? My son could not cut it, and it looked like it had been on the barbeque for the duration. Black around the edges and tough, tough, tough. (The steak cost £17.00). We complained, obviously.
The proprietor would speak to the supplier of the meat. Would sir like a starter or a pudding a.s.a.p? Now we had been there nearly one and a half hours. No thanks, could we have a refund for the "steak" and the bill please? (We had a discussion with the man who had taken our order to begin with who explained that "the blood has to dry out of the steak and it always takes much longer to cook"). Charming!
It could have been a nice end to a lovely day. This pub is off the beaten track and it may well have local clientele, but we will not be back. Nothing is more annoying than observing people eating that come in after you. Simply not good enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank indigoblue46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Good size room and very clean. Coffee making tucked away in corner of room and awkward to get at, no decaff. Owners and staff very friendly and efficent. Food was excellent both in the restaurant and in the bar. Breakfast was good but portions could have been a bit bigger. The pub is in the centre of the village (although it's offically a town) and noise was not a problem. Charlbury has good road and rail links to Oxford and London. It is also well located for touring the Cotswolds. We enjoyed our stay here and will definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I recently attended a wedding in Oxfordshire and were short on time to find a place to stay in the area overnight.

The Bull Inn was one of few places that answered their phone after 8:00pm and accepted a reservation without hassle. I'm pleased they did. When we arrived, we were greeted by woman and gentleman who were extremely helpful and inviting.

Our rooms were very nice, clean, bright and accommodating. When we explained we were attending a wedding that afternoon/evening our hostess showed us how to enter the rooms after hours so that we could continue to enjoy our evening and not worry about making it back before the pub closed.

Breakfast was very tasty and they offered selections healthy selections for those of us that don't always want a heavy English breakfast.

I would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlbury
0.1 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
203 reviews
5.6 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,642 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,313 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
4.3 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: Sheep Street, Charlbury OX7 3RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Charlbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Charlbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is located in Charlbury, 13 miles from Oxford. Guests can enjoy the on-site bar. Free private parking is available on site. All rooms have a flat-screen TV. Some rooms feature a seating area for your convenience. All rooms are fitted with a private bathroom. Extras include bathrobes and free toiletries. The Bull Inn features free WiFi . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Inn Charlbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing