We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service. True quality.”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Charlbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We had a great stay. The attention to detail and quality was exemplary. The food outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for The Bull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2010

Sometimes when you re visit special places, they can be a bit of a disappointment – Not so at the Bull! We went back for a trip down memory lane and fell in love with it all over again. The food and welcome were superb, whilst the Cotswold countryside was just as lovely as ever. A great stop off place for walking, eating and drinking – all of my favourite things.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Lovely B & B, Lovely restaurant and hosts. Good value on the lovely room, great food.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belanddavide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We had a very comfortable stay at the Bull recently. Breakfasts were good, and the room was cosy and clean, with a large bathroom, lots of hot water, and tea and coffee facilities. The owners were very pleasant. We did not eat in the restaurant/bar as it is closed on a Sunday and Monday evening, but the menu looked very good. There are other pubs in Charlbury, all serving great real ale, within a minute's walk of the Bull. The Bell Inn nearby serves very nice food.
The Bull is in an ideal location to visit Blenheim Palace and the surrounding area which is very pretty. We did a good 4 mile walk from the village one evening.
We enjoyed our visit - the only slight downside was that our room faced onto the street, and with the windows open in summer time, it was a little noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norfolk_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

My husband and I stayed for two nights while visiting my brother who lives in Milton-under Wychwood. We were extremely pleased with our double room and slept soundly. The attached bathroom (shower, no bath) was perfect for our needs. Staff (owner) was very pleasant and made herself available. Breakfast was typical English fare which my husband enjoyed to the fullest! Alas, I was a little on the sick side so I just had toast and tea.

If you do stay in Charlbury, ask for directions to Cornbury Park which is great for a walk. Here are my directions but double check - go straight down the street from the front of The Bull Inn and follow the street which eventually bends to the left, keep walking and you will eventually come to the opening for the park. You have to use the public path so make sure you don't go beyond the gates (this is private residential property).
Stopped and chatted with the vicar of the Anglican Church who was also very pleasant.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPHRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We stayed at The Bull Inn in Charlbury in October 2008 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a lovely time. Our room was on the main street overlooking the village. It was spacious, with a small but very comfortable bathroom. We were warm in spite of the fact that the weather was chilly. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The bar had a great atmosphere which added to our visit. The food in the restaurant was delicious, and again the atmosphere was lively. The owners are working hard to make a success of this venture and seemed to us to be willing to receive feedback in a very positive way. They are also unusual in accepting bookings for single Saturday nights. Many Cotswold B & Bs insist on a minimum two night weekend booking. Woodstock and Blenheim Palace are only 6 miles away, and hotels and B & Bs there cost double (at least) the rates at The Bull. We will have no hesitation in visiting again, and look forward to doing so.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkeyhumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

A pub with rooms in a picture perfect cotswold village with a warm welcome, log fires, cosy rooms with lovely touches (towelling dressing gowns, toiletries, tea/coffee facilities, roberts radio etc) at half the price others in our party paid at a 'posher' establishment in the vicinity.
Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apuleius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlbury
0.1 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
205 reviews
5.6 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,658 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,344 reviews
5.7 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: Sheep Street, Charlbury OX7 3RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Charlbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Charlbury
Price Range: £80 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is located in Charlbury, 13 miles from Oxford. Guests can enjoy the on-site bar. Free private parking is available on site. All rooms have a flat-screen TV. Some rooms feature a seating area for your convenience. All rooms are fitted with a private bathroom. Extras include bathrobes and free toiletries. The Bull Inn features free WiFi . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Inn Charlbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing