We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a beautiful part of the Cotswolds”
Review of Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a beautiful part of the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We had a 2-night break here as we were visiting Heythrop. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and we had an excellent modern shower room. The food was of a very high standard . The staff were welcoming and very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pashkaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    53
    24
    24
    16
See reviews for
37
85
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

We were cruising on the Avon and had moored by the ancient Eckington bridge. The village and pub are just a half mile walk away. The pub is smart, clean and stylish, with a large dining area, lounge, garden, and a more traditional bar (the Farmers Bar - dogs allowed).

We ate in the Farmers Bar, as we had a dog with us. We started with the seafood platter (shared between three), then I had the BBQ pork loin steaks with chips & salad. The food was pretty good I thought (although one of our party wasn't so impressed by his fish & chips). It is good quality gastropub style. Not excellent, but better than most pub food.

Contrary to some recent reviews, we found the service polite, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Highrise61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Bell at Cropthorne is one of my favourite pubs and this would be a number one choice for a meal with friends, however this was not open on a Monday so we decided to go to the Bell at Eckington as it is owned by the same people. The food was good quality generally (despite the gone off strawberry on a pudding and hair on one of the parties plate) however the service was very poor. We waited a long time for the pudding menu which after 20minutes we went and got ourselves. We waited a long time for the bill which when it came was incorrect. When we told the staff we were not happy with the service, especially waiting for the pudding menus one of the party was accused, by the staff of "giving them dirty looks". This is completely untrue and furthermore unprofessional. The restaurant only had one other party eating and the waiting time was unacceptable. The member of staff who i presume was a manager was rude and could perhaps benefit from customer service training. It is a true shame we had such a bad experience at this pub as we will certainly not be returning. Service or poor food is something customers experience; however an apology from the staff is something that can easily resolve this, not rudeness. I look forward to returning to Bell at Cropthorne but not Eckington.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank KJR2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebell2, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
This Review has received my details comments on the prior review (Same Party)

However some additional pionts need to be highlighted: We are not affiliated with
The Bell @ Cropthorne.

As I clearly explained to your friends review my staff are a major part of what we do and trusted 100%, The attitude displayed to them was unacceptable, Apologies if the shock of being spoken to in such a way was responded to in a slightly negetive manner, however the judgment of our senior staff is trusted as they are very well trainied and have high standards of customer service.

Apologies for the wait on your dessert menus and the billing error, human error mistakes can easily be rectified with good communication.

We have no recollection of any feedback regarding hair/strawberries however please be assured that our kitchen staff are highly trained and please be assured that our fruit is supplied fresh on a daily basis.

To this end please do not hesitate to contact me direct for a more detailed conversation
Regards
Kerry Leighfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Nice hotel and a pretty room with nice appointments. Only a shower ensuite but it was good and hot. Evening food for good - excellent fish pie and good chips. Breakfast food poor for the price. White bread, flabby toast, over salty sausages and instant coffee. Given the price, location and other aspirational food - could do better for breakfast.

But charming staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pangolin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We vistied for a meal only. The food was good value and tasty however the service was poor (long waiting times for plates to be cleared up and had to wait 20 mins to get the desert menu after being asked) when this was mentioned to the manager, she was very rude and made us feel very unwelcome. Other staff were very polite. We have used this pub regularly before but after last night we will not be returning again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebell2, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
The Bell at Eckington
We have been in the Businness for nearly 7 years and many of our staff have been part of our team for this time and indeed worked alongside us prior to this. Our team members are an extremely important part of what we do.

The Review I am responding to lacks some vital infomation, The dessert menus were indeed forgotten for which we apologise.

My staff member dealing with this was spoken to in such an aggresive tone and manner, she was left extremely upset for which I believe to be totally unreasonable and unnecessary.
My Senior staff member dealing with this issue was subject to similar rudeness.
All our staff are highly trained in customer service which I think shows in our many other reviews however, the team are here to provide good service and sometimes we make mistakes.

I apologise once again that your dessert menus were forgotton. Please also be aware on our policy regarding aggresive / unreasonable behavour towards our team.

Regards
Kerry Leighfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sogn og Fjordane, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I came to The Bell Hotel for a three nights stay,travelling with my guidedog. Lydia and The Bell Hotel made my stay a real joy! On my last day, I had to get up early to fetch the morning train,Lydia got up early,too.To serve me breakfast and then she drove me and my dog to the train station...What a nice,cosy place to stay. And the staff!!! THE best place,ever! We'll be back:-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallebudgera, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here for our last night in the UK and were very happy with everything with one exception ( the walls were a bit thin as we could hear the people in the next room clearly) but that wasn't really a problem as the stay was very relaxed and comfortable. Our room was large and clean and bright with a lovely comfortable bed and large bathroom with a nice big bath to soak in on a cold night! Staff were very helpful and friendly and our dinner was exceptional, much better than a pub meal!!! Breakfast was also very good and even though we were some of the last to come down for breakfast we were still greeted with a smile and made feel welcome. We would certainly stay at The Bell Hotel again, it was a special place to spend our last night.

Room Tip: Room 1 at top right of stairs is nice and big with a great shower and big bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlbury
5.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,226 reviews
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,630 reviews
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
516 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
6.8 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Property: Bell Hotel
Address: Church St, Charlbury OX7 3PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Charlbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Charlbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing