We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I have been to the bell for valentines day two years in a row both times the food has been excellent and we had a lovely evening. They do a set menu for valentines day which is very nice food but as I am a vegetarian both times they have allowed me to choose my main from their usual main menu. Service was really good and you could tell that the food was freshly cooked to order. The offer a large range of drinks at the bar and waite the tables for drinks and food. The staff are really nice and the pub is spotless.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lau224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    53
    24
    24
    16
See reviews for
37
86
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Annes
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Our stay could have been very good instead of average.The room was quite small and as we were the only guests a wow could have been to allocate a larger one. The bathroom was very cold with no heating which was compounded by the lack of any hot water in the morning.This was rectified after breakfast but was too late for us to make use of it as we were already prepared to leave as we had plans.
The team were pleasant and accommodating.
We enjoyed watching the rugby in the bar in the early evening with a glass of wine.
We ate at the Bell in the evening and were a bit disappointed with the food. We are familiar with using Grill stones so I was rather surprised that my fish was already cooked and came in foil which meant that when it was placed on the grill stone for service it dried out the base of the fish completely. My husbands pate was sloppy and his fahitas had a mixture of precooked and raw chicken.
Breakfast was lovely and beautifully presented -we were the only table.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Wow. This place is amazing. Many of our friends stayed in the hotel and spent the whole afternoon and evening celebrating a friend's birthday. The staff were very accommodating and the locals were lovely.

The chef is second to none. I believe "Richard" could have more skills than Mr Ramsay himself. Not only is he a great chef, he is bright, intelligent and knows how to treat people.

If you are anywhere near this little village you must stay here. Food, beer, people, price - everything is perfect.

Room Tip: The annex is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Recently stayed at the Bell Inn & Restaurant at Charlbury in Oxfordshire.
The room i stayed in was ultra-modern, very stylish, clean, tidy & well presented.
The staff were courteous & helpful. The restaurant had no problem catering for our party of 14 & the Rib-Eye Steak I enjoyed was one of the nicest i'd ever had. Compliments to the chef!!
The bar was reasonably priced & had a decent variety of drinks available. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Well, we arrived to a friendly welcome but a room mix-up meant we had a small double instead of the twin room we had booked online. As there were no other rooms we stayed one night there and moved the next night to a "superior" twin. Slightly annoying to have to pack up and move but the staff were apologetic and gave us a free bottle of wine. The beds had seen better days (room 12 in the Annexe) and the springs sticking out of the mattress meant two more nights of inadequate sleep for me. The flat screen TV was a little small for the room so glasses definitely needed. The bathroom was OK but needed a ventilator to cure the black mould in places. The shower was OK but did not have good water pressure. The room was heated with an electric fan heater and heated shower rail in the bathroom. There was no soap provided the first night here (luckily we had brought some) and the tea bags were not replaced on the 2nd night either. Good job we had brought those as well. The breakfast buffet was not so good if you have a fruit/cereal preference. There was only plain cereal, e.g. bran flakes/cornflakes and no fruit & fibre or the more interesting varieties available nowadays and no fruit or yoghurt. No menus are provided. However, on a positive note, the full English and in particular the scrambled egg was nicely cooked and served with very good granary bread. On the 2nd morning when my husband went early for breakfast they had not unlocked the door so he had to knock on the kitchen window to be let in! Unfortunately only one real ale was available as they had run out of all but "Rocking Rudolph" but there is a fantastic real ale (CAMRA) listed pub opposite - The Rose and Crown serving 7 real ales and with a lovely atmosphere and also another further down the street. We ate in the Bell Hotel for two nights. The food is a good standard - possibly a little overpriced but freshly made and well presented. The bar and restaurant area consists of several small secluded eating/lounging areas and is very pleasant. On the whole the staff were friendly and pleasant and the pub itself is obviously the "In Place" with the younger generation.

Room Tip: The annexe may be better than in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiecoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in late October and found everything to our taste. Some of the more derogatory comments mentioned in previous reviews seem to come from people who expected the services of a four star hotel in a major city in what is a country pub which serves very good food. The breakfasts were generous and cooked to order rather than getting dried out in a chafing tray. The restaurant menu is comprehensive and of very good pub standard with a reasonably priced wine list (we found the Rioja - No 11 to our taste). Our three nights (which included the Sunday night free) came to £256 which included all our food - main course and dessert plus a bottle of wine each night. We think that this represents exceptional value. Additionally the pub is a great base for exploring the Vale of Evesham,Worcester and the Malvern Hills with canal side walks very close by. We hope to return next year. Both the proprietors and staff could not have made us feel more welcome and this made our weekend truly memorable

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chickadeecroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We were a little disappointed at how small the room was - especially the bathroom but most of all we were horrified to be told to go to bed at 12 because the staff wanted to call it a night and they needed to lock us into the corridor that the rooms run off! That was the end of our celebratory weekend

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAG2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebell2, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Bell, We are as advertised a pub with rooms not a hotel. We are not licenced to sell alcohol throughout the night so please except my apologies for not being able to serve you after 12.10am when your last bottle of wine was ordered and served.

It is normal practise for us to close in the evening as you would expect, again please except our apologises that we were not able to offer you full use of the restaurant to continue your celebration into the earlier hours without a staff member being present. We are very pleased to be able to offer all of our guests a seperate entrance in/out of the accomodation so pleased be assured that at no piont are guests "locked in the corridor" or instructed to "Go to bed".

This is not a problem that we encounter generally with guests wishing to stay down stairs after 1am, however we appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to here from you on the Sunday morning that you appreciated the comfortable beds and delicous breakfast.

Kerry Leighfield
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlbury
5.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,279 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
523 reviews
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
837 reviews
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Property: Bell Hotel
Address: Church St, Charlbury OX7 3PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Charlbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Charlbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing