We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient for deer park, but a little noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
leics
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“convenient for deer park, but a little noisy”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding at Deer Park Hall.
It is very convenient for the hall - circa 5 minuites drive, We booked in advance and asked for largest rooms which had Kingsize beds. Being above a pub/restaurant we expected some noise.
On the plus side the Bell is clean, staff polite and friendly and food is ok, but not as good as I had anticpated.
We participated in the 3 for 2 nights deal. Had we paid full price I would have been disappointed, there was quite a lot of noise from the bar, resturant, creaky floor boards and extractors. The decor in the resturant area is quite dark and after 3 days I found it quite depressing.

If you are considering the Bell for a weekend treat, beware the largest room is above the small bar which became very packed.

Room Tip: There is a hairdresser opposite if attending a wedding at Deer Park which I understand many do, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMK268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    51
    24
    23
    16
See reviews for
35
82
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uckinghall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had an excellent choice of meals from 3 menus offered on the evening, including the all things 'Asparagus' menu, which made very good use of seasonal and very local produce. All food chosen by us was of excellent quality, quantity and very tasty. Service was attentive but not over intrusive.
The only down side was the cooking smells produced from nearby tables who had chosen the 'hot stone cook your own' meals, particularly the fish!
Good value overall in a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to book a night away and The Bell at Eckington. We stayed on a Saturday night. We were welcomed by friendly staff before being shown to our room. We could not have asked for my more considering the price and the size of the establishment. The room suited our needs. That evening we ate in the restaurant and I must compliment the food. Breakfast the next morning also met a high standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawschelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I have been to the bell for valentines day two years in a row both times the food has been excellent and we had a lovely evening. They do a set menu for valentines day which is very nice food but as I am a vegetarian both times they have allowed me to choose my main from their usual main menu. Service was really good and you could tell that the food was freshly cooked to order. The offer a large range of drinks at the bar and waite the tables for drinks and food. The staff are really nice and the pub is spotless.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lau224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Annes
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Our stay could have been very good instead of average.The room was quite small and as we were the only guests a wow could have been to allocate a larger one. The bathroom was very cold with no heating which was compounded by the lack of any hot water in the morning.This was rectified after breakfast but was too late for us to make use of it as we were already prepared to leave as we had plans.
The team were pleasant and accommodating.
We enjoyed watching the rugby in the bar in the early evening with a glass of wine.
We ate at the Bell in the evening and were a bit disappointed with the food. We are familiar with using Grill stones so I was rather surprised that my fish was already cooked and came in foil which meant that when it was placed on the grill stone for service it dried out the base of the fish completely. My husbands pate was sloppy and his fahitas had a mixture of precooked and raw chicken.
Breakfast was lovely and beautifully presented -we were the only table.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Wow. This place is amazing. Many of our friends stayed in the hotel and spent the whole afternoon and evening celebrating a friend's birthday. The staff were very accommodating and the locals were lovely.

The chef is second to none. I believe "Richard" could have more skills than Mr Ramsay himself. Not only is he a great chef, he is bright, intelligent and knows how to treat people.

If you are anywhere near this little village you must stay here. Food, beer, people, price - everything is perfect.

Room Tip: The annex is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Recently stayed at the Bell Inn & Restaurant at Charlbury in Oxfordshire.
The room i stayed in was ultra-modern, very stylish, clean, tidy & well presented.
The staff were courteous & helpful. The restaurant had no problem catering for our party of 14 & the Rib-Eye Steak I enjoyed was one of the nicest i'd ever had. Compliments to the chef!!
The bar was reasonably priced & had a decent variety of drinks available. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlbury
8.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
493 reviews
5.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,173 reviews
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
346 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
4.4 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Property: Bell Hotel
Address: Church St, Charlbury OX7 3PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Charlbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Charlbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing