We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpleasant experience!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unpleasant experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Planned a romantic night away with my partner to this hotel booked an "Executive"" room for comfort and privacy. Initial impression good with well decorated clean looking room but soon discovered the central heating not working in bathroom and bedroom,, several ceiling lights not working and locked door leading to next room with no sound proofing so full conversations overheard. Room situated over noisy bar and no pleasant seating area for hotel residents available . Complaint of Heating problem supposedly solved by supply of small portable electric heater and light problems produced a small portable table lamp!!
Dinner was served in empty cold dining room, with soggy food and prices quoted in the room information did not match the menu prices In the restaurant - table candle lit at the of the meal!!! Breakfast a slight improvement but again in a cold dining room with fire being lit on our arrival at 9;:45am!!!
Poor value for the money charged and definately not an Executive room as advertised with no heating in November!!

Room Tip: Do not choose the Executive Room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    51
    24
    23
    16
See reviews for
35
82
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

A really well-run pub and restaurant. Good varied menu with stone cooking, great pies and fish courses. With stone cooking your steak etc is served on a very hot stone and cooks on your table. This means you can cook to your exact liking. 6X and Doom Bar real ales and range of lagers and ciders.

Excellent staff and nicely set out restaurant. Nice wines also. Also has accommodation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidb5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We eat here twice during a week end stay in the local area. All the staff were friendly and the restaurant was a very pleasant place to spend an evening. The menu had plenty of choice from salads and sandwiches to homemade chilli. All very reasonably priced.
They also do stone cooking at the table which is quite a talking point and makes a meal very special. The food was well cooked and presented and tasted great. The pies where excellent and I really enjoyed mine.
Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BEN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My partner and I and our two daughters stayed on the night of a family wedding. Nothing was too much trouble ,the rooms were not huge, but very comfortable and well equipped, and the breakfast was fantastic, best sausages ever! Only sorry the weather the next day was so bad and we had to cancel our plans to stay for Sunday lunch, the menu looked very tempting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooper017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I have just had a 3 night break at the Bell as a base for touring the Cotswolds on our motorbike. Our stay has been made more enjoyable by the friendly staff, great food and clean comfortable room. For the novelty we tried the stone cooking one night and found the experience fun. I have seen comments on this site about why cook the food yourself. Well you don't have to as there is a great menu that can be cooked by the excellent chef and served at your table, but we like to try new things and are glad we did. Special thanks to Steve for swopping our room for one a bit bigger with a cupboard big enought for our bike gear and for the offer of putting the bike in the garden for security although I didn't have to worry as Eckington is a beautiful village and nice for an evening stroll. We have an anual trip with other bikers each year and it's looking like the Cotwolds next year and certainly looking like the Bell Inn as our base.

Room Tip: The Inn is on a main road throught the village (not a busy road) so if road noise is a concern ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wierdfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

A nice little place in a little village. The rooms are a bit small although nicely decorated. Plumbing is as you would expect in such an old building, so if yr going walking and getting wet and muddy don't expect a power shower!
The staff were friendly and the breakfast good. We ate in the restaurant Saturday night and 3 of the meals were freshly cooked but the steak pie was not. This wasn't even a pie, but stewed steak in a crock pot and a cardboard lid added - avoid that and eat the fresh food.
The Guinness was off as well and gave me a bad stomach.
Other than that - a nice quaint little place to stay. Not worth the £95 per night price tag, don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. This is an old building, typical if the old style Inns, and not so hotelly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Last week my daughter and her partner had their 'Wedding Meal' at this venue. We were a party of 18 and she wanted a venue near to Pershore Civic Centre where the ceremony was to take place. She could not have picked a better venue. The staff were absolutely wonderful, right from the initial telephone booking to the way they looked after us on the day. Although the pub does not usually do food mid afternoon they agreed to accommodate us for a meal at 4pm. The pub was closed to the public until 6pm so we had the room to ourselves.
There was a choice of 3 different menus and we did not have to provide food orders until a few days before the wedding. The food was fantastic and everyone commented on how much they had enjoyed their meals. The food was served promptly so that we could all eat at the same time. All of the staff were welcoming and could not do enough to make the afternoon run smoothly. For a small charge they even decorated the tables with flowers to match my daughters bouquet . They also arranged the tables to suit our seating plan.
For anyone having their service at Pershore I recommend contacting The Bell to discuss holding your wedding breakfast here.

Many, many thanks to all the staff who made my daughters day a special one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loves2travel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlbury
8.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
5.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.4 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Property: Bell Hotel
Address: Church St, Charlbury OX7 3PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Charlbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Charlbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing