We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant one night stay”
Review of Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant one night stay”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed at the Bell with my daughter on the Friday night, 27th December 2013, the day after Boxing Day. The pub was fairly quiet and I got the impression we were the only ones staying there. We both had spacious rooms and were very comfortable. The rooms were right above the pub, and there was some noise from below but not enough to disturb me. The staff were friendly and helpful. We did not eat dinner at the Bell, so I can't comment on the restaurant, but breakfast was good, especially the cooked breakfast which was freshly cooked.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    53
    24
    24
    16
See reviews for
37
86
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here to visit family in the village. Parking was easy and plentiful and the welcome was efficient. If coming by train pre-book a taxi as it is a bit of a hike with bags.
We were in room #3 which overlooked the street. There was no road noise but the smell of cigarette smoke from outside the pub was pretty strong at times. The bed was only a standard double so if you are used to a larger bed it could be a tad cramped. The room was very clean and warm despite the weather. However, there was old water in the kettle (personal bugbear) and the lights in one half of the room didn't work. The bathroom was lovely; warm, plenty of products and with a huge shower.
The main bar is at the bottom of the stairs leading to the rooms and, even with the doors shut, the noise was pretty much incessant until the pub shut.
We ate in the restaurant on the night we were there. When asked for the wine list we were asked what we wanted as there were only two white wine options. The poor waitress went to fetch a bottle of each so we could choose. My food (salt and pepper squid) was chewy, almost tasteless and lukewarm. My Sister-in Law had the sirloin steak which she said was good. My husband had the fish which he said was OK. The chips were lovely, very crispy. Breakfast the following morning was a bit of a disappointment. I asked for a soft boiled egg and was presented with a bullet. This might have been a translation problem to be fair. We did not complain about the food when asked as one of our party was in some distress at the time, but I have no doubt the hotel would have dealt with this and offered an alternative.
If going to Charlbury, based on our experience, I would stay at the Bull Inn for the food and The Bell for accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenDayFanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Planned a romantic night away with my partner to this hotel booked an "Executive"" room for comfort and privacy. Initial impression good with well decorated clean looking room but soon discovered the central heating not working in bathroom and bedroom,, several ceiling lights not working and locked door leading to next room with no sound proofing so full conversations overheard. Room situated over noisy bar and no pleasant seating area for hotel residents available . Complaint of Heating problem supposedly solved by supply of small portable electric heater and light problems produced a small portable table lamp!!
Dinner was served in empty cold dining room, with soggy food and prices quoted in the room information did not match the menu prices In the restaurant - table candle lit at the of the meal!!! Breakfast a slight improvement but again in a cold dining room with fire being lit on our arrival at 9;:45am!!!
Poor value for the money charged and definately not an Executive room as advertised with no heating in November!!

Room Tip: Do not choose the Executive Room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

A really well-run pub and restaurant. Good varied menu with stone cooking, great pies and fish courses. With stone cooking your steak etc is served on a very hot stone and cooks on your table. This means you can cook to your exact liking. 6X and Doom Bar real ales and range of lagers and ciders.

Excellent staff and nicely set out restaurant. Nice wines also. Also has accommodation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidb5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We eat here twice during a week end stay in the local area. All the staff were friendly and the restaurant was a very pleasant place to spend an evening. The menu had plenty of choice from salads and sandwiches to homemade chilli. All very reasonably priced.
They also do stone cooking at the table which is quite a talking point and makes a meal very special. The food was well cooked and presented and tasted great. The pies where excellent and I really enjoyed mine.
Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My partner and I and our two daughters stayed on the night of a family wedding. Nothing was too much trouble ,the rooms were not huge, but very comfortable and well equipped, and the breakfast was fantastic, best sausages ever! Only sorry the weather the next day was so bad and we had to cancel our plans to stay for Sunday lunch, the menu looked very tempting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooper017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I have just had a 3 night break at the Bell as a base for touring the Cotswolds on our motorbike. Our stay has been made more enjoyable by the friendly staff, great food and clean comfortable room. For the novelty we tried the stone cooking one night and found the experience fun. I have seen comments on this site about why cook the food yourself. Well you don't have to as there is a great menu that can be cooked by the excellent chef and served at your table, but we like to try new things and are glad we did. Special thanks to Steve for swopping our room for one a bit bigger with a cupboard big enought for our bike gear and for the offer of putting the bike in the garden for security although I didn't have to worry as Eckington is a beautiful village and nice for an evening stroll. We have an anual trip with other bikers each year and it's looking like the Cotwolds next year and certainly looking like the Bell Inn as our base.

Room Tip: The Inn is on a main road throught the village (not a busy road) so if road noise is a concern ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wierdfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlbury
5.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,272 reviews
6.8 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
835 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,634 reviews
10.1 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Property: Bell Hotel
Address: Church St, Charlbury OX7 3PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Charlbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Charlbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing