We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience at The Bell”
Review of Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Several members of our family stayed for b&b last weekend as part of a celebration of a special birthday gathering for one of my sons. Although the bedrooms were stylishly decorated, that was the only good thing about our visit.
Several of the showers did not work (including mine) and several of the room telephones did not work (including mine). I was unable to contact any of the other members of the family and I was unable to report the non-functioning shower.
The Breakfast room was little better. I was hoping for some fruit prior to the arrival of the rest of the family. There were two unfresh apples and two unfresh oranges in a fruit bowl and no other fruit on offer. I was asked if I would like some toast, but opted for coffee while I waited. The coffee was disgusting and clearly out of a jar. There was no table laid for our family party and we had to move chairs and a table so we could sit together.
The cooked breakfast provided was very ordinary.
The very worst thing about this experience was that it has been complained about by the locals for a very long time and no-one is at all interested.
When I complained about the lack of shower and phone, the receptionist disappeared to talk to the manager, then returned offering a £10 discount! The manager did not even put in an appearance and there was no apology.
I believe I should have been offered a much more generous "discount" than this. I have a long-term back disability and am not able to use a bath so I left without any kind of wash - as I need to have a shower every morning, this was an unpleasant experience and The Bell owners should be obliged to make a proper apology to all of us and to refund at least 50% of their charges.

P.M. Bell

Room Tip: This is a pub in Charlbury. We all booked in for B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed in a large family group for one night -three double and one single room.

First the good news. The rooms were comfortable and up to date. The breKfast was fine apart from abysmal coffee.

Now the bad news. Two rooms had no hot water. One room hadn't had the sheets changed by late afternoon. One room had tea facilities but no mugs or milk. One had no toiletries. One room had a non-functioning landline. One had a non-working TV. A member of staff apologised but said the housekeeper was on holiday. Not sure how hard it is to get this stuff right with a bit of common sense and attention to detail.

Next morning, when another member of staff was present while we discussed the lack of hot water in two rooms, she expressed no real interest and nothing was done. One of the family asked for a discount when she paid her bill. After some debate with the manager in another room, she was given a discount of £10! Interestingly, the manager made no attempt to come out and express any regret.

Locally, the word is that the pub failed to make money and was taken over by a large brewery who has put disinterested management in. Certainly feels like it. It's a lovely building, recently refurbished and it seem such a shame that trivial problems are happening which would be easy for decent management to sort out.

We will probably try one of the other pubs in the village next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank boudiccaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed one night here to attend wedding. Unfriendly no welcome too busy serving customers in bar to notice hotel guests! The noise was unbearable, loud shouting going on til 1.00am. Did not sleep well. Would not recommend if you want a good nights rest and a friendly welcome. Breakfast ok although the tea was tepid.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goodkindwarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed one night - poor welcome from bar staff - didn't inform where the lounge was where breakfast was eaten just showed the room. Felt like a nuisance to be honest. Room in annexe fairly clean but tired with various stains on floor/walls/bed throw. Linen/towels ok. Lovely spacious bathroom. Food ok but overpriced. Garden a mess. Drink prices obscene
was more like a pub with rooms than a hotel - never saw reception open. Nice village but nothing happening. Won't be back

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank minetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We enjoyed 1 night here as part of a trip to the Cotswolds. We chose the hotel because we wanted to get the train from charlbury to oxford and the station was only a short walk away. Our room was comfortable, had a lovely view and had everything we needed for our stay. We ate dinner on the night of our stay; although we seemed to wait a while for our food, it was delicious, as was breakfast the following morning - a cooked breakfast, as per our requirements. My husband was a little disappointed that there weren't many bitters on offer but this wouldn't stop us from returning. We had lovely weather the time of our visit and so slept with the windows open. If you are a light sleeper, you might be woken by the church bells but this was not a problem for me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmmaA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Rooms nice, clean and spacious. Good choice for breakfast. Went Oxford on the train as station is a few minutes walk and journey takes 10 mins for £6 return. But the main attraction is the staff hospitality which is Kat and Tatiana, all I can say is they like eggs for breakfast :-) But thanks to all the staff there that made the two nights stay very entertaining and funny

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I booked a two night stay to celebrate our Ruby wedding. We enjoyed the stay and the weather. Rooms basic but very clean. Food very good but room very cold, we could not get the radiator to work, we did ask but was told the thermostat had to kick in, it never did. Saying that we had a very good time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank studs18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlbury
5.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,395 reviews
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,689 reviews
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#29 of 44 in Oxford
223 reviews
23.5 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
606 reviews
10.1 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Address: Church St, Charlbury OX7 3PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Charlbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
Price Range: £61 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Charlbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing